Anejos Don Pilar Tequila Anejo

Don Pilar Tequila Anejo http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/af/39/83/1149_donpilartequilaanejo_1240795598.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     April 26, 2009    
 
94
 
94 (7)
32180   0   2   0   35
 

Tequila Review

Brand
Don Pilar
NOM
Extraction Method
Distillation Method
Distillation
Barrel - Cask
Alcohol Volume
Price Category
Facebook Page
Twitter Page
Tasting Awards
2011 TEQUILA.net Awards - "Best of the Best" Best Highland Añejo Tequila Judge Favorite
2011 TEQUILA.net Awards - Best of the Best

Tequila Don Pilar Anejo

Tequila Don Pilar Anejo is crafted from 100% Blue Agave which is estate grown in the magical Highlands of Jalisco. Don Jose Pilar Contreras, son of these magical lands, uses unique, artisanal methods to create this fine Tequila.

Don Pilar's Agave is harvested from one of six ranches located in San Jose de Gracia. The Agaves are hand picked and harvested at their peak maturity, then cleaned and steam cooked for 24 hours in autoclaves. Don Pilar Tequila is fermented with Champagne yeast, and improved with the assistance of Baroque music during the 200 hour fermentation process. Don Pilar Tequila is double distilled in stainless steel pot stills, and then aged in lightly toasted, virgin American White Oak barrels for a minimum of twelve months. This aging process imparts a smoothness to the Tequila and enhances the essence of the Agave flavor.

Don Pilar is a Kosher Certified brand.

Photos by Tequila.net

Editor review

Don Pilar Anejo * Tasted Blind May 2009 * Riedel Tequila Glass

Appearance: copper, golden hues - thick body and slow tears
Aroma: woody agave, notes of citrus and butter
Initial Taste: light sweet agave and mild wood
Spirit Body: buttery agave and hint of roasted nuts
Finish / Aftertaste: warm mouthfeel, medium length finish with butter / nut aftertaste

Don Pilar Anejo is full of excellent flavors, well balanced, and enjoyable all the way through. An excellent Anejo for under $40, highly recommended!
94
Excellent
Highly Recommended
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
94
Price 
 
97
Presentation 
 
94
Reviewed by Tequila.net May 16, 2009
Last updated: May 16, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (186)

Don Pilar Anejo * Tasted Blind May 2009 * Riedel Tequila Glass

Appearance: copper, golden hues - thick body and slow tears
Aroma: woody agave, notes of citrus and butter
Initial Taste: light sweet agave and mild wood
Spirit Body: buttery agave and hint of roasted nuts
Finish / Aftertaste: warm mouthfeel, medium length finish with butter / nut aftertaste

Don Pilar Anejo is full of excellent flavors, well balanced, and enjoyable all the way through. An excellent Anejo for under $40, highly recommended!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews View all user reviews

Average user rating from: 7 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
94  (7)
Initial Taste 
 
94  (7)
Body 
 
93  (7)
Finish 
 
94  (7)
Enjoyability 
 
94  (7)
Price 
 
97  (7)
Presentation 
 
94  (7)
The blanco was quite good. I like the fact that they skipped a reposado since those are so tough to get right. However, my understanding is that a repo is in the works. Okay, now for the task at hand.

A definite apple fragrance coming through in the nose, with some alcohol as well, but not overpowering. No agave to speak of in the nose of this aged product. Once on the tongue, the apple now mixes with oak. It has a nice sweetness, but not drippy sweet. A dryness from the oak tannins is present. The body and finish may be the weak spots. It is rather thin for an anejo, and the the finish is a little disappointing, but not bad. It finishes quick, but nice.

Don Pilar anejo is really a nice tequila overall. If it had more body, and a finish to remember, it could be stellar. I see this priced under $40 in multiple places, which is a steal for this quality anejo. It is a very classy, nice-looking bottle.
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
97
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by jdjohn84 June 21, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (63)

The blanco was quite good. I like the fact that they skipped a reposado since those are so tough to get right. However, my understanding is that a repo is in the works. Okay, now for the task at hand.

A definite apple fragrance coming through in the nose, with some alcohol as well, but not overpowering. No agave to speak of in the nose of this aged product. Once on the tongue, the apple now mixes with oak. It has a nice sweetness, but not drippy sweet. A dryness from the oak tannins is present. The body and finish may be the weak spots. It is rather thin for an anejo, and the the finish is a little disappointing, but not bad. It finishes quick, but nice.

Don Pilar anejo is really a nice tequila overall. If it had more body, and a finish to remember, it could be stellar. I see this priced under $40 in multiple places, which is a steal for this quality anejo. It is a very classy, nice-looking bottle.

Was this review helpful to you? 
An absolutely amazing añejo. A full spectrum flavors on the tongue. Aftertaste is a bit lacking. Nose low to mid 90's. I am completely happy with this purchase. First time visiting this brand but it won't be my last. Hitime purchase for $35.99.
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
93
Reviewed by 1tequila2 May 02, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (36)

An absolutely amazing añejo. A full spectrum flavors on the tongue. Aftertaste is a bit lacking. Nose low to mid 90's. I am completely happy with this purchase. First time visiting this brand but it won't be my last. Hitime purchase for $35.99.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Appearance: Dark gold, darker than most anejos. Thick body.
Aroma: Almost like a cross between bourbon and tequila. Citrus and wood are prominent.
Initial Taste: Sweet agave with nice wood tastes as well. A hint of bourbon with a bit more sweetness from the agave and citrus.
Finish / Aftertaste: Very pleasant, long finish. Smooth with a pleasant alcohol heat.

Don Pilar Anejo is a great value at under $40. Great character and flavor. I'd recommend it to anyone...especially those that love whiskey as well.
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
94
Price 
 
96
Presentation 
 
93
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist January 17, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (399)

Appearance: Dark gold, darker than most anejos. Thick body.
Aroma: Almost like a cross between bourbon and tequila. Citrus and wood are prominent.
Initial Taste: Sweet agave with nice wood tastes as well. A hint of bourbon with a bit more sweetness from the agave and citrus.
Finish / Aftertaste: Very pleasant, long finish. Smooth with a pleasant alcohol heat.

Don Pilar Anejo is a great value at under $40. Great character and flavor. I'd recommend it to anyone...especially those that love whiskey as well.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Sweet agave scent with a light cherry undertone. Silky initial feel with the sweet agave leading to a solid body where the cherry comes out. The finish has a nice light spice to it that pleasantly warms the tongue.
Bottle is nice and simple, cork stopper.
Cant beat the price @ $36 at Hi Time
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
100
Presentation 
 
89
Reviewed by jasonrm72 February 28, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (25)

Sweet agave scent with a light cherry undertone. Silky initial feel with the sweet agave leading to a solid body where the cherry comes out. The finish has a nice light spice to it that pleasantly warms the tongue.
Bottle is nice and simple, cork stopper.
Cant beat the price @ $36 at Hi Time

Was this review helpful to you? 
I drank this Añejo out of Snifter...
The nose is a Cognac smack down. Overwhelming nose control is commandeered by this spirits Cognac overload. The note regarding this Tequila State that is fermented with Champaign yeast. C'est la vie!
The body is thin and slightly a cheap thrill that that you may be OK with, in a completely dark room.
The Taste is mild and has hidden hints of Agave. Its finish yields France, flame and fortune.
Over all, this Añejo reminds me of a smooth Cognac, but not really of Tequila. This is the most important aspect of this spirit. Choose to purchase this accordingly.
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
91
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
93
Presentation 
 
97
Reviewed by AdamMathew May 12, 2010
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (12)

I drank this Añejo out of Snifter...
The nose is a Cognac smack down. Overwhelming nose control is commandeered by this spirits Cognac overload. The note regarding this Tequila State that is fermented with Champaign yeast. C'est la vie!
The body is thin and slightly a cheap thrill that that you may be OK with, in a completely dark room.
The Taste is mild and has hidden hints of Agave. Its finish yields France, flame and fortune.
Over all, this Añejo reminds me of a smooth Cognac, but not really of Tequila. This is the most important aspect of this spirit. Choose to purchase this accordingly.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
View all user reviews