Blancos El Don de la Familia Tequila Plata

El Don de la Familia Tequila Plata http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/8d/de/8d/673_el_don_tequila_plata_1188678753.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     September 01, 2007    
 
92
 
95 (4)
25062   0   2   0   14
 

El Don de la Familia Tequila Plata

El Don Tequila Plata - Far away from the hustle and bustle of urban city life, lies a small town in the region of Los Altos de Jalisco, Mexico called Jamay, known for having one of the richest crimson soils in the Americas. El Don Tequila is cultivated using the finest ingredients; made from 100% pure Weber Blue Agave plants of the Lilly family. Agave’s natural sweet sugars and rich colors are aged in exclusive American white oak barrels from the finest amenities in modern laboratories. Tequila has a tradition steeped in mystery and is known as one of the oldest distilled spirits in the Americas.

El Don Tequila, competes with the finest liquors around the world in quality, presentation and price, by its carefully selected Agave Azul Tequiliana Weber plant. El Don Tequila’s first class Tequilas are made in 3 stages: Plata (silver), Reposado (rested), and Anjeo (aged).

Every bottle of El Don Tequila is hand bottled, individually numbered, and wax stamped. A brilliant stone is placed in the bottle to signify the riches of the Corazon of the agave. El Don Tequilas is a rare Tequila handmade in modest quantities, just enough to find its way to aficionados all over the world. The uniqueness that goes into creating El Don Tequila, results in an ultra premium distilled spirit with one of the lowest methanol contents of any spirit produced. This ultra-premium sipping Tequila is best served straight up, on the rocks, or used for a mojito instead of rum.

El Don now produces their own Organic Agave Nectar (2009), the perfect compliment to any El Don Tequila cocktail. -See photo on the right-

Editor review

El Don de la Familia is a clear and full bodied blanco, very unique in taste. The nose contains grass and cherry, with a hint of tobacco. A smooth initial taste with butter and nuts, turning fruity and heats up on the finish. Nice long aftertaste with agave and mild cherry.

Nice bottle design and wax sealed top. Label even contains a diamond agave pina.
92
Excellent
Highly Recommended
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
91
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
92
Reviewed by Tequila.net September 20, 2007
Last updated: December 19, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (186)

El Don de la Familia is a clear and full bodied blanco, very unique in taste. The nose contains grass and cherry, with a hint of tobacco. A smooth initial taste with butter and nuts, turning fruity and heats up on the finish. Nice long aftertaste with agave and mild cherry.

Nice bottle design and wax sealed top. Label even contains a diamond agave pina.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 4 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
96  (4)
Initial Taste 
 
94  (4)
Body 
 
95  (4)
Finish 
 
94  (4)
Enjoyability 
 
96  (4)
Price 
 
90  (4)
Presentation 
 
95  (4)
I tried El Don tequila at the Tilted Kilt in Phoenix, Arizona on Bell Rd. I ordered El Don on the rocks for a Tuesday special of 5 dollars. The initial aroma-nose I got was wonderful. Slightly fruity and very smooth. It had a very good flavor that really made me sip a little more often than I would sip tequila. One of the smoothest tequilas I have ever experienced. Would like to know where I could pick a bottle of this up at in Arizona.
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
96
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
96
Enjoyability 
 
97
Price 
 
91
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by dramusic February 02, 2010
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

I tried El Don tequila at the Tilted Kilt in Phoenix, Arizona on Bell Rd. I ordered El Don on the rocks for a Tuesday special of 5 dollars. The initial aroma-nose I got was wonderful. Slightly fruity and very smooth. It had a very good flavor that really made me sip a little more often than I would sip tequila. One of the smoothest tequilas I have ever experienced. Would like to know where I could pick a bottle of this up at in Arizona.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Tasted on March 09. I havent tried many blancos but this one blew me away.. Its smooth, you wont be disapointed.

My favorite Blanco.
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
87
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by Navarro April 24, 2009
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Tasted on March 09. I havent tried many blancos but this one blew me away.. Its smooth, you wont be disapointed.

My favorite Blanco.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Tasted on 10/15/08 out of a double ball glass. Purchased a bottle from Hi Time for $36.99. Wow! What a great blanco. I decided to purchase this bottle based on the reviews I read here, and boy I couldn't agree more. This is a great blanco. I'll say it again. This is a great blanco. This is quite possibly the 2nd highest score I have ever given a blanco. It has a lot of character from start to finish.

Aroma: A very present aroma of equal parts agave and fruit (namely pear)
Initial Taste: A semi oily mouth feel. Upon entry its sweet with no bitterness at all! id say first taste would be butter(?)
Body: Initial taste quickly evolves into a tasty body of agave with strong hints of citrus and earth. Really nicely balanced.
Finish: A semi heated finish of medium duration with a lingering flavor of fruit.

Really, just a great blanco. Good job El Don!
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by Piña October 15, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (257)

Tasted on 10/15/08 out of a double ball glass. Purchased a bottle from Hi Time for $36.99. Wow! What a great blanco. I decided to purchase this bottle based on the reviews I read here, and boy I couldn't agree more. This is a great blanco. I'll say it again. This is a great blanco. This is quite possibly the 2nd highest score I have ever given a blanco. It has a lot of character from start to finish.

Aroma: A very present aroma of equal parts agave and fruit (namely pear)
Initial Taste: A semi oily mouth feel. Upon entry its sweet with no bitterness at all! id say first taste would be butter(?)
Body: Initial taste quickly evolves into a tasty body of agave with strong hints of citrus and earth. Really nicely balanced.
Finish: A semi heated finish of medium duration with a lingering flavor of fruit.

Really, just a great blanco. Good job El Don!

Was this review helpful to you? 
El Don de la familia Tequila Plata. NOM 1534. Tasted in Riedel glass on 2/15/08. "The Boss" was purchased online from Hi-Time as it is not available in my area. Crystal clear in the glass, bright and colorless. This tequila is a real sleeper. Aroma/nose is incredible! One of the best. It's a full spectrum agave aroma, with everything you'd expect in a blanco and more. Very pleasing. The taste was an enjoyable experience from start to finish with its only setback being a slightly bitter aftertaste. This tequila comes closest to 4 Copas than any other blanco that I have tried. The taste is sweet green and vegetal with hints of fruit and citrus. It has a thin to mediun/light body and a balanced alcohol feel on the tongue. A straight forward deep agave flavor with lots of lasting heat on the finish. Because of its strong flavor it can make a great mixer but this tequila is a sipper for my money. There's lots of true to a blanco tequila flavor and aroma here to like. Definitely breaks into my top 5. The unique bottle design partly drew me to this tequila. The label could be better, but the embeded crystal and dripping wax seal are nice touches. A reasonable price point makes this a must try.
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
98
Initial Taste 
 
96
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
94
Reviewed by 1tequila2 February 18, 2008
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (36)

El Don de la familia Tequila Plata. NOM 1534. Tasted in Riedel glass on 2/15/08. "The Boss" was purchased online from Hi-Time as it is not available in my area. Crystal clear in the glass, bright and colorless. This tequila is a real sleeper. Aroma/nose is incredible! One of the best. It's a full spectrum agave aroma, with everything you'd expect in a blanco and more. Very pleasing. The taste was an enjoyable experience from start to finish with its only setback being a slightly bitter aftertaste. This tequila comes closest to 4 Copas than any other blanco that I have tried. The taste is sweet green and vegetal with hints of fruit and citrus. It has a thin to mediun/light body and a balanced alcohol feel on the tongue. A straight forward deep agave flavor with lots of lasting heat on the finish. Because of its strong flavor it can make a great mixer but this tequila is a sipper for my money. There's lots of true to a blanco tequila flavor and aroma here to like. Definitely breaks into my top 5. The unique bottle design partly drew me to this tequila. The label could be better, but the embeded crystal and dripping wax seal are nice touches. A reasonable price point makes this a must try.

Was this review helpful to you?