Corzo Tequila Anejo http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/a4/dc/20/341_corzo_anejo_tequila_1176538468.jpg Hot

Submitted by Don Ricardo de Hawaii     April 08, 2007    
 
0
 
91 (13)
43256   0   2   0   25
13 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
96
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
99
Reviewed by tmou July 07, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (34)

This is an underrated top-shelf tequila. A quietly forward sweet/spicy sour/fresh floral nose. Taste has light sweetnesses beneath a very tasty agave. Soft vanillas and caramels remain on the tongue long after a terrific peppery finish and after-heat. This is when you realize you're drinking a beautiful thing. This anejo is subtle and complex, something you may initially want to discard as being too undefined or too not-enough. But it's a surprise. This is a tequila to sip and ponder on, as the nuances make themselves more and more apparent with every pour. The bottle's curious monolith design turns out to be a perfect representation of what's inside. This is an excellent tequila.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by victorg January 23, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (10)

Until I tasted this Tequila I was not a big fan of Anejo's in general but I am now convinced when made correctly they can out perform all others. Amazingly smooth. Taste and aroma were very enjoyable and at the price paid I compare it to other Tequila's i've paid 3 times as much for... The dark glass bottle adds character as if this product needs it. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
85
Aroma-Nose 
 
84
Initial Taste 
 
82
Body 
 
84
Finish 
 
88
Enjoyability 
 
86
Price 
 
83
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by SpiderX March 18, 2011
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

A solid Tequila but without anything special except the presentation. The initial taste quality but that is followed by a very nice finish that is much better than average. I do tend to keep a bottle of this around for friends who enjoy a good tequila and like something not far off the beaten path.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
87
Aroma-Nose 
 
85
Initial Taste 
 
85
Body 
 
85
Finish 
 
85
Enjoyability 
 
94
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
94
Reviewed by sdnerf February 22, 2010
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (53)

Bought 1/21/10 $55, sampled out of a 2 oz shoot glass. To me this is a tequila I'll give to a newby, but nothing i'd serve to impress. It has a bit of an identity crisis for an anejo. It is very smooth but there are no risks taken with regard to taste. It is more like a reposado. Nice bottle, but I cant say i'll buy it again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
97
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
97
Presentation 
 
100
Reviewed by AdamMathew February 07, 2010
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (12)

Corzo Añejo is a fantastic Tequila that has great flavor and a wonderful finish. I drank this out of a cognac snifter, and enjoyed the bottle over the corse of 2 weeks.
I found the immediate nose to be floral with a hint of alcohol burn. The burn was very pleasant and I had the inspired thought that sometimes a little burn is good. If something is to smooth or to harsh, that can get a little boring. But, this tequila had a complex nose and I enjoy it before I even began the drinking of it.
Once, I took a sip, i rolled it with my tongue and breathed little bubbles of air into my mouth( for a bit of "decanting").
Epic! The first flavor that hit me was a calm presentation of Agave. Sweet, and sunshine bathed Agave, filled my pallet and then began to swoon into the dynamic flavors that were there, within the experience.
Cactus, earth and a bit of zest were found in its finish.
Over all, this tequila is amazing for the price point. With a well defined drinking experience, and fantastic bottle presentation, Corzo shines in a market blown apart by a price war.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
87
Aroma-Nose 
 
88
Initial Taste 
 
89
Body 
 
78
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
89
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
88
Reviewed by MightyMouse January 26, 2010
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Unlike others here, I paid a little less--I think 44$. The color is a light straw, reminding me of an oaked white wine color, like a chardonay. The aroma smells to me like a really good cognac, but still some intense alcohol on the nose. Initial taste has a bit of sweetness, smooth mouthfeel, and a pretty good woody and agave finish...even a little buttery if I wait for the bit of numbing to pass.

Personally, I think for the $, Milagro's anejo is a better QPR buy...but it's a bit sweeter too, so I suppose that's my slant. I don't like super sweet, but the Milagro is just so lovely for slow sipping.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
79
Aroma-Nose 
 
80
Initial Taste 
 
85
Body 
 
75
Finish 
 
85
Enjoyability 
 
70
Price 
 
60
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by b9036830 November 04, 2009
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

i expected more. but an excellent tequila. presentation was state of the art. price was reasonable. i prefer silver tequilas but this anejo was very good. would definitely purchase again. not sure about the blending of science and tradition. but overall an excellent tequila.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
94
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
92
Price 
 
94
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by drawnad March 31, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (52)

I bought this in Indiana for around $57 I believe. Good value at that price. I love this bottle - very cool. The cork doesn't feel very tight, but it's definitely a sharp looking bottle and looks sweet in the collection... and of course that means nothing without great taste, and this has that as well. In all honesty I was a slight bit disappointed with this after reading the reviews, but that's not to say this isn't excellent. Mostly I just wished it had a touch more agave presence, and was a little smoother. Just about anyone who appreciates fine spirits will enjoy this, but IMHO it is a little lacking for a fine anejo. I reviewed Trago's anejo recently and that may have tainted my review of this because I believe it is a bit better for a tequila in the same price range. The aroma is very nice - carmel, a hint of oak, floral, and butter all of which are present in the body. Initial flavor is nice, decent finish. Overall, this is a very good tequila, in the upper echelon of anejos, but not among my very top favorites I don't think, although I could easily see some people loving it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
91
Initial Taste 
 
89
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
92
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
89
Reviewed by Piña November 28, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (257)

Tasted on 11/28/08 out of a snifter at home. THis is a very decent anejo. A nice complex body that is not to hard to identify. One of the best finishes Ive ever haed too.

Aroma: Mostly floral and caramel.
Initial Taste: A semi oily mouth feel, upon entry it's sweet with a mild bitterness, this is why it got a lower score on initial taste. First taste was floral and agave.
Body: A strong presence of agave, floral, with hints of wood and spice. Pretty cool!
Finish: A semi heated finish of long duration with a lingering of caramel and floral.

The presentation, while very 'ultra modern' is also pretty simple and seems unthought out. As always, just my humble opinion.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
96
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
98
Enjoyability 
 
97
Price 
 
94
Presentation 
 
97
Reviewed by rodgertm November 04, 2007
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (3)

Corzo Anejo, is one of my favourite Tequila surprises. I encountered it by recommendation of a bar tender in San Antonio, Texas. I told him I had Patron Anejo & 4 Copas Anejo in my own bar at home in Canada, what would he recommend. Yellow in colour, fruit and vanilla and so smooth. No Metallic or Chemical taste found in some Tequilas'. Very modern bottle, square with offset top.
Now how can I get a bottle in Canada!

Was this review helpful to you? 
13 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2  
Ordering