Sauza Hornitos Tequila Reposado http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/d6/5d/9f/240_hornitos_tequila_reposado_1188582378.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     March 07, 2007    
 
0
 
86 (11)
106265   0   3   0   25
11 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
86
Aroma-Nose 
 
80
Initial Taste 
 
80
Body 
 
85
Finish 
 
85
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
100
Presentation 
 
100
Reviewed by JohnL4 September 14, 2015
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Good middle-shelf, for mixing and sipping if you'r

I like this stuff, for mixing (French Intervention, classic 3-2-1 Margarita). It's good without being past the point of diminishing returns. Reasonable price without being cheap and harsh.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
83
Aroma-Nose 
 
86
Initial Taste 
 
84
Body 
 
85
Finish 
 
86
Enjoyability 
 
85
Price 
 
66
Presentation 
 
59
Reviewed by skoro May 25, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (14)

Reliable stand-by

This is my go-to for mixing. I feel that fine reposados and anejos deserve to be enjoyed straight up or with a sangrita sidecar.Don't get me wrong, Hornitos is totally acceptable as a sipping tequila, too. But it isn't in the same class as the top shelf choices. It's THE best Margarita tequila, though. Mix it a little stronger than you normally would and let some of that agave character come through. You'll be glad you did.

Straight up, it's just a tad harsh. Good flavor but more alcohol burn than I like.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
86
Aroma-Nose 
 
87
Initial Taste 
 
86
Body 
 
85
Finish 
 
85
Enjoyability 
 
85
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
87
Reviewed by mjfuller53 December 31, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (22)

Tasted on 12/31/12 from a Reidel glass. Sometimes your palate just changes. Or could it be the juice? I've always thought Hornitos was a great deal for the price. It's been one of my low-cost, but smooth tequilas and can be sipped or mixed. Tonight, however, it seems harsh and a little bitter compared to what I've remembered in the past; a little disappointing. I couldn't place the aroma tonight, but it seemed a little buttery, but has a bitter after burn I haven't noticed before. Given all that, I still say it's a good value for the price ($27 on sale at Costco for 1.75l bottle). I won't give up on it by any means, but I'll try it again in the near future and see if the smoothness I remembered returns. In the meantime, I'll make margaritas with it. Happy New Year y salud.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
82
Aroma-Nose 
 
83
Initial Taste 
 
83
Body 
 
81
Finish 
 
80
Enjoyability 
 
81
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
85
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist March 29, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

This is probably the best value of the Sauza bunch. It's flavor is decent. It mixes well. And it can be easily found at a good price.

Aroma: Agave, fruit and alcohol.
Initial Taste: Fruity agave sweetness with a touch of wood and alcohol.
Body: The oak comes through along with a bit of burn. It's a thin body for an aged tequila.
Finish: Typical Sauza burn, but not in an unpleasant way.

This is a decent tequila for shooting or mixing. I find it hard to savor ones that burn too much. Good value for the money. If you're going to buy anything in the Sauza line, I'd recommend this one.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
89
Aroma-Nose 
 
87
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
88
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
94
Presentation 
 
85
Reviewed by DaMax85 April 27, 2011
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

Hornitos Reposado is fantastic, especially for the price. It's definitely a "lighter" reposado, with a very clean entry, body and finish. Definitely a little a fruity side. I recommend this tequila "hands-down" to people new to tequila who are looking for a low-priced, high-value tequila to keep in their homes. It runs the gamut and can be enjoyed in margaritas, as shots, or on the rocks with a squeeze of lime. I have seen this bottle range anywhere in price from $17 to $30. Typically, it's around $20 which is a fantastic deal.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
90
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
85
Presentation 
 
85
Reviewed by shovel August 10, 2010
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (8)

Hornitos resposado is just an all around good Tequila. Easy to drink neat, won't mess up your OJ if you're into that sort of thing. It's what your face wants. Write that down.





Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
84
Aroma-Nose 
 
88
Initial Taste 
 
88
Body 
 
85
Finish 
 
88
Enjoyability 
 
75
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
70
Reviewed by Phatell March 16, 2010
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (7)

Very fruity, both the nose and first taste hits you with the taste of pear. Sauza hornitos reposado is a little bit too fruity for a tequila in my opinion but whould probably fit in at party during a hot summer day.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
88
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
85
Finish 
 
89
Enjoyability 
 
89
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
86
Reviewed by Tommy Bartend October 10, 2008
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (24)

I think Hornitos Reposado is one of the best tequila values for the money. I regularly pay $22-24 per bottle. I like it straight and it is smooth mellow and nice and spicy...I really like it as a good Margarita tequila.

Not my choiuce for a night of sipping with friends but a really great choice when you are serving batches of margaritas and want evryone to really enjoy them.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
84
Aroma-Nose 
 
84
Initial Taste 
 
83
Body 
 
84
Finish 
 
83
Enjoyability 
 
85
Price 
 
89
Presentation 
 
84
Reviewed by Piña July 25, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (260)

Tasted on 7/25/08. This reposado was a good 'starter' reposado. It's subtle and pleasant.

Aroma: Light agave nose, with spice and earth.
Initial Taste: Slight bitterness, thin mouth feel, followed by sweet taste.
Body: Subtle agave presence, with slight hint of caramel and wood.
Finish: Of short duration with slight alcohol burn.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
83
Aroma-Nose 
 
83
Initial Taste 
 
83
Body 
 
83
Finish 
 
83
Enjoyability 
 
83
Price 
 
83
Presentation 
 
83
Reviewed by Tequila Joe July 21, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (148)

Sauza Hornitos (New) Reposado NOM 1102 Tasted on 4/18/08 at 10:15pm. I tried this tequila at the Graduate in Davis, CA and tasted it out of a snifter. The tequila is a pale yellow color. The Hornitos aromas consist of intense fruit and floral aspects followed by mild earth. On the lighter side, this Reposado has hints of spice. On the tongue, this tequila is mellow and has a thin mouth feel. While the tequila has moderate agave flavor, it is semi sweet and has no bitterness. The flavor of this tequila contains intense notes of fruit and floral followed by moderate agave. Deeper flavors of Hornitos Reposado consist of mild spice and hints of chemicals, wood, and earth. Upon finishing this tequila, there is a medium duration of flavor and numbing alcohol intensity. I have rated this tequila at 83 out of 100 points.

Was this review helpful to you? 
11 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2  
Ordering