Extra Anejos Chinaco Negro Tequila Extra Anejo

Chinaco Negro Tequila Extra Anejo http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/a3/1c/93/74_chinaco_negro_extra_anejo_tequila_1174237124.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     January 07, 2007    
 
0
 
95 (6)
30431   0   3   0   18
 

Tequila Review

Brand
Chinaco
NOM
Agave Region

Chinaco Negro Extra Anejo Tequila

"Chinaco Negro" Extra Anejo Tequila is a product that comes from a five year aging process, a single batch, and is a Limited Edition product. What we are trying to accomplish, is that the Tequila consumer learns to recognize that the flavor depends on many different factors, which include: the weather in which the agave grew for eight years, the zones in which the blue agave is planted, the room temperature that it was distilled in, as well as the wood it was aged in.

Chinaco Negro's Key Points:

  • Ultra Aged, 5 years in oak barrels
  • Single Batch, Limited Edition
  • Barrels selected by the Master Distiller.
  • 7 Different Lots, the smallest with 180 bottles so this one comes from a single barrel, and the largest with 1000 bottles (four barrels)
  • Each lot has its own elegant finish and Chinaco aged flavor
  • Agave fields, variants in the weather, and the barrels give each lot their own Mysterious finish
  • Each bottle numbered and signed by Germán González

Chinaco Negro Tasting Notes:

Lot #12: extremely peppery in the opening nosing; goes more vegetal/raw asparagus-like with aeration; dry yet sour at entry; mildly salty/kippery at midpalate; raw, oaky finish.

Lot #14: smells strongly of agave meat/extremely green/vegetal; turns spicy/peppery aromatically; entry is semisweet, a touch toffee-like; midpalate is spirity, prickly, oily yet sophisticated and focused; concludes with a minerally flourish.

Lot #15: aroma is reluctant at first; distant notes of saddle leather, green pepper, palm oil; intensely vegetal at entry; turns softer, sweeter at midpalate as oaky vanilla kicks in; ends smoky, sweet, tobacco-like.

Lot #17: smells of toffee/caramel and newly tanned leather; aeration brings on a biscuity/cookie batter scent that's more bakery oriented than agave field or distillery; sweet, spirity at entry; delicious core flavor is honeyed agave; closes oaky sweet and honeyed.

Lot #18: nose is peppery upfront; goes creamy/oaky with aeration; rich, toffee-like entry; midpalate is honeyed/sherried and silky, but prickly; ends up fiery, but sweet.

Lot #70: smells of baked bread, butter; aeration doesn't affect the bouquet; intensely oaky/woody, almost resiny at entry; midpalate off-dry flavors include peanut butter, palm oil, oak; finishes slightly heavy, fatty/oily, and flat after fine in-mouth stages; wood overshadows.

Lot #71: smells of baked pear, fruit pastry; aeration stirs up soft honey/pepper notes; entry is caramel-like, nougaty; midpalate is rich, but not cloying, toffee-like; concludes sweet, but elegant and buttery/creamy.

User reviews View all user reviews

Average user rating from: 6 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
95  (6)
Initial Taste 
 
94  (6)
Body 
 
95  (6)
Finish 
 
96  (6)
Enjoyability 
 
95  (6)
Price 
 
92  (6)
Presentation 
 
93  (6)
This was one of the hard tequilas to find, very exited on a trip to CA when I saw a bottle, had to buy it. Intense aroma at first, raw agave, vanilla, caramel. Once it has a chance to air out it has an enjoyable array of notes but not to complex. Gold and copper tones with a nice body. Taste, again initially intense with agave, vegetable notes, vanilla, caramel, oak and then it mellows out. Long finish with nice oak in the pallet.
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
91
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
92
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
89
Reviewed by jagghb April 09, 2014
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

Hard to find

This was one of the hard tequilas to find, very exited on a trip to CA when I saw a bottle, had to buy it. Intense aroma at first, raw agave, vanilla, caramel. Once it has a chance to air out it has an enjoyable array of notes but not to complex. Gold and copper tones with a nice body. Taste, again initially intense with agave, vegetable notes, vanilla, caramel, oak and then it mellows out. Long finish with nice oak in the pallet.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Aroma: Whacks you in the face with wood, caramel, grapefruit, and agave.
Initial taste: Sweet and inviting.
Body: Wood, vanilla, fruit, and agave.
Finish: Long finish with wonderful complexity. Wood gives way to agave that gives way to vanilla, then fruit, then spice, and so on. You can sit there for five minutes just reflecting on all the flavors before you remind yourself that there's more in the glass (if you're lucky!).

Hefty price tag, but fantastic.
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
94
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
97
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by JungleLarry August 23, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (39)

Aroma: Whacks you in the face with wood, caramel, grapefruit, and agave.
Initial taste: Sweet and inviting.
Body: Wood, vanilla, fruit, and agave.
Finish: Long finish with wonderful complexity. Wood gives way to agave that gives way to vanilla, then fruit, then spice, and so on. You can sit there for five minutes just reflecting on all the flavors before you remind yourself that there's more in the glass (if you're lucky!).

Hefty price tag, but fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Tasted out of a shot glass. Not my favorite way to taste, but it was a very pleasant experience nonetheless. This extra anejo is simply amazing. Very complex yet not overbearing. If I could afford this one on a regular basis, I would definitely stock this one all the time. It's that simple!

Aroma: A bold nose of vanilla, fruit, and agave.
Initial Taste: A sweet entry, a thin mouth feel , with no bitterness.
Body: A bold body that retained plenty of agave through the aging. With strong compliments of vanilla, fruit, and smoke.
Finish: A smooth finish if not on of the smoothest I've experienced. With a great 'Chinaco' lingering.
Overall rating 
 
97
Aroma-Nose 
 
97
Initial Taste 
 
97
Body 
 
97
Finish 
 
97
Enjoyability 
 
97
Price 
 
93
Presentation 
 
93
Reviewed by Piña July 13, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (257)

Tasted out of a shot glass. Not my favorite way to taste, but it was a very pleasant experience nonetheless. This extra anejo is simply amazing. Very complex yet not overbearing. If I could afford this one on a regular basis, I would definitely stock this one all the time. It's that simple!

Aroma: A bold nose of vanilla, fruit, and agave.
Initial Taste: A sweet entry, a thin mouth feel , with no bitterness.
Body: A bold body that retained plenty of agave through the aging. With strong compliments of vanilla, fruit, and smoke.
Finish: A smooth finish if not on of the smoothest I've experienced. With a great 'Chinaco' lingering.

Was this review helpful to you? 
After searching for this tequila for some time, I finally came across it at the Pink Taco restaurant in Los Angeles. They charged $50, and I still think it was worth it. This tequila is amazing! Bold, strong, and intense flavors; yet still light and sweet with a smooth finish. If you are lucky enough to find a bottle of this, snatch it up. It's sure to be the gem of your collection.
Overall rating 
 
96
Aroma-Nose 
 
97
Initial Taste 
 
97
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
97
Enjoyability 
 
97
Price 
 
93
Presentation 
 
93
Reviewed by tvJefe August 20, 2007
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (37)

After searching for this tequila for some time, I finally came across it at the Pink Taco restaurant in Los Angeles. They charged $50, and I still think it was worth it. This tequila is amazing! Bold, strong, and intense flavors; yet still light and sweet with a smooth finish. If you are lucky enough to find a bottle of this, snatch it up. It's sure to be the gem of your collection.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Chinaco Negro Extra Aged Anejo Lot #15 NOM 1127 Tasted 1/12/07. This tequila was probably the hardest to rate of any tequila and had the strongest nose that I have ever encountered in a tequila. The tequila is a yellow golden color and has an intense floral aroma. Once you get past the intensity of the nose, you can smell moderate notes of vanilla, caramel, and fruit. On the tip of the tongue the tequila is mellow and soft but yet has a strong intensity of taste and feels heavy and oily in the mouth. While the tequila has a medium to low bitterness, it is actually fairly sweet. Now onto flavor. The flavor has intense to moderate agave, earth, and floral attributes which are followed by moderate spice and mild vanilla and caramel. The tequilas finish is an extremely long duration of flavor followed by a very numbing alcohol feeling. Overall, I rated this tequila at the A/A+ level and would definitely recommend that everyone try this masterpiece.

Overall rating 
 
96
Aroma-Nose 
 
97
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
97
Finish 
 
99
Enjoyability 
 
94
Price 
 
98
Presentation 
 
96
Reviewed by Tequila Joe May 27, 2007
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (148)

Chinaco Negro Extra Aged Anejo Lot #15 NOM 1127 Tasted 1/12/07. This tequila was probably the hardest to rate of any tequila and had the strongest nose that I have ever encountered in a tequila. The tequila is a yellow golden color and has an intense floral aroma. Once you get past the intensity of the nose, you can smell moderate notes of vanilla, caramel, and fruit. On the tip of the tongue the tequila is mellow and soft but yet has a strong intensity of taste and feels heavy and oily in the mouth. While the tequila has a medium to low bitterness, it is actually fairly sweet. Now onto flavor. The flavor has intense to moderate agave, earth, and floral attributes which are followed by moderate spice and mild vanilla and caramel. The tequilas finish is an extremely long duration of flavor followed by a very numbing alcohol feeling. Overall, I rated this tequila at the A/A+ level and would definitely recommend that everyone try this masterpiece.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
View all user reviews