Reposados Penca Azul Tequila Reposado

Penca Azul Tequila Reposado http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/c0/fb/d0/224_penca_azul_reposado_tequila_1176523370.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     March 01, 2007    
 
89
 
94 (6)
19625   0   1   0   1
 

Tequila Review

Brand
Penca Azul
NOM
Agave Region
Oven Type
Extraction Method
Distillation Method
Distillation
Alcohol Volume
Price Category

Penca Azul Tequila Reposado

Tequila Penca Azul is the masterpiece of four generations of the Ruiz Family of Mexico. It is the result of 100 years of experience in the art of making fine tequila. Penca Azul is made from the Blue Agave plants, a noble plant that grows mainly in the valley of Tequila and Los Altos region (highlands) in the state of Jalisco. The plants, when ripened, are cooked in brick ovens, fermented naturally and doubled distilled. Finally it is rested in our collection of fine oak barrels for 6 months to achieve a smooth product that will reflect the true balance between Agave and wood spices. This is done in small batch production so that every detail can be supervised to deliver the premium quality of Penca Azul.

Destiny and luck brought together Penca Azul with the magic of one of the finest "maestros" in the craft of mouth-blown glass in Mexico. With a tradition of three generations in this art and with more than 30 years of experience, Hipolito Gutierrez put his creativity to work designing and producing a bottle that in its execution can be called a work of art. Since it possesses that sublime mixture of simplicity and refinement. A bottle that can be identified as an excellent piece in glass judged by its pureness and shine.

Editor review

A clear, yellow amber colored spirit with light body, herbal nose with mild oak and caramel. Fruity agave initial taste, turning warm with sweeter fruit and spices. Finishes hot and sweet, and a long pleasant aftertaste.
89
Very Good
Recommended.
Overall rating 
 
89
Aroma-Nose 
 
87
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
91
Finish 
 
89
Enjoyability 
 
87
Price 
 
83
Presentation 
 
94
Reviewed by Tequila.net April 15, 2007
Last updated: April 15, 2007
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (186)

A clear, yellow amber colored spirit with light body, herbal nose with mild oak and caramel. Fruity agave initial taste, turning warm with sweeter fruit and spices. Finishes hot and sweet, and a long pleasant aftertaste.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews View all user reviews

Average user rating from: 6 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
94  (6)
Initial Taste 
 
95  (6)
Body 
 
93  (6)
Finish 
 
94  (6)
Enjoyability 
 
96  (6)
Price 
 
89  (6)
Presentation 
 
95  (6)
After spending some time drinking some lower quality tequilas, I was glad to pour myself a glass of Penca Azul. Right from the nose, you can tell the quality that goes into making a craft tequila like this.

Aroma: A big time nose of cooked agave, vanilla, cinnamon and a hint of earth to round it out.
Initial Taste: A sweet cooked agave entry with vanilla and strong notes of baking spices. The nose didn't lie...
Body: Very agave forward in a medium-thick body. Nice oils that allow it to coat and you can taste all of the flavors of oak, agave, vanilla, pepper, cinnamon, earth and anise. Very complex, but the flavors don't battle for top billing.
Finish: The oak and anise come forward a bit more and the spice comes more from the pepper than the cinnamon. The linger is really nice and you taste different flavors as you wait once the drink is finished.


This is a really complex reposado. It goes from sweet and spicy with baking spices to bold and peppery at the end. It's like a good 3 part essay with a beginning, a middle and an end. The complexity works in complimentary ways and delivers a well crafted and delicious tequila. The bottle is beautiful and and the price is steep, but both are to be expected with a juice this good. If you can still find this on the shelves, I'd definitely recommend picking it up.
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
98
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist September 19, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (399)

After spending some time drinking some lower quality tequilas, I was glad to pour myself a glass of Penca Azul. Right from the nose, you can tell the quality that goes into making a craft tequila like this.

Aroma: A big time nose of cooked agave, vanilla, cinnamon and a hint of earth to round it out.
Initial Taste: A sweet cooked agave entry with vanilla and strong notes of baking spices. The nose didn't lie...
Body: Very agave forward in a medium-thick body. Nice oils that allow it to coat and you can taste all of the flavors of oak, agave, vanilla, pepper, cinnamon, earth and anise. Very complex, but the flavors don't battle for top billing.
Finish: The oak and anise come forward a bit more and the spice comes more from the pepper than the cinnamon. The linger is really nice and you taste different flavors as you wait once the drink is finished.


This is a really complex reposado. It goes from sweet and spicy with baking spices to bold and peppery at the end. It's like a good 3 part essay with a beginning, a middle and an end. The complexity works in complimentary ways and delivers a well crafted and delicious tequila. The bottle is beautiful and and the price is steep, but both are to be expected with a juice this good. If you can still find this on the shelves, I'd definitely recommend picking it up.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Penca Azul was available in TX long enough for me to enjoy it and I'm grateful for the opportunity. In a word AMAZING! Not only due to taste but this Tequila makes you feel euphoric and is the most rewarding Tequila I've experienced to date. Enjoy!
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
98
Price 
 
80
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by victorg January 25, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (10)

Penca Azul was available in TX long enough for me to enjoy it and I'm grateful for the opportunity. In a word AMAZING! Not only due to taste but this Tequila makes you feel euphoric and is the most rewarding Tequila I've experienced to date. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Tasted out of a shot glass. Not my preferred way to taste a tequila. But it is what it is. This reposado is definitely one great reposado. Very bold and earthy, just what I expect from Penca Azul. The Penca Azul line is solid and consistent. HIghly recommended.

Aroma: A very bold and earthy nose with hints of slight fruit and cinnamon.
Initial Taste: A semi oily mouth feel, a sweet entry with no bitterness. Initial Taste of cinnamon.
Body: A bold earthy agave body with hints of slight vanilla and cinnamon.
Finish: A nicely heated finish of medium duration with an earthy vanilla lingering.
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
94
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
96
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
93
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by Piña July 13, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (257)

Tasted out of a shot glass. Not my preferred way to taste a tequila. But it is what it is. This reposado is definitely one great reposado. Very bold and earthy, just what I expect from Penca Azul. The Penca Azul line is solid and consistent. HIghly recommended.

Aroma: A very bold and earthy nose with hints of slight fruit and cinnamon.
Initial Taste: A semi oily mouth feel, a sweet entry with no bitterness. Initial Taste of cinnamon.
Body: A bold earthy agave body with hints of slight vanilla and cinnamon.
Finish: A nicely heated finish of medium duration with an earthy vanilla lingering.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is one of my favorite reposados and one that I keep in the house at all times. It is light, sweet, and smooth with notes of vanilla and cinnamon. A great "everyday" sipping tequila. Although a bit expensive at $100/750ml, I don't really expect to pay less for a good sipping tequila. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys a reposado that retains the flavor of agave while adding a slight, sweet complexity.
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
97
Reviewed by tvJefe August 14, 2007
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (37)

This is one of my favorite reposados and one that I keep in the house at all times. It is light, sweet, and smooth with notes of vanilla and cinnamon. A great "everyday" sipping tequila. Although a bit expensive at $100/750ml, I don't really expect to pay less for a good sipping tequila. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys a reposado that retains the flavor of agave while adding a slight, sweet complexity.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Nice tequila.
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
89
Finish 
 
91
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
85
Presentation 
 
89
Reviewed by anejospirit May 20, 2007
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (14)

Nice tequila.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
View all user reviews