Reposados Maestro Dobel Diamond Tequila Reposado

Maestro Dobel Diamond Tequila Reposado http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/87/e7/4b/979_meastro_dobel_diamond_tequila_brand_1220975650.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     September 09, 2008    
 
93
 
91 (12)
38611   0   3   0   19
 

Tequila Review

Brand
Reserva del Maestro
NOM
Agave Region
Distillation
Alcohol Volume
Price Category

Reserva del Maestro Dobel Diamond Reposado Tequila

Reserva del Maestro Dobel Diamond Reposado Tequila, a 100% Agave blend of Reposado, Anejo, and Extra Anejo Tequilas which have been gently filtered giving the Tequila an incredible Diamond Clarity and crispness.

Juan Dobel, working with Maestros Marco Anguiano and Luis Yerenas, wanted to create his own brand and offer Tequila Aficionados something truly unique. Each Agave used is grown for 8 to 10 years, and hand selected at one of a small number of our family's best quality producing ranches. This hand-crafted product is produced in small batches and aged in new oak casks from Southern Europe.

Juan-Dobel’s dedication to providing the finest hand-crafted tequila extends to Maestro Dobel’s meticulous packaging. Each imposing bottle is built on a thick metallic base and is emblazoned with a unique crystal-cut design. Each bottle is filled and labeled by hand and then individually numbered. Unique for tequila, Dobel recognizes the ranch from which the 8-10 year-old agave was harvested.

Editor review

Tequila Reserva del Maestro * Tasted 10-21-08 * Riedel Tequila Glass

Appearance: very light straw, clear - full body and tears
Aroma: mild alcohol, light nose of fermented grapes, coffee, oak and vanilla
Initial Taste: sweet nut and chocolate, mild spice
Spirit Body: fruit and butter, hints of vanilla and mint, thick and warm
Finish / Aftertaste: warm and smooth finish, medium chocolate and mint aftertaste

A unique and mild spirit, containing many smooth aromas and flavors, minus the standard Agave attributes. Very drinkable. Tasted blind it would be difficult to categorize.
93
Excellent
Highly Recommended
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
86
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
98
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
91
Reviewed by Tequila.net October 21, 2008
Last updated: October 21, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (186)

Tequila Reserva del Maestro * Tasted 10-21-08 * Riedel Tequila Glass

Appearance: very light straw, clear - full body and tears
Aroma: mild alcohol, light nose of fermented grapes, coffee, oak and vanilla
Initial Taste: sweet nut and chocolate, mild spice
Spirit Body: fruit and butter, hints of vanilla and mint, thick and warm
Finish / Aftertaste: warm and smooth finish, medium chocolate and mint aftertaste

A unique and mild spirit, containing many smooth aromas and flavors, minus the standard Agave attributes. Very drinkable. Tasted blind it would be difficult to categorize.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews View all user reviews

Average user rating from: 12 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
91  (12)
Initial Taste 
 
91  (12)
Body 
 
91  (12)
Finish 
 
90  (12)
Enjoyability 
 
92  (12)
Price 
 
85  (12)
Presentation 
 
93  (12)
When I drank this tequila one word usually came to mind: dynamic. Every time I drank it I experienced a new taste. It was great. It was gone in no time though.

This was my first non blanco tequila aside from some mini bottles here and there.

The price on here is perhaps outdated or I just got really lucky when I bought it for $31.99. I would purchase this tequila again and would probably pay upwards of $50.00 if I had to.
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
91
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
97
Finish 
 
97
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
98
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by NathanDetroit December 18, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (22)

Dynamic

When I drank this tequila one word usually came to mind: dynamic. Every time I drank it I experienced a new taste. It was great. It was gone in no time though.

This was my first non blanco tequila aside from some mini bottles here and there.

The price on here is perhaps outdated or I just got really lucky when I bought it for $31.99. I would purchase this tequila again and would probably pay upwards of $50.00 if I had to.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Very disappointing tequila. The flavor was sharp, not smooth at all. I expected much, much more from this premium-priced tequila, and everyone I've shared it with has agreed that this is not worthy of the high price, nor the very high reviews it has received. Avoid this one.
Overall rating 
 
71
Aroma-Nose 
 
84
Initial Taste 
 
80
Body 
 
75
Finish 
 
60
Enjoyability 
 
72
Price 
 
29
Presentation 
 
75
Reviewed by rrrun August 13, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

Very disappointing tequila. The flavor was sharp, not smooth at all. I expected much, much more from this premium-priced tequila, and everyone I've shared it with has agreed that this is not worthy of the high price, nor the very high reviews it has received. Avoid this one.

Was this review helpful to you? 
NOSE
Quite smooth, creamy & soothing. An instant impression of quality & something 'new world' & modern. Strong agave notes, vanilla, oak, spearmint & touch of earthiness & spice. Overall quite clean & mature.

PALATE
Semi-sweet agave, vanilla, wintergreen & intense spice. Quite rich with a nice density & assertiveness. The spice level builds with time on the tongue - black pepper, almost like cinnamon & black licorice. The overall sweetness level is fairly pronounced yet never overdone. Some heat but easily within check.

BODY
Nicely oily & mouth coating.

FINISH.
Vanilla, mint & spice remain -but becomes almost instantly dry, earthy & salty. Reasonably long.

NOTES
A well designed & crafted spirit. Supposedly a blend of repo, anejo & extra anejo - the extra age/maturity shines through. The oak influence is apparent yet subtle, coming through mostly in the finish. I dig the vanilla & anise flavors throughout & the mouth feel is spot on. In a perfect world the sweetness level would be a tad lower (10%?). Reasonably priced to boot.

Opens with a touch of water - less heat, more earthiness, more salt, more bitterness & seemingly more assertive spice.
Overall rating 
 
86
Aroma-Nose 
 
85
Initial Taste 
 
86
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
84
Enjoyability 
 
85
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
80
Reviewed by SpringbankLover July 31, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

NOSE
Quite smooth, creamy & soothing. An instant impression of quality & something 'new world' & modern. Strong agave notes, vanilla, oak, spearmint & touch of earthiness & spice. Overall quite clean & mature.

PALATE
Semi-sweet agave, vanilla, wintergreen & intense spice. Quite rich with a nice density & assertiveness. The spice level builds with time on the tongue - black pepper, almost like cinnamon & black licorice. The overall sweetness level is fairly pronounced yet never overdone. Some heat but easily within check.

BODY
Nicely oily & mouth coating.

FINISH.
Vanilla, mint & spice remain -but becomes almost instantly dry, earthy & salty. Reasonably long.

NOTES
A well designed & crafted spirit. Supposedly a blend of repo, anejo & extra anejo - the extra age/maturity shines through. The oak influence is apparent yet subtle, coming through mostly in the finish. I dig the vanilla & anise flavors throughout & the mouth feel is spot on. In a perfect world the sweetness level would be a tad lower (10%?). Reasonably priced to boot.

Opens with a touch of water - less heat, more earthiness, more salt, more bitterness & seemingly more assertive spice.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Very nice, go buy a bottle...it's worth it.
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
96
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
91
Presentation 
 
97
Reviewed by blueridgerider July 24, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

Very nice, go buy a bottle...it's worth it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I must admit I was apprehensive when I saw clear reposado. But I quickly fell in love. This is a very smooth, delicious and very pleasant tequila. I would recommend to anyone to try. 10x better than the overrated, over priced popular Patron(Leave on the shelf). This great taste I would rank right up with Dos Lunas and Tres Generaciones as my favorites. You can mix it. But I prefer to leave in the freezer and shot/sip. No watering it down in shakers with ice. It's sweet, smooth with very minimal burn if you even want to call it that. The finish is as pleasant as the beginning! The listing here says $70-$100 a bottle. I been able to find $35-$38. I wish I could afford to drink everyday. No use wasting time or money for anything else.
Overall rating 
 
96
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
97
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
97
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
91
Presentation 
 
98
Reviewed by gaulden5 June 16, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

I must admit I was apprehensive when I saw clear reposado. But I quickly fell in love. This is a very smooth, delicious and very pleasant tequila. I would recommend to anyone to try. 10x better than the overrated, over priced popular Patron(Leave on the shelf). This great taste I would rank right up with Dos Lunas and Tres Generaciones as my favorites. You can mix it. But I prefer to leave in the freezer and shot/sip. No watering it down in shakers with ice. It's sweet, smooth with very minimal burn if you even want to call it that. The finish is as pleasant as the beginning! The listing here says $70-$100 a bottle. I been able to find $35-$38. I wish I could afford to drink everyday. No use wasting time or money for anything else.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
View all user reviews