Blancos Fortaleza Tequila Blanco

Fortaleza Tequila Blanco http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/99/e0/59/1258_fortaleza_tequila_blanco_1255289784.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     October 11, 2009    
 
0
 
94 (7)
39867   0   3   0   26
 

Tequila Review

Brand
Fortaleza
NOM
Agave Region
Oven Type
Extraction Method
Distillation Method
Distillation
Alcohol Volume
Price Category
Facebook Page
Twitter Page
Tasting Awards
2012 TEQUILA.net Awards - "Best of the Best" Best Lowland Blanco Tequila Judge Favorite
2012 TEQUILA.net Awards - Best of the Best

Tequila Fortaleza Blanco

Fortaleza Tequila Blanco - 100% estate grown Blue Agave Tequilana Weber, distilled and stored in stainless steel tanks. Blanco never touches wood. Our Blanco label contains a drawing of our distillery.

At Tequila Los Abuelos, we are committed to producing the finest Tequila possible. Our Tequila is made using traditions established centuries ago, from 100% stone milled agave, entirely produced on our estate. We are located in the town of Tequila, Jalisco, Mexico, first populated in the 1530’s by our Spanish forefathers. Our land is nestled in rich valley at 4,000 feet of altitude, in the foothills of the 9,560-foot tall, Volcan de Tequila. Here is where our blue agaves grow for seven to eight years, caressed with the warmth of the Mexican sun, nourished by the summer rains, and protected from the harsh and cold winter winds.

Our Tequila is produced entirely within the walls of our estate, using centuries old, traditional methods, which although are very labor intensive, create a tequila, which is unequaled in taste and smoothness. Using the age-old brick oven, with its meter thick walls, we cook our agave for thirty six hours. Then we crush or mill the agave as my Tartarabuelo did over 135 years ago in the stone mill called the Tahona. The crushed agave is then washed with the pure mountain water from the Volcan de Tequila to separate the pulp from the woody fibers to create an agave juice called mosto The woody fibers of the agave, called bagazo, are removed at this time, and taken to the fields to use as compost. The agave mosto is then naturally fermented for five days in small wood vats, and then double distilled using small, labor-intensive copper pot stills. Our glass bottle is hand-blown in Tonala, Jalisco by artisan glassmakers and our bottle tops, artisan designed to represent the harvest agave, or Pina, are hand-made by our workers.

Tequila Fortaleza is the American label for Tequila Los Abuelos, due to a Rum with the name "Abuelos" already being distributed in the USA.

Notice the additional image below the main one, this bottle label show "La Fortaleza" which obviously changed to just "Fortaleza" for the US market.

User reviews View all user reviews

Average user rating from: 7 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
93  (7)
Initial Taste 
 
94  (7)
Body 
 
94  (7)
Finish 
 
95  (7)
Enjoyability 
 
96  (7)
Price 
 
91  (7)
Presentation 
 
95  (7)
Having heard so many reports on Fortaleza, I just had to try it and I'm glad I did. Although I normally prefer reposados, this is one blanco that will always be on my favorites list. The bottle and label are nicely understated and I like the pina stopper. To me, some blancos have a raw, unfinished flavor that many like, but I find a bit crude. Not so with Fortaleza. Nice agave character without the alcohol burn that sometimes accompanies it. And it has a unique taste that I have trouble defining, but can only express as very pleasant.

Enthusiastically recommended.
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
94
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
92
Reviewed by skoro September 19, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (14)

Delightful!

Having heard so many reports on Fortaleza, I just had to try it and I'm glad I did. Although I normally prefer reposados, this is one blanco that will always be on my favorites list. The bottle and label are nicely understated and I like the pina stopper. To me, some blancos have a raw, unfinished flavor that many like, but I find a bit crude. Not so with Fortaleza. Nice agave character without the alcohol burn that sometimes accompanies it. And it has a unique taste that I have trouble defining, but can only express as very pleasant.

Enthusiastically recommended.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hand blown bottle is cool. Stone tehona is cool. 5th generation is cool. Very traditional tequila. I just bought it last night for $51.99 in Lexington, KY. I feel it will be worth it. I drank neat then in a margarita. The quality and flavor is pretty ideal to just continue drinking it neat.

I want to take a tour and blow my own bottle.
Overall rating 
 
96
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
98
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
96
Reviewed by NathanDetroit September 14, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (21)

Makes me feel good

Hand blown bottle is cool. Stone tehona is cool. 5th generation is cool. Very traditional tequila. I just bought it last night for $51.99 in Lexington, KY. I feel it will be worth it. I drank neat then in a margarita. The quality and flavor is pretty ideal to just continue drinking it neat.

I want to take a tour and blow my own bottle.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Tried it for the first time last night. I was surprised to how smooth it was, no burning feeling sensation. I would recommend this to anyone who doesn't normally drink tequila. It would change their views on how it good tequila can be.
Overall rating 
 
97
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
96
Body 
 
96
Finish 
 
98
Enjoyability 
 
99
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
96
Reviewed by ggudino June 09, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Awesome

Tried it for the first time last night. I was surprised to how smooth it was, no burning feeling sensation. I would recommend this to anyone who doesn't normally drink tequila. It would change their views on how it good tequila can be.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Diagnosis Delicious
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
96
Enjoyability 
 
97
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
96
Reviewed by charliecupp March 31, 2013
Last updated: April 04, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Diagnosis Delicious

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hello my tequila peoples. Im gonna be really blunt and straight forward about this tequila. Im a fan. Being only a blanco sipper. This stoned crushed,old school tequila blanco is one of the best. Mr G Sauza who i had the oppertunity to talk to is a really nice man. He likes his aniejo, but me personally i like the blanco. Straight from the town of tequila mexico. This blanco to me if you can get your hands on it is great. I dont mind spending 60 dollars on it, because its stoned crushed and its smooth like silk. Im not gonna sit back and tell you i smell grassy notes or nutty flavors. When i sip this awsome stoned crushed 100% blanco tequila i taste agave and class. This is a classy tequila and the presentaion and bottle is up there with the best. Buy this blanco if you can. salud y vida puro tequila!
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
97
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
100
Reviewed by bighappy March 21, 2013
Last updated: April 06, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

Hello my tequila peoples. Im gonna be really blunt and straight forward about this tequila. Im a fan. Being only a blanco sipper. This stoned crushed,old school tequila blanco is one of the best. Mr G Sauza who i had the oppertunity to talk to is a really nice man. He likes his aniejo, but me personally i like the blanco. Straight from the town of tequila mexico. This blanco to me if you can get your hands on it is great. I dont mind spending 60 dollars on it, because its stoned crushed and its smooth like silk. Im not gonna sit back and tell you i smell grassy notes or nutty flavors. When i sip this awsome stoned crushed 100% blanco tequila i taste agave and class. This is a classy tequila and the presentaion and bottle is up there with the best. Buy this blanco if you can. salud y vida puro tequila!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
View all user reviews