Extra Anejos El Gran Jubileo Tequila Extra Anejo

El Gran Jubileo Tequila Extra Anejo http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/4f/74/f0/840_el-gran-jubileo-tequila-extra-anejo2_1266722691.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     March 12, 2008    
 
92
 
92 (5)
21327   0   2   0   12
 

Tequila Review

Brand
El Gran Jubileo
NOM
Agave Region
Oven Type
Distillation
Barrel - Cask
Alcohol Volume
Price Category
Tasting Awards
2010 TEQUILA.net Awards - Bronze Medal 2008 Agave Spirits Challenge Top Agave Spirit, Platinum Medal & Judge Favorite
2010 Bronze Medal

Tequila El Gran Jubileo Extra Anejo

Tequila El Gran Jubileo Extra Añejo - Seleccion Suprema is triple distilled, 100% Agave, and aged in new American white oak barrels for over 5 years. It is produced in the town of Tequila, Jalisco, Mexico, at Union de Productores de Agave, a small family owned distillery that has been producing El Gran Jubileo Tequila since 1999.

The brand El Gran Jubileo was created to celebrate the year 2000, and translates to The Great Jubilee or The Great Celebration. Only the best Agaves are selected for El Gran Jubileo, and produced using an unhurried, methodical process to create the ultimate Tequila.

Editor review

El Gran Jubileo Extra Anejo * Tasted February 2010 * Riedel Tequila Glass

Appearance: golden amber - thick body and slow tears
Aroma: light grass and oak, with hints of caramel and vanilla
Initial Taste: agave, sweet orange, light wood and chocolate
Spirit Body: warm buttery agave and caramel
Finish / Aftertaste: warm finish of oak and chocolate, and medium length mint and caramel aftertaste

El Gran Jubileo Extra Anejo is an excellent 5 year aged Tequila for the price!
92
Excellent
Highly Recommended
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
91
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
86
Reviewed by Tequila.net February 28, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (186)

El Gran Jubileo Extra Anejo * Tasted February 2010 * Riedel Tequila Glass

Appearance: golden amber - thick body and slow tears
Aroma: light grass and oak, with hints of caramel and vanilla
Initial Taste: agave, sweet orange, light wood and chocolate
Spirit Body: warm buttery agave and caramel
Finish / Aftertaste: warm finish of oak and chocolate, and medium length mint and caramel aftertaste

El Gran Jubileo Extra Anejo is an excellent 5 year aged Tequila for the price!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 5 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
90  (5)
Initial Taste 
 
93  (5)
Body 
 
90  (5)
Finish 
 
92  (5)
Enjoyability 
 
92  (5)
Price 
 
92  (5)
Presentation 
 
93  (5)
Nothing too special, I expected more for the cost.
Overall rating 
 
81
Aroma-Nose 
 
82
Initial Taste 
 
85
Body 
 
79
Finish 
 
83
Enjoyability 
 
77
Price 
 
76
Presentation 
 
85
Reviewed by Ereed October 30, 2010
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (11)

Nothing too special, I expected more for the cost.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Great golden color with a hint of wood taste. Good tears and body. buttery caramel flavor with a hint of sweetness. One can see and taste this tequila has been aged for 5 years plus! As to price, you would be hard pressed to find any other as good for twice the price. All my friends became believers after they were introduced to this fine anejo when I served it to them. This is a keeper not to be missed.
Overall rating 
 
97
Aroma-Nose 
 
96
Initial Taste 
 
98
Body 
 
96
Finish 
 
97
Enjoyability 
 
98
Price 
 
100
Presentation 
 
96
Reviewed by AnejoAficitionado July 06, 2010
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

Great golden color with a hint of wood taste. Good tears and body. buttery caramel flavor with a hint of sweetness. One can see and taste this tequila has been aged for 5 years plus! As to price, you would be hard pressed to find any other as good for twice the price. All my friends became believers after they were introduced to this fine anejo when I served it to them. This is a keeper not to be missed.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I've now had an opportunity try the Anejo, and very much enjoy it. This finely crafted spirit has a nice, sweet, not overpowering aroma. This is a very smooth tequila - with fuller body, but finishes very nicely. Priced much less than comparable tasting tequilas. Very Nice!!
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
96
Enjoyability 
 
97
Price 
 
97
Presentation 
 
92
Reviewed by parkerwm February 18, 2010
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

I've now had an opportunity try the Anejo, and very much enjoy it. This finely crafted spirit has a nice, sweet, not overpowering aroma. This is a very smooth tequila - with fuller body, but finishes very nicely. Priced much less than comparable tasting tequilas. Very Nice!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I have had the opportunity to taste this tequila several times throughout my tequila life. This is one of the tequilas that has remained constant whilst my tastebuds have changed. I find the aroma/nose of this tequila to be very sweet. This can be viewed as a positive or a negative. The initial taste is very smooth. The entry follows the aroma, sweet and smooth. I don't sense alot of agave or wood. The finish is very heavy, much like maple syrup. The price point and the presentation are excellent on this product. Bottom line, while it's not my favorite, it's a great introductory tequila. It's 100% Agave and would be popular with new tequila drinkers.
Overall rating 
 
89
Aroma-Nose 
 
80
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
89
Finish 
 
85
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by CaliTequilaSipperGirl January 27, 2009
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

I have had the opportunity to taste this tequila several times throughout my tequila life. This is one of the tequilas that has remained constant whilst my tastebuds have changed. I find the aroma/nose of this tequila to be very sweet. This can be viewed as a positive or a negative. The initial taste is very smooth. The entry follows the aroma, sweet and smooth. I don't sense alot of agave or wood. The finish is very heavy, much like maple syrup. The price point and the presentation are excellent on this product. Bottom line, while it's not my favorite, it's a great introductory tequila. It's 100% Agave and would be popular with new tequila drinkers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
The sophistication and depth of a fine cognac or barrel aged whiskey meets Tequila. Great nose with hints of vanilla and butterscotch. Initial taste also sings vanilla and caramel with a finish that keeps giving. Classic refreshing "artichoke heart" on the final finish.
Overall rating 
 
97
Aroma-Nose 
 
96
Initial Taste 
 
98
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
99
Enjoyability 
 
97
Price 
 
93
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by markmonaco2 March 18, 2008
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

The sophistication and depth of a fine cognac or barrel aged whiskey meets Tequila. Great nose with hints of vanilla and butterscotch. Initial taste also sings vanilla and caramel with a finish that keeps giving. Classic refreshing "artichoke heart" on the final finish.

Was this review helpful to you?