Blancos KAH Tequila Blanco

KAH Tequila Blanco http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/1f/4c/c7/1526_KAH-tequila-blanco_1293568359.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     December 28, 2010    
 
91
 
91 (9)
32927   0   3   0   13
 

Tequila Review

Brand
KAH
NOM
Agave Region
Extraction Method
Distillation Method
Alcohol Volume
Price Category

KAH Tequila Blanco

KAH Tequila Blanco contains intense sweet notes of the cooked agave, followed by a spicy white peppery punch. It is silky and delicate, leaving a sachet of spices on the palate.

The KAH Tequila Blanco bottle was inspired by traditional Calaveras (skulls made from sugar) which are used in Day of the Dead rituals to symbolize death and rebirth. Sugar skulls are given to family still living and they are invited to "eat their own death", to acknowledge the belief that death is nothing but the passing from this life into the next. Bolivians celebrate their version of the Day of the Dead by keeping the skulls of their loved ones, calling it the "Day of the Skulls". These decaying heads are brought out each year on November 8th and taken to the cemetery where Bolivians feed them, give them cigarettes and Tequila. Keeping and entertaining the skulls of their deceased is seen as a way for the dead to be immortalized. They believe the skulls of their ancestors protect the living by warding off evil spirits.

KAH Tequila was designed to pay reverence and honor to Mexico and its people. Its bottle and spirit are reflective of Day of the Dead, the 3,000 year-old Meso-American ritual honoring deceased loved ones. KAH's unique packaging, in turn, is inspired by traditional Calaveras used in Dia de los Muertos rituals to symbolize death and rebirth. The word KAH translates to "life" in the ancient Mayan language. Every bottle is an individual, hand-crafted work of art, not two bottles are the same. While the bottle captures that enduring spirit, so does the Tequila inside, as KAH's distillers transform hand-selected 100% Blue agave into lively Blanco, Reposado and Añejo varieties that are both certified organic and Kosher.

Photos by TEQUILA.net

Editor review

Kah Tequila Blanco * Tasted March 2011 * Riedel Tequila Glass

Appearance: clear - medium tears
Aroma: crisp agave and grass, hints of lemon and olive
Initial Taste: sweet agave
Spirit Body: agave with black pepper (heated)
Finish / Aftertaste: sweet spiced agave finish, sweet minty grape aftertaste

The bottle alone is enough to drive sales, but the juice is just as impressive.
91
Excellent
Highly Recommended
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
91
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
96
Reviewed by Tequila.net April 01, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (186)

Kah Tequila Blanco * Tasted March 2011 * Riedel Tequila Glass

Appearance: clear - medium tears
Aroma: crisp agave and grass, hints of lemon and olive
Initial Taste: sweet agave
Spirit Body: agave with black pepper (heated)
Finish / Aftertaste: sweet spiced agave finish, sweet minty grape aftertaste

The bottle alone is enough to drive sales, but the juice is just as impressive.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews View all user reviews

Average user rating from: 9 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
89  (9)
Initial Taste 
 
91  (9)
Body 
 
89  (9)
Finish 
 
90  (9)
Enjoyability 
 
91  (9)
Price 
 
90  (9)
Presentation 
 
98  (9)
The bottle was what intrigued me. What's inside made me glad that I purchased this tequila. It has a great earthy taste to it. It's not too powerful of a taste which makes it a really interesting tequila. Great for mixing drinks.

Excellent lowlands tequila!
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
94
Presentation 
 
98
Reviewed by NathanDetroit December 08, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20)

Great taste / Great bottle

The bottle was what intrigued me. What's inside made me glad that I purchased this tequila. It has a great earthy taste to it. It's not too powerful of a taste which makes it a really interesting tequila. Great for mixing drinks.

Excellent lowlands tequila!

Kah
Was this review helpful to you? 
KAH Blanco is one of my favorite blancos. Sipped or mixed, you want to taste this tequila in your drinks. The sweetness is what got my attention initially, but the mild heat at the end of a sip is what kept my attention. Though a little pricey, it is well worth it, IMHO. I noticed mild tears in a Riedel glass. Would recommend it!
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
91
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
99
Reviewed by Metalbear August 05, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

More than just a skull

KAH Blanco is one of my favorite blancos. Sipped or mixed, you want to taste this tequila in your drinks. The sweetness is what got my attention initially, but the mild heat at the end of a sip is what kept my attention. Though a little pricey, it is well worth it, IMHO. I noticed mild tears in a Riedel glass. Would recommend it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Had a flight at Total Wine & More. Loved the blanco the most.

Fabulous presentation! Fun concept. Not only does the bottle look great, but the tequila is quite excellent.

Sweeter and rounder than I would have expected from a Lowlands blanco.

Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
91
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
88
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
92
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
98
Reviewed by TequilaChappy July 19, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

Had a flight at Total Wine & More. Loved the blanco the most.

Fabulous presentation! Fun concept. Not only does the bottle look great, but the tequila is quite excellent.

Sweeter and rounder than I would have expected from a Lowlands blanco.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I decided to buy one of the tiny 50ml bottles of the KAH Blanco before splurging on one of the larger bottles; even the small bottles are ohh-soo beautiful! Tasted neat out of a shot glass. Initial odor was VERY potent; reminded me of Patrón, only bolder and more earthy. The initial taste was very crisp and refined. There is agave, citrus, and grassy flavor there, so it's not "over-distilled" at all. The consistency is good, but the burn sets in quickly and sort of overpowered everything else for me. I would prefer this stuff in a mixed drink over sipping, but that doesn't mean it's not worth a try. I didn't get much out of the KAH blanco other than it has a nice strong agave taste with a big alcohol kick. I will move onto the reposado and añejo next.
Overall rating 
 
88
Aroma-Nose 
 
88
Initial Taste 
 
89
Body 
 
88
Finish 
 
87
Enjoyability 
 
88
Price 
 
86
Presentation 
 
99
Reviewed by coupe October 22, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

I decided to buy one of the tiny 50ml bottles of the KAH Blanco before splurging on one of the larger bottles; even the small bottles are ohh-soo beautiful! Tasted neat out of a shot glass. Initial odor was VERY potent; reminded me of Patrón, only bolder and more earthy. The initial taste was very crisp and refined. There is agave, citrus, and grassy flavor there, so it's not "over-distilled" at all. The consistency is good, but the burn sets in quickly and sort of overpowered everything else for me. I would prefer this stuff in a mixed drink over sipping, but that doesn't mean it's not worth a try. I didn't get much out of the KAH blanco other than it has a nice strong agave taste with a big alcohol kick. I will move onto the reposado and añejo next.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Tasted out of a riedel glass. Ive always preferred highlands tequila, but this lowlands tequila definitely stands out. I love its presentation, and I look forward to trying the rest of the line.

Aroma: A bold nose full of lowlands agave and earth.
Initial Taste: A intensely sweet entry. A thin mouth feel with no bitterness. Initial taste of agave.
Body: An excellent agave body, very bold and sweet, with hints of smoke and earth.
Finish: A nicely semi heated finish with a nice agave lingering.

Well done!
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
91
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
91
Enjoyability 
 
92
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
93
Reviewed by Piña August 29, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (257)

Tasted out of a riedel glass. Ive always preferred highlands tequila, but this lowlands tequila definitely stands out. I love its presentation, and I look forward to trying the rest of the line.

Aroma: A bold nose full of lowlands agave and earth.
Initial Taste: A intensely sweet entry. A thin mouth feel with no bitterness. Initial taste of agave.
Body: An excellent agave body, very bold and sweet, with hints of smoke and earth.
Finish: A nicely semi heated finish with a nice agave lingering.

Well done!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
View all user reviews