Blancos Cabo Wabo Tequila Blanco

Cabo Wabo Tequila Blanco http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/2e/7f/2b/231_Cabo_Wabo_Blanco_Tequila_1172885312.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     March 02, 2007    
 
0
 
86 (11)
28036   0   3   0   13
 

Tequila Review

Brand
Cabo Wabo
NOM
Oven Type
Extraction Method
Distillation
Alcohol Volume
Price Category
Celebrity Affiliation

Cabo Wabo Tequila Blanco

Cabo Wabo Blanco Tequila is double distilled and is bottled directly after distillation.

The Tequilana Weber Blue Agave plant is the core and essence of Cabo Wabo Tequila. Harvested between 8 and 12 years, the Agave is cooked in stone steam-heated ovens, and then smashed and ground to remove the Agave nectar. Fermentation follows and is completely natural, with no chemicals added. Cabo Wabo Tequila is then distilled twice to remove impurities and refine the aroma and alcohol content. Blanco Tequila goes straight to bottling, whereas Reposado Tequila is aged between 3 to 12 months, and the Anejo Tequila is aged from 1 to 5 years. The Tequila is bottled in unique, hand blown artisan glass bottles.

Brand History:
1996 - Cabo Wabo Tequila is started by legendary musician and Tequila aficionado, Sammy Hagar.

2007 - Sammy Hagar sells 80% of Cabo Wabo Tequila stake to Gruppo Compari / Skyy for $80 million.

2010 - Compari / Skyy agrees to pay $11 million for the remaining 20% of Cabo Wabo Tequila and obtains full ownership of the brand.

User reviews View all user reviews

Average user rating from: 11 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
86
Aroma-Nose 
 
87  (11)
Initial Taste 
 
86  (11)
Body 
 
85  (11)
Finish 
 
84  (11)
Enjoyability 
 
87  (11)
Price 
 
85  (11)
Presentation 
 
87  (11)
It was good but not great/terrible.
Overall rating 
 
79
Aroma-Nose 
 
85
Initial Taste 
 
85
Body 
 
80
Finish 
 
75
Enjoyability 
 
75
Price 
 
75
Presentation 
 
75
Reviewed by NathanDetroit September 14, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (22)

Not for me

It was good but not great/terrible.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I'm not going to beat around the agave bush here...this is one of my favorites and is always on hand at my house. As some have already mentioned, you can often judge a brand by their Blanco and this one is terrific. I stumbled onto it at a friends party one night. He had 1800, Patrón, and Cabo Wabo at his bar and I decided to compare all three...there really was no comparison. The Cabo was smoother, easier to drink, and more refined than the others by a long shot. I'll describe it as having a sweet, very mellow, light agave taste that finishes extremely well with an ever so slight burn and almost zero bitterness. Nowhere near as bold as something like Casa Noble Crystal, which is also on my shelf, but I do feel Cabo is one of the easiest to drink, whether as a shot or straight up neat. That's an accomplishment for a Blanco in this price range: I get it anywhere from $29.99 to $34.99. Cabo Wabo Blanco makes for an eye-opening alternative to the same old stuff everybody orders as "high end" at the bar.
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
99
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by coupe August 03, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

I'm not going to beat around the agave bush here...this is one of my favorites and is always on hand at my house. As some have already mentioned, you can often judge a brand by their Blanco and this one is terrific. I stumbled onto it at a friends party one night. He had 1800, Patrón, and Cabo Wabo at his bar and I decided to compare all three...there really was no comparison. The Cabo was smoother, easier to drink, and more refined than the others by a long shot. I'll describe it as having a sweet, very mellow, light agave taste that finishes extremely well with an ever so slight burn and almost zero bitterness. Nowhere near as bold as something like Casa Noble Crystal, which is also on my shelf, but I do feel Cabo is one of the easiest to drink, whether as a shot or straight up neat. That's an accomplishment for a Blanco in this price range: I get it anywhere from $29.99 to $34.99. Cabo Wabo Blanco makes for an eye-opening alternative to the same old stuff everybody orders as "high end" at the bar.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Got a nice deal on a 750ml bottle of Cabot Wabo Blanco for around $40, the initial aroma is a smooth hint of spice. Upon recommendation from a friend, I tried the Blanco chilled, took down the burn of the tequila, which even at room temp, was not too bad, and gave it more of a citrus-pine taste. The other benefit to serving Cabo Wabo Blanco chilled was it took away the after-burn. It's a decent tequila, wouldn't be my first choice in a Blanco, but I'm sure it good for mixing drinks and shooters and the price isn't terrible. Best Blanco I've had so far would still be the Don Julio Blanco.
Overall rating 
 
86
Aroma-Nose 
 
88
Initial Taste 
 
91
Body 
 
78
Finish 
 
78
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
84
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by soxTiLLiDiE14 August 05, 2011
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Got a nice deal on a 750ml bottle of Cabot Wabo Blanco for around $40, the initial aroma is a smooth hint of spice. Upon recommendation from a friend, I tried the Blanco chilled, took down the burn of the tequila, which even at room temp, was not too bad, and gave it more of a citrus-pine taste. The other benefit to serving Cabo Wabo Blanco chilled was it took away the after-burn. It's a decent tequila, wouldn't be my first choice in a Blanco, but I'm sure it good for mixing drinks and shooters and the price isn't terrible. Best Blanco I've had so far would still be the Don Julio Blanco.

Was this review helpful to you? 
The Sammy Hagar connection is for the man has a passion for all he does..The Cabo Wabo blanco has a nice flavor of agave when it hits the tip of your tongue. I did not notice any oily texture mixed in. No alcohol taste anywhere. Forget the connection to Rock&Roll if thats an issue. Give it a shot :0 chance. Priced well. Label/Bottle - nice "hint of old west" on the bar look.. Enjoy
Overall rating 
 
89
Aroma-Nose 
 
88
Initial Taste 
 
89
Body 
 
88
Finish 
 
85
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by D--- August 01, 2010
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

The Sammy Hagar connection is for the man has a passion for all he does..The Cabo Wabo blanco has a nice flavor of agave when it hits the tip of your tongue. I did not notice any oily texture mixed in. No alcohol taste anywhere. Forget the connection to Rock&Roll if thats an issue. Give it a shot :0 chance. Priced well. Label/Bottle - nice "hint of old west" on the bar look.. Enjoy

Was this review helpful to you? 
Tasted on 12/5/08 out of a snifter at home.I tried to taste this one several times in the hopes of coming up with a much nicer experience, but it just kept coming out mediocre. I think this one would be better served as a mixer rather than neat.

Aroma: A nose of alcohol and sweet floral.
Initial Taste: An oily mouth feel, upon entry its sweet with slight bitterness and slight alcohol burn. First taste is clove.
Body: A body of very subtle body of agave, with notes of smoke and earth.
Finish: An interesting 'nutty' finish, slightly heated of medium duration. The lingering taste was 'nutty'. A first for me.
Overall rating 
 
85
Aroma-Nose 
 
83
Initial Taste 
 
83
Body 
 
85
Finish 
 
87
Enjoyability 
 
85
Price 
 
85
Presentation 
 
84
Reviewed by Piña December 05, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (257)

Tasted on 12/5/08 out of a snifter at home.I tried to taste this one several times in the hopes of coming up with a much nicer experience, but it just kept coming out mediocre. I think this one would be better served as a mixer rather than neat.

Aroma: A nose of alcohol and sweet floral.
Initial Taste: An oily mouth feel, upon entry its sweet with slight bitterness and slight alcohol burn. First taste is clove.
Body: A body of very subtle body of agave, with notes of smoke and earth.
Finish: An interesting 'nutty' finish, slightly heated of medium duration. The lingering taste was 'nutty'. A first for me.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
View all user reviews