Anejos 1921 Tequila Anejo

1921 Tequila Anejo http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/89/62/5b/1275_tequila-1921-anejo_1319914485.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     November 12, 2009    
 
0
 
92 (4)
22643   0   2   0   16
 

Tequila Review

Brand
1921
NOM
Oven Type
Extraction Method
Distillation Method
Distillation
Barrel - Cask
Alcohol Volume
Price Category
Facebook Page
Twitter Page

1921 Tequila Anejo

1921 Tequila Añejo is produced with 100% Blue Weber estate grown Agave, double distilled in stainless steel pot stills containing copper coils.  It is aged for a minimum of 12 months in new American Oak Barrels bearing a medium char.

1921 Tequila undergoes a careful production process in a state-of-the-art facility using premium quality 100% Blue Weber Agave.  Cultivated in the red soils of the highlands region of Jalisco, estate grown agave is given great care and nourishment, encouraging optimal growth and ideal sugar concentration levels that are confirmed via routine independent lab tests.  Mature harvested piñas endure a 72 hour slow-cooking process consisting of a 24 hour continuous cooking period, 24 hour resting period and finally a 24 hour cooling period with the oven doors open.  Fermentation and distillation occur under carefully supervised and temperature controlled conditions.  Each bottle is wax sealed manually, to prevent leakage and premature oxidation.  An elegant label and bottle presentation adorned with a hand-painted clay medallion is symbolic of Mexico’s rich history and most valued traditions.  The number "1921" represents the concluding year of the Mexican Revolution.  1921 products are available in Mexico, the USA,  Canada, China, and several European markets.

Photos by Tequila.net

User reviews

Average user rating from: 4 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
92  (4)
Initial Taste 
 
92  (4)
Body 
 
92  (4)
Finish 
 
93  (4)
Enjoyability 
 
93  (4)
Price 
 
92  (4)
Presentation 
 
95  (4)
My brother bought me this 1921 Añejo in the Mexican border town of Progresso, Tamaulipas circa June 2012. I finally got the nerve to break the wax-seal (ala Maker's Mark bourbon) and open it up recently. The aroma is vanilla-sweet; has me thinking whiskey barrels? Topped off with a less discernable but pleasing agave smell, which makes for a very inviting tequila. The color and consistency seem lighter than many other añejos. It is sweet on the entry, but complex through the finish, with agave, charred oak, and spice lingering along with some alcohol potency. I noticed that a few seconds after tasting, there were still some good quality flavors hanging around...definitley an añejo with character. I recommend trying this sipper.
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
91
Presentation 
 
94
Reviewed by coupe October 22, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

My brother bought me this 1921 Añejo in the Mexican border town of Progresso, Tamaulipas circa June 2012. I finally got the nerve to break the wax-seal (ala Maker's Mark bourbon) and open it up recently. The aroma is vanilla-sweet; has me thinking whiskey barrels? Topped off with a less discernable but pleasing agave smell, which makes for a very inviting tequila. The color and consistency seem lighter than many other añejos. It is sweet on the entry, but complex through the finish, with agave, charred oak, and spice lingering along with some alcohol potency. I noticed that a few seconds after tasting, there were still some good quality flavors hanging around...definitley an añejo with character. I recommend trying this sipper.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Bought 2/10, paid $55. 1921 single barrel Anejo, NOM-1079, Mother of some excellent tequila's and my current favorite Herencia Mexicana Anejo. Presentation is classic with a wax sealed synthetic cork that works well. Sampled from a riedel glass neat. Color is straw, in the glass leaves fast legs and gathers to form small tears. Nose is subtle, fruity, agave/alcohol and oak, but nothing overwhelming. Not as complex as some but better than most. Medium mouth feel upon entry and very smooth on the way down. The finish has some heat that will flush to the roof of the mouth then an oak after taste settles in. Again, nothing overwhelming or distracting, less is more in this case. Overall a quality experience, but maybe forgettable sooner than later. 89 points overall for the tequila, price and presentation are outside factors. IMHO, for a few $ more you can enjoy their Herencia Mexicana thats more complex, interesting and has a wow factor not found with 1921.
Overall rating 
 
89
Aroma-Nose 
 
89
Initial Taste 
 
89
Body 
 
89
Finish 
 
89
Enjoyability 
 
89
Price 
 
89
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by sdnerf June 09, 2010
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (53)

Bought 2/10, paid $55. 1921 single barrel Anejo, NOM-1079, Mother of some excellent tequila's and my current favorite Herencia Mexicana Anejo. Presentation is classic with a wax sealed synthetic cork that works well. Sampled from a riedel glass neat. Color is straw, in the glass leaves fast legs and gathers to form small tears. Nose is subtle, fruity, agave/alcohol and oak, but nothing overwhelming. Not as complex as some but better than most. Medium mouth feel upon entry and very smooth on the way down. The finish has some heat that will flush to the roof of the mouth then an oak after taste settles in. Again, nothing overwhelming or distracting, less is more in this case. Overall a quality experience, but maybe forgettable sooner than later. 89 points overall for the tequila, price and presentation are outside factors. IMHO, for a few $ more you can enjoy their Herencia Mexicana thats more complex, interesting and has a wow factor not found with 1921.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Bought 1/12/10 paid, $43 online. Bottle is "old school" looking, corked. Sampled from a 6 oz shot glass, neat. Color is straw, leaves lots of legs. Subtle nose, agave only, medium mouth feel, very smooth on the way down, semi heated finish that lingers after an oz or two, the best aspect IMHO. Nothing to complain about, but not too exciting either. Lacks the subtleties that make a good agave a great agave yet has many fine qualities. I would buy again, because it is a quality product priced right.
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by sdnerf April 07, 2010
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (53)

Bought 1/12/10 paid, $43 online. Bottle is "old school" looking, corked. Sampled from a 6 oz shot glass, neat. Color is straw, leaves lots of legs. Subtle nose, agave only, medium mouth feel, very smooth on the way down, semi heated finish that lingers after an oz or two, the best aspect IMHO. Nothing to complain about, but not too exciting either. Lacks the subtleties that make a good agave a great agave yet has many fine qualities. I would buy again, because it is a quality product priced right.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Medium scent and flavor of agave. Lacking the oak flavor of the Reserva reposado. I have no complaints though, no burn just an even agave flavor all the way through
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
94
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by jasonrm72 March 25, 2010
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (25)

Medium scent and flavor of agave. Lacking the oak flavor of the Reserva reposado. I have no complaints though, no burn just an even agave flavor all the way through

Was this review helpful to you?