Anejos Cabo Wabo Tequila Anejo

Cabo Wabo Tequila Anejo http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/99/33/33/229_Cabo_Wabo_Anejo_Tequila_1172884597.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     March 02, 2007    
 
0
 
86 (8)
23810   0   3   0   17
 

Tequila Review

Brand
Cabo Wabo
NOM
Oven Type
Extraction Method
Distillation
Barrel - Cask
Alcohol Volume
Price Category
Celebrity Affiliation

Cabo Wabo Anejo Tequila

Cabo Wabo Anejo Tequila is double distilled and aged in oak barrels from 1 to 5 years.

The Tequilana Weber Blue Agave plant is the core and essence of Cabo Wabo Tequila. Harvested between 8 and 12 years, the Agave is cooked in stone steam-heated ovens, and then smashed and ground to remove the Agave nectar. Fermentation follows and is completely natural, with no chemicals added. Cabo Wabo Tequila is then distilled twice to remove impurities and refine the aroma and alcohol content. Blanco Tequila goes straight to bottling, whereas Reposado Tequila is aged between 3 to 12 months, and the Anejo Tequila is aged from 1 to 5 years. The Tequila is bottled in unique, hand blown artisan glass bottles.

Brand History:
1996 - Cabo Wabo Tequila is started by legendary musician and Tequila aficionado, Sammy Hagar.

2007 - Sammy Hagar sells 80% of Cabo Wabo Tequila stake to Gruppo Compari / Skyy for $80 million.

2010 - Compari / Skyy agrees to pay $11 million for the remaining 20% of Cabo Wabo Tequila and obtains full ownership of the brand.

User reviews View all user reviews

Average user rating from: 8 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
86
Aroma-Nose 
 
86  (8)
Initial Taste 
 
88  (8)
Body 
 
86  (8)
Finish 
 
84  (8)
Enjoyability 
 
86  (8)
Price 
 
84  (8)
Presentation 
 
86  (8)
I've seen a mixed bag on this one. Some people love it some people hate it. Only one way to find out...

Aroma: Light Agave with vanilla and a bit of alcohol.
Initial Taste: Agave vanilla and a bit of citrus. A very nice entry.
Body: Light body for an anejo. Nice mixture of vanilla, agave and fruit. A slight bit of oak compliments it as well.
Finish: A very basic finish. Short duration, no spice linger...just a basic feeling and taste on the tongue of the previously mentioned flavors. Pleasant, but not noteworthy.

The start is better than the finish. The flavors are complex and taste very good. The finish left something to be desired. As far as tequilas that you'll find in every store go...this one is pretty darn good. It's not on the top shelf, but it's something that you can happily and proudly serves guests as a dessert tequila, straight or mixed. A nice well rounded effort.
Overall rating 
 
89
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
91
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
86
Enjoyability 
 
89
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist May 14, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (405)

I've seen a mixed bag on this one. Some people love it some people hate it. Only one way to find out...

Aroma: Light Agave with vanilla and a bit of alcohol.
Initial Taste: Agave vanilla and a bit of citrus. A very nice entry.
Body: Light body for an anejo. Nice mixture of vanilla, agave and fruit. A slight bit of oak compliments it as well.
Finish: A very basic finish. Short duration, no spice linger...just a basic feeling and taste on the tongue of the previously mentioned flavors. Pleasant, but not noteworthy.

The start is better than the finish. The flavors are complex and taste very good. The finish left something to be desired. As far as tequilas that you'll find in every store go...this one is pretty darn good. It's not on the top shelf, but it's something that you can happily and proudly serves guests as a dessert tequila, straight or mixed. A nice well rounded effort.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is a pretty good anejo,little high in price,but everyone should try it,just sip alittle
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
96
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
80
Presentation 
 
89
Reviewed by TequilaGuy July 04, 2010
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (19)

This is a pretty good anejo,little high in price,but everyone should try it,just sip alittle

Was this review helpful to you? 
Nose was not very pleasant, although I did enjoy a subtle cinnamon scent along with a hint of lemon and even a slight grass aroma.

Tasted of a subtle cinnamon, spice, moderate agave presence, earthiness, and a spicy mid-to-long finish.

At this price point there are many others I'd prefer. I was fairly disappointed based on the popularity of this brand compared to similarly popular brands such as Don Julio, El Tesoro, and Patron.
Overall rating 
 
83
Aroma-Nose 
 
79
Initial Taste 
 
83
Body 
 
86
Finish 
 
80
Enjoyability 
 
85
Price 
 
80
Presentation 
 
80
Reviewed by drawnad December 16, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (52)

Nose was not very pleasant, although I did enjoy a subtle cinnamon scent along with a hint of lemon and even a slight grass aroma.

Tasted of a subtle cinnamon, spice, moderate agave presence, earthiness, and a spicy mid-to-long finish.

At this price point there are many others I'd prefer. I was fairly disappointed based on the popularity of this brand compared to similarly popular brands such as Don Julio, El Tesoro, and Patron.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Tasted on 12/26/08 out of a snifter. I had been wanting to try this anejo for some time now to round out the entire line. In my opinion, I think Cabo Wabo anejo is their best offering. So while I wont be running out to get a bottle of this for home, Id be happy sipping it at a bar.

Aroma: A light nose of vanilla.
Initial Taste: A semi oily mouth feel, it was sweet upon entry, with a slight bitterness. Initial taste was vanilla.
Body: Actually a pretty decent body of agave, cinnamon, vanilla, and earth.
Finish: A semi heated finish of short duration with a lingering of vanilla.
Overall rating 
 
87
Aroma-Nose 
 
86
Initial Taste 
 
86
Body 
 
88
Finish 
 
87
Enjoyability 
 
87
Price 
 
87
Presentation 
 
84
Reviewed by Piña December 31, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (257)

Tasted on 12/26/08 out of a snifter. I had been wanting to try this anejo for some time now to round out the entire line. In my opinion, I think Cabo Wabo anejo is their best offering. So while I wont be running out to get a bottle of this for home, Id be happy sipping it at a bar.

Aroma: A light nose of vanilla.
Initial Taste: A semi oily mouth feel, it was sweet upon entry, with a slight bitterness. Initial taste was vanilla.
Body: Actually a pretty decent body of agave, cinnamon, vanilla, and earth.
Finish: A semi heated finish of short duration with a lingering of vanilla.

Was this review helpful to you? 
One of the first anejo's I ever tasted,not my favorate,but still good
Overall rating 
 
82
Aroma-Nose 
 
81
Initial Taste 
 
88
Body 
 
80
Finish 
 
80
Enjoyability 
 
80
Price 
 
80
Presentation 
 
86
Reviewed by Tequila Guy November 03, 2008
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

One of the first anejo's I ever tasted,not my favorate,but still good

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
View all user reviews