Reposados El Rey y Yo Tequila Reposado

El Rey y Yo Tequila Reposado http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/77/d0/8d/1047_el-rey-y-yo-tequila-reposado_1275796320.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     November 09, 2008    
 
91
 
93 (1)
13936   0   2   0   3
 

Tequila Review

NOM
Agave Region
Oven Type
Extraction Method
Distillation Method
Distillation
Alcohol Volume
Price Category

Tequila El Rey y Yo Reposado

Tequila El Rey y Yo Reposado - Bronze Edition - is 100% Agave and aged in oak barrels for 4 to 6 mon

Mexcor International has carefully created "El Rey y yo". This Tequila is based on the Mexican Traditions, and is celebrating 65 years since the company was founded and 20 Years of Mexcor's growth in the USA. Mexcor owners Celia Villanueva-Maestri and (her son) Eduardo Morales enlisted the expertise of Master Distiller Ana Maria Romero to create the unmistakable flavors you will experience when enjoying El Rey y yo. The family has deep roots as growers, distillers, brand owners, distributors, importers and exporters that spans over 65 years.

Celia Villanueva, the youngest of five children from the Villanueva - Barragan Family, and her three children Eduardo, Celia Jr. and Jose are celebrating Celia's life in the liquor business. Since Celia was six years old, her parents allowed her to participate in the business, putting the empty bottles back into the boxes. Celia grew up behind of the liquor store counter, doing homework first, then cleaning, filling, wrapping and packing bottles. Proud of her heritage, Celia and her three beautiful children are celebrating 65 years of great memories and family success.

As the Mexican Tradition the name "EL REY y yo" was selected in honor of Celia's parent's traditions.  EL REY in our culture signified a person who is the head of the family that is responsible, creates, provides, takes care of others, shares, and keeps his word with honor. In other words, they taught Celia, to be successful; you have to be "El Rey".

Celia and Michael Maestri own Destiladora del Valle de Tequila NOM 1438 where El Rey y yo is hand-crafted each day.

Photos by Tequila.net

Editor review

Tequila El Rey y Yo Reposado * Tasted Blind 11-15-08 * Riedel Tequila Glass

Appearance: medium amber, golden hues - medium body and tears
Aroma: fruity and sweet, mild agave and whiskey
Initial Taste: floral and wood
Spirit Body: agave with hints of orange and vanilla
Finish / Aftertaste: warm mouthfeel, short fruity aftertaste
91
Excellent
Highly Recommended
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
94
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
89
Enjoyability 
 
91
Price 
 
91
Presentation 
 
91
Reviewed by Tequila.net December 27, 2008
Last updated: December 27, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (186)

Tequila El Rey y Yo Reposado * Tasted Blind 11-15-08 * Riedel Tequila Glass

Appearance: medium amber, golden hues - medium body and tears
Aroma: fruity and sweet, mild agave and whiskey
Initial Taste: floral and wood
Spirit Body: agave with hints of orange and vanilla
Finish / Aftertaste: warm mouthfeel, short fruity aftertaste

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
94  (1)
Initial Taste 
 
92  (1)
Body 
 
93  (1)
Finish 
 
94  (1)
Enjoyability 
 
93  (1)
Price 
 
95  (1)
Presentation 
 
95  (1)
El Rey y Yo (The King and I) NOM 1416. Tasted out of a snifter on 8/31/09 at my home tequila bar.
Color: Medium Amber.
Aroma/Nose: Light alcohol w/hints of clover honey.
Initial Taste: Fruit and vanilla w/mild oak.
Body: Very light oily mouthfeel w/wide chunky legs running around and down the entire snifter.
Finish: Very smooth agave presence w/even smoother oak that actually seemed to "melt" together as it flowed over the tongue. The finish was very suprising on the back end because everything up to this point indicated that it would finish just as smooth as it started and then BAM! It came back and slapped my palate almost letting me know that this was in fact a serious first class reposado that is capable of competing with the big boys in it's category! Overall a very nice agave experience!
Quality/Price: This was an exceptional value at $29.99.
Presentation: Limited Edition 18th Family Anniversary Bronze Edition bottle is very attractive and is sealed with a synthetic cork stopper.
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
94
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by totallytequila August 31, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (11)

El Rey y Yo (The King and I) NOM 1416. Tasted out of a snifter on 8/31/09 at my home tequila bar.
Color: Medium Amber.
Aroma/Nose: Light alcohol w/hints of clover honey.
Initial Taste: Fruit and vanilla w/mild oak.
Body: Very light oily mouthfeel w/wide chunky legs running around and down the entire snifter.
Finish: Very smooth agave presence w/even smoother oak that actually seemed to "melt" together as it flowed over the tongue. The finish was very suprising on the back end because everything up to this point indicated that it would finish just as smooth as it started and then BAM! It came back and slapped my palate almost letting me know that this was in fact a serious first class reposado that is capable of competing with the big boys in it's category! Overall a very nice agave experience!
Quality/Price: This was an exceptional value at $29.99.
Presentation: Limited Edition 18th Family Anniversary Bronze Edition bottle is very attractive and is sealed with a synthetic cork stopper.

Was this review helpful to you?