Reposados Corrido Tequila Reposado

Corrido Tequila Reposado http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/f5/6f/84/1425_corrido-tequila-reposado_1275747852.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     June 05, 2010    
 
92
 
94 (4)
13428   0   3   0   15
 

Tequila Review

Brand
Corrido
NOM
Extraction Method
Distillation Method
Distillation
Alcohol Volume
Price Category

Tequila Corrido Reposado

Tequila Corrido Reposado is a single-barrel reposado, made from what we call the "Double-Barrel process." First, the tequila is aged to "Taste Not Time" in once used Jack Daniel's barrels. Then, instead of blending in other aged tequilas, as is the typical practice, we transfer or "rack" the liquid into a once used Maker's Mark barrel to absorb the different flavor profiles. This "Double-Barrel" process is more costly and time consuming, as a CRT inspector must be present to reseal and stamp the barrel each time we open a barrel for sampling.  That's one of the extra steps we're willing to take to make our product unique.  This method is unique to Corrido and no one else does this in the industry.

Similar to a Ballad, the Corrido is a musical form developed in Mexico, and specifically rose from a "Border Culture" along the Lower Rio Grande region, primarily between the mid 1800s and the 1930s. The Corrido became known as "musica de la frontera" (border music) because it was especially popular along the U.S.-Mexico border regions.

Photos by Tequila.net

Editor review

Corrido Reposado * Tasted May 2010 * Riedel Tequila Glass

Appearance: light straw - thick body and slow tears
Aroma: citrus and bourbon, with hints of grass and caramel
Initial Taste: sweet floral agave
Spirit Body: earthy agave with light bourbon
Finish / Aftertaste: heated mouthfeel, medium finish with caramel and citrus

A nice blend of flavors on this rested Corrido Reposado, we're fans of the double barrel aging!
92
Excellent
Highly Recommended
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
91
Initial Taste 
 
91
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
91
Price 
 
91
Presentation 
 
96
Reviewed by Tequila.net June 13, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (186)

Corrido Reposado * Tasted May 2010 * Riedel Tequila Glass

Appearance: light straw - thick body and slow tears
Aroma: citrus and bourbon, with hints of grass and caramel
Initial Taste: sweet floral agave
Spirit Body: earthy agave with light bourbon
Finish / Aftertaste: heated mouthfeel, medium finish with caramel and citrus

A nice blend of flavors on this rested Corrido Reposado, we're fans of the double barrel aging!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 4 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
94  (4)
Initial Taste 
 
95  (4)
Body 
 
93  (4)
Finish 
 
94  (4)
Enjoyability 
 
95  (4)
Price 
 
93  (4)
Presentation 
 
90  (4)
I've found the Corrido line of tequilas to be a revelation. They might be my favorite line...period. Although a relatively new brand, they are producing some stellar juice.

Aroma - Caramel, Agave, Vanilla, Butterscotch. It's almost like candy.
Initial Taste - Just like the smell: Sweet, pleasant...and flat out delicious.
Body - Complex flavors start to come out with fruit and some subtle spices.
Finish - Unbelievable smooth. The caramel/butterscotch flavor lingers nicely with just a little bit of alcohol heat.

It has a ton of flavor. If you like Clase Azul reposado, you'll like this one as well. The price point makes it that much more perfect at $35 at Hi Time. Props to Corrido for such a fine tequila.
Overall rating 
 
96
Aroma-Nose 
 
96
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
96
Finish 
 
97
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
97
Presentation 
 
96
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist January 18, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (399)

I've found the Corrido line of tequilas to be a revelation. They might be my favorite line...period. Although a relatively new brand, they are producing some stellar juice.

Aroma - Caramel, Agave, Vanilla, Butterscotch. It's almost like candy.
Initial Taste - Just like the smell: Sweet, pleasant...and flat out delicious.
Body - Complex flavors start to come out with fruit and some subtle spices.
Finish - Unbelievable smooth. The caramel/butterscotch flavor lingers nicely with just a little bit of alcohol heat.

It has a ton of flavor. If you like Clase Azul reposado, you'll like this one as well. The price point makes it that much more perfect at $35 at Hi Time. Props to Corrido for such a fine tequila.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Decided to give this reposado a shot because I love the rest of their line. After having a couple other tequilas before it, I was stunned by how good this one was. It packs a wallop of flavor.

Aroma: Caramel, agave, vanilla, cinammon, rendered butter.
Initial taste: Sweet with no bitterness. Agave-forward.
Body: Caramel, vanilla, spice, and fruit.
Finish: Vanilla, cinammon, and lingering buttery taste with agave. Smooth, lightly heated (in a good way), and fairly long. Complex, refined, and absolutely delicious.

Outstanding.
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
96
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
94
Presentation 
 
88
Reviewed by JungleLarry August 31, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (39)

Decided to give this reposado a shot because I love the rest of their line. After having a couple other tequilas before it, I was stunned by how good this one was. It packs a wallop of flavor.

Aroma: Caramel, agave, vanilla, cinammon, rendered butter.
Initial taste: Sweet with no bitterness. Agave-forward.
Body: Caramel, vanilla, spice, and fruit.
Finish: Vanilla, cinammon, and lingering buttery taste with agave. Smooth, lightly heated (in a good way), and fairly long. Complex, refined, and absolutely delicious.

Outstanding.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Tasted out of a riedel glass. Having tasted this whole line more than once, Id have to say the reposado is my favorite. Which comes as a surprise to me as reposados are usually my least favorite. A slight wood/berry theme was consistent throughout the tasting. As their blanco, and excellent definition of reposado!

Aroma: A great nose full of berry, grass, and wood.
Initial Taste: A semi oily mouth feel, with a sweet entry and no bitterness. An initial taste of berry (raspberry).
Body: A well balanced agave body with berry, slight wood and ever so slight grass.
Finish: A medium heated finish of medium duration, with a nice woody agave lingering.
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
94
Price 
 
91
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Piña March 25, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (257)

Tasted out of a riedel glass. Having tasted this whole line more than once, Id have to say the reposado is my favorite. Which comes as a surprise to me as reposados are usually my least favorite. A slight wood/berry theme was consistent throughout the tasting. As their blanco, and excellent definition of reposado!

Aroma: A great nose full of berry, grass, and wood.
Initial Taste: A semi oily mouth feel, with a sweet entry and no bitterness. An initial taste of berry (raspberry).
Body: A well balanced agave body with berry, slight wood and ever so slight grass.
Finish: A medium heated finish of medium duration, with a nice woody agave lingering.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Straw golden/Helles lager color. Rich cool agave aroma with nice vanilla and faint herbal notes to compliment it. Sweet right away, creamy vanilla custard flavors are great. A few drops of water opened it up and still has no rough edges. Despite being in three barrels, any drying wood character is minimal, lots of bourbon barrel influence. Soft agave/spice bite in the finish. Lots of influence on it I'm guessing from the barrels but also somehow very pure.
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
96
Body 
 
87
Finish 
 
89
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
89
Presentation 
 
87
Reviewed by guaranified March 21, 2011
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

Straw golden/Helles lager color. Rich cool agave aroma with nice vanilla and faint herbal notes to compliment it. Sweet right away, creamy vanilla custard flavors are great. A few drops of water opened it up and still has no rough edges. Despite being in three barrels, any drying wood character is minimal, lots of bourbon barrel influence. Soft agave/spice bite in the finish. Lots of influence on it I'm guessing from the barrels but also somehow very pure.

Was this review helpful to you?