Anejos Peligroso Tequila Anejo

Peligroso Tequila Anejo http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/94/bc/4d/1496_peligroso-tequila-anejo_1287892368.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     October 23, 2010    
 
93
 
94 (4)
15425   0   1   0   21
 

Tequila Review

Brand
Peligroso
NOM
Oven Type
Distillation
Barrel - Cask
Alcohol Volume
Price Category
Tasting Awards
2011 TEQUILA.net Awards - "Best of the Best" Best High-Proof Tequila
2011 TEQUILA.net Awards - Best of the Best

Peligroso Tequila Anejo

Peligroso Tequila Anejo, 42% Alcohol Volume, 100% Blue Weber Agave Tequila, grown and harvested on a private estate in the Highlands of Jalisco, Mexico. Peligroso Anejo is aged in new american oak barrels for over one year.

Peligroso Tequila, which translates to dangerous, stands for everything about Mexico and its coveted spirit, Tequila.

Each Peligroso bottle is corked and numbered by hand, to certify it authenticity. The cork is a unique three-piece design made up of a natural cork stopper, real stained wood top and antiqued coin medallion.

Peligroso is the first brand to offer three separate types of glass to further distinguish the unique character of each type of Tequila. The Silver uses a crystal clear flint glass to reflect the purity of the juice. The Reposado uses a rustic finished glass to give more of an antiqued look to match the golden aged nature of the juice. Lastly, the Anejo is bottled in a sleek and mysterious satin black glass bottle that alludes to the complex layers and undertones of the long aged Tequila.

Photo by Tequila.net

Editor review

Peligroso Tequila Anejo * Tasted February 2011 * Riedel Tequila Glass

Appearance: medium straw - slow tears
Aroma: sweet agave, light oak with black pepper, raspberry and chocolate
Initial Taste: sweet agave
Spirit Body: grass and agave, light lemon and oak
Finish / Aftertaste: sweet berry and agave finish with chocolate - nut aftertaste

Peligroso is a great brand all around, well balanced with great aromas and flavors.
93
Excellent
Highly Recommended
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
94
Price 
 
93
Presentation 
 
93
Reviewed by Tequila.net April 01, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (186)

Peligroso Tequila Anejo * Tasted February 2011 * Riedel Tequila Glass

Appearance: medium straw - slow tears
Aroma: sweet agave, light oak with black pepper, raspberry and chocolate
Initial Taste: sweet agave
Spirit Body: grass and agave, light lemon and oak
Finish / Aftertaste: sweet berry and agave finish with chocolate - nut aftertaste

Peligroso is a great brand all around, well balanced with great aromas and flavors.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 4 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
93  (4)
Initial Taste 
 
94  (4)
Body 
 
93  (4)
Finish 
 
94  (4)
Enjoyability 
 
94  (4)
Price 
 
93  (4)
Presentation 
 
95  (4)
The colour is a light chardonnay, more repo than anejo. Nose is soft yet full: sweet agave, fruit, a little oak, and a touch of chocolate underneath it all. A delight. Great mouthfeel, with a surprisingly rich agave lustre after the soft colour and nose. This is a big and tasty tequila. Lots of agave, some citrus, black pepper, and a bit of light chocolate. Finish is a perfect agave spice and heat, with that very soft note of chocolate again. As it recedes, there's a never-ending after-finish of agave sweetness and tingle that has you torn between savouring it forever and wanting to immediately repeat the whole fantastic experience all over again. I've been waiting for this tequila. It's absolute dynamite.
Overall rating 
 
96
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
96
Body 
 
96
Finish 
 
97
Enjoyability 
 
97
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
97
Reviewed by tmou June 01, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (23)

The colour is a light chardonnay, more repo than anejo. Nose is soft yet full: sweet agave, fruit, a little oak, and a touch of chocolate underneath it all. A delight. Great mouthfeel, with a surprisingly rich agave lustre after the soft colour and nose. This is a big and tasty tequila. Lots of agave, some citrus, black pepper, and a bit of light chocolate. Finish is a perfect agave spice and heat, with that very soft note of chocolate again. As it recedes, there's a never-ending after-finish of agave sweetness and tingle that has you torn between savouring it forever and wanting to immediately repeat the whole fantastic experience all over again. I've been waiting for this tequila. It's absolute dynamite.

Was this review helpful to you? 
So even though the presentation on this isn't super complex or elaborate, I quite like it and think it suits the name.
There is a distinct undertone of honey throughout the nose, tast eand finish.
The nose is quite pleasant, a little simple though, with the honey, some earth and agave. The initial taste (actually had to measure it more on the second taste) again very pleasant with some licorice, honey as well as agave. The initial taste didn't really draw me in and i did notice the extra bit of alcohol, however once that settles down the following tastes begin to meld nicely. Pretty decent value for the price but nothing earth shattering either.
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
91
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
91
Reviewed by cdnteqlovr June 16, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (24)

So even though the presentation on this isn't super complex or elaborate, I quite like it and think it suits the name.
There is a distinct undertone of honey throughout the nose, tast eand finish.
The nose is quite pleasant, a little simple though, with the honey, some earth and agave. The initial taste (actually had to measure it more on the second taste) again very pleasant with some licorice, honey as well as agave. The initial taste didn't really draw me in and i did notice the extra bit of alcohol, however once that settles down the following tastes begin to meld nicely. Pretty decent value for the price but nothing earth shattering either.

Was this review helpful to you? 
A great anejo tequila. Fast legs and medium color. Sweet agave taste, extra smooth and very little alcohol burn. Cool bottle and presentation as well.

I'd recommend this one to tequila experts or novices just trying to learn what a good tequila is. A real crowd pleaser that I will make sure I have a bottle in stock.
Overall rating 
 
96
Aroma-Nose 
 
96
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
96
Enjoyability 
 
97
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
96
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist January 13, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (399)

A great anejo tequila. Fast legs and medium color. Sweet agave taste, extra smooth and very little alcohol burn. Cool bottle and presentation as well.

I'd recommend this one to tequila experts or novices just trying to learn what a good tequila is. A real crowd pleaser that I will make sure I have a bottle in stock.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Bought this tequila (11/5/10) from bevmo for $50. Wife picked it out... good choice. Color is light for an anjeo, leaves fast legs and will continue to gather on the sides. The nose has a substantial alcohol wiff and subtle floral presence. Smooth and sweet upon entry with a small amount of heat on the way down. Finishes with a pepper after taste. The bottle is very cool the picture does not do it justice, only the XQ is better IMHO. It even has a proper cork that seals well. Very good effort here, I'll keep a bottle on hand at all times.
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by sdnerf November 09, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (53)

Bought this tequila (11/5/10) from bevmo for $50. Wife picked it out... good choice. Color is light for an anjeo, leaves fast legs and will continue to gather on the sides. The nose has a substantial alcohol wiff and subtle floral presence. Smooth and sweet upon entry with a small amount of heat on the way down. Finishes with a pepper after taste. The bottle is very cool the picture does not do it justice, only the XQ is better IMHO. It even has a proper cork that seals well. Very good effort here, I'll keep a bottle on hand at all times.

Was this review helpful to you?