Reposados Azunia Tequila Reposado

Azunia Tequila Reposado http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/f0/98/07/azunia-tequila-reposado-94-1386461681.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     September 10, 2009    
 
91
 
91 (2)
16611   0   3   0   4
 
Azunia Tequila Reposado (2013)

Tequila Review

Brand
Azunia
NOM
Agave Region
Oven Type
Extraction Method
Distillation Method
Distillation
Barrel - Cask
Alcohol Volume
Price Category
Celebrity Affiliation

Azuñia Tequila Reposado

Azuñia Tequila Reposado is smooth, clean craft tequila with authentic flavor from the local terroir in every sip. It is the exclusive export of Agaveros Unidos and its second-generation, family-owned-and-operated Rancho Miravalle estate, which has created exceptional tequila for nearly 20 years. Made with 100% pure Weber Blue Agave grown in dedicated fields of the Jalisco lowlands, we harvest by hand and roast the organic agave in traditional clay hornos to ensure authenticity and depth of flavor. We then finish with a natural, open-air fermentation process and bottle on-site in small batches using a consistent process to deliver field-to-bottle quality.

Azuñia Tequila Reposado, rested for 8 months, presents a light agave aroma with hints of butterscotch and wood. Delight in the warmth of its slight vanilla finish.

December, 2011 - Sunny Garcia is named brand ambassador for Azuñia Tequila. Sunny is a world class surfer, world traveler, and connoisseur of fine food and drink.

February 2012 - NBA Hall of Famer, former sports broadcaster and successful business entrepreneur, Bill Walton becomes an equity partner with Azuñia Tequila.

Photos by Tequila.net

Editor review

Azunia Reposado * Tasted September 2009 * Riedel Tequila Glass

Appearance: light straw - thick body and slow tears
Aroma: light agave and pepper, hints of vanilla and wood
Initial Taste: butter and citrus, light wood
Spirit Body: buttery agave, hint of vanilla
Finish / Aftertaste: warm mouthfeel, citrus and vanilla finish with medium chocolate aftertaste
91
Excellent
Highly Recommended
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
91
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
91
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
91
Presentation 
 
85
Reviewed by Tequila.net September 30, 2009
Last updated: September 30, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (186)

Azunia Reposado * Tasted September 2009 * Riedel Tequila Glass

Appearance: light straw - thick body and slow tears
Aroma: light agave and pepper, hints of vanilla and wood
Initial Taste: butter and citrus, light wood
Spirit Body: buttery agave, hint of vanilla
Finish / Aftertaste: warm mouthfeel, citrus and vanilla finish with medium chocolate aftertaste

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
90  (2)
Initial Taste 
 
91  (2)
Body 
 
91  (2)
Finish 
 
92  (2)
Enjoyability 
 
91  (2)
Price 
 
91  (2)
Presentation 
 
91  (2)
Digging through the tequila bunker you can often find something that you'd either forgotten about after tasting...or even forgotten to ever open entirely. Azunia Reposado is the latter for me. This very simple looking screw cap bottle was just hiding behind his oxidizing brothers. And since I enjoyed the blanco and anejo, I figured it was high time to open it. It comes from NOM 1503, which only makes a few brands, Regional being probably the best known.

Price: $35-40/bottle
Aroma: A nice combo of vegetal agave and hints of fruit and vanilla.
Initial Taste: A nice balanced sweetness. There's some vanilla and the earthy & green notes. Tastes very natural.
Body: A medium to thick body. More pepper notes are present mid-palate and the oak presents itself nicely too.

Finish: A fairly long finish with nice complexity. The peppery notes and the light oak are there initially and it fades away for a later linger of toasted nuts.

I like this reposado. It's got a little bit of everything to keep the reposado lover satisfied. Nice agave flavor, good balance and a long finish. Well priced at under $40. This is definitely worth picking up...even if I would recommend the anejo first.
Overall rating 
 
89
Aroma-Nose 
 
86
Initial Taste 
 
88
Body 
 
89
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
88
Price 
 
91
Presentation 
 
88
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist November 06, 2014
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

Nice balance and value

Digging through the tequila bunker you can often find something that you'd either forgotten about after tasting...or even forgotten to ever open entirely. Azunia Reposado is the latter for me. This very simple looking screw cap bottle was just hiding behind his oxidizing brothers. And since I enjoyed the blanco and anejo, I figured it was high time to open it. It comes from NOM 1503, which only makes a few brands, Regional being probably the best known.

Price: $35-40/bottle
Aroma: A nice combo of vegetal agave and hints of fruit and vanilla.
Initial Taste: A nice balanced sweetness. There's some vanilla and the earthy & green notes. Tastes very natural.
Body: A medium to thick body. More pepper notes are present mid-palate and the oak presents itself nicely too.

Finish: A fairly long finish with nice complexity. The peppery notes and the light oak are there initially and it fades away for a later linger of toasted nuts.

I like this reposado. It's got a little bit of everything to keep the reposado lover satisfied. Nice agave flavor, good balance and a long finish. Well priced at under $40. This is definitely worth picking up...even if I would recommend the anejo first.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Tasted out of a caballito. Azunia Reposado is definitely a reposado with a very distinct taste. I'll definitely be buying a bottle of this one in the near future. Aroma: An interesting nose of fruit and pine. Initial Taste: A thin mouth feel, with no bitterness upon entry. First taste was fruit/slight vanilla. Body: A great agave body complimented nicely by slight vanilla, slight fruit, and slight pepper. Finish: A finish of medium heat and short duration with a vanilla/fruity lingering.
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
94
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
91
Presentation 
 
93
Reviewed by Piña September 11, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (257)

Tasted out of a caballito. Azunia Reposado is definitely a reposado with a very distinct taste. I'll definitely be buying a bottle of this one in the near future. Aroma: An interesting nose of fruit and pine. Initial Taste: A thin mouth feel, with no bitterness upon entry. First taste was fruit/slight vanilla. Body: A great agave body complimented nicely by slight vanilla, slight fruit, and slight pepper. Finish: A finish of medium heat and short duration with a vanilla/fruity lingering.

Was this review helpful to you?