Reposados 1921 Tequila Reposado

1921 Tequila Reposado http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/ed/d1/ee/312_tequila-1921-reposado_1319914394.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     March 29, 2007    
 
0
 
92 (5)
26900   0   2   0   24
 

Tequila Review

Brand
1921
NOM
Oven Type
Extraction Method
Distillation Method
Distillation
Barrel - Cask
Alcohol Volume
Price Category
Facebook Page
Twitter Page
Tasting Awards
2012 TEQUILA.net Awards - "Best of the Best" Best Highland Reposado Tequila 2008 Agave Spirits Challenge Silver Medal
2012 TEQUILA.net Awards - Best of the Best 2008 Agave Spirits Challenge Silver Medal

1921 Tequila Reposado

1921 Tequila Reposado is produced with 100% Blue Weber estate grown Agave, double distilled in stainless steel pot stills containing copper coils.  It is aged for a minimum of 6 months in new American Oak Barrels bearing a medium char.

1921 Tequila undergoes a careful production process in a state-of-the-art facility using premium quality 100% Blue Weber Agave.  Cultivated in the red soils of the highlands region of Jalisco, estate grown agave is given great care and nourishment, encouraging optimal growth and ideal sugar concentration levels that are confirmed via routine independent lab tests.  Mature harvested piñas endure a 72 hour slow-cooking process consisting of a 24 hour continuous cooking period, 24 hour resting period and finally a 24 hour cooling period with the oven doors open.  Fermentation and distillation occur under carefully supervised and temperature controlled conditions.  Each bottle is wax sealed manually, to prevent leakage and premature oxidation.  An elegant label and bottle presentation adorned with a hand-painted clay medallion is symbolic of Mexico’s rich history and most valued traditions.  The number "1921" represents the concluding year of the Mexican Revolution.  1921 products are available in Mexico, the USA,  Canada, China, and several European markets.

Photos by TEQUILA.net

User reviews

Average user rating from: 5 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
90  (5)
Initial Taste 
 
92  (5)
Body 
 
92  (5)
Finish 
 
93  (5)
Enjoyability 
 
93  (5)
Price 
 
90  (5)
Presentation 
 
94  (5)
No need for a long intro with this one. Great brand, great distillery.

Aroma: Cooked agave, vanilla, nuts, spice and light fruit. Very complex and inviting.
Initial Taste: A very pleasant entry with agave, fruit and a bit of spice.
Body: Very rich/oily and complex. The oak element comes through a bit more, but compliments the agave, caramel, fruit and spice (cinnamon) nicely.
Finish: A pleasant, but medium-short finish. Notes of oak and spice are most prominent with just a light sweetness to round it out.

Very nice and balanced tequila. Lots of agave and nice notes from the barrel aging. It's exactly what a good reposado should be. Nice bottle and overall value makes this one a winner in the price range.
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
91
Body 
 
91
Finish 
 
91
Enjoyability 
 
91
Price 
 
91
Presentation 
 
93
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist June 11, 2013
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (405)

1921 Reposado - NOM 1079

No need for a long intro with this one. Great brand, great distillery.

Aroma: Cooked agave, vanilla, nuts, spice and light fruit. Very complex and inviting.
Initial Taste: A very pleasant entry with agave, fruit and a bit of spice.
Body: Very rich/oily and complex. The oak element comes through a bit more, but compliments the agave, caramel, fruit and spice (cinnamon) nicely.
Finish: A pleasant, but medium-short finish. Notes of oak and spice are most prominent with just a light sweetness to round it out.

Very nice and balanced tequila. Lots of agave and nice notes from the barrel aging. It's exactly what a good reposado should be. Nice bottle and overall value makes this one a winner in the price range.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Purchased 3/15/10, paid $40 locally, sampled with a 6 oz shot glass. NOM-1079 makes some excellent tequilas, everyone I have bought has been a pleasure... this one is no different. Straw in color and leaves some fast legs Agave and sweet undertones fill the nose with just a wif of alcohol, subtle. For a repo, it holds well, medium body. Tastes of spices, pepper, vanilla and oak leading to a heated finish of medium duration with a mild numbing. An honest reposado. Top 5 repo, very good.
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
91
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
92
Reviewed by sdnerf April 11, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (53)

Purchased 3/15/10, paid $40 locally, sampled with a 6 oz shot glass. NOM-1079 makes some excellent tequilas, everyone I have bought has been a pleasure... this one is no different. Straw in color and leaves some fast legs Agave and sweet undertones fill the nose with just a wif of alcohol, subtle. For a repo, it holds well, medium body. Tastes of spices, pepper, vanilla and oak leading to a heated finish of medium duration with a mild numbing. An honest reposado. Top 5 repo, very good.

Was this review helpful to you? 
1921 Reposado NOM 1079 Tasted on 10/19/07 at 7:00pm. I tried this tequila, which cost me $4, at the Davis Graduate Tequila Bar and tasted it in a snifter. With a pale yellow color, this tequila has intense floral aromas. Other aromas include moderate spice, fruit, and earth with mild smoke. The tequila has a medium mouth feel and on the first sip is sweet with a hint of bitterness. 1921 Reposado has numerous arrays of flavors due to its 4 months of aging. Intense flavors of agave, floral, and fruit are followed by moderate notes of spice. With a medium to long duration of flavor, tastes of mild earth with a hint of vanilla and wood bring this tequila to a numbing finish. 1921 Reposado has received the rating of 89/90 points out of 100.
Overall rating 
 
90
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
89
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
89
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
89
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Tequila Joe March 23, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (148)

1921 Reposado NOM 1079 Tasted on 10/19/07 at 7:00pm. I tried this tequila, which cost me $4, at the Davis Graduate Tequila Bar and tasted it in a snifter. With a pale yellow color, this tequila has intense floral aromas. Other aromas include moderate spice, fruit, and earth with mild smoke. The tequila has a medium mouth feel and on the first sip is sweet with a hint of bitterness. 1921 Reposado has numerous arrays of flavors due to its 4 months of aging. Intense flavors of agave, floral, and fruit are followed by moderate notes of spice. With a medium to long duration of flavor, tastes of mild earth with a hint of vanilla and wood bring this tequila to a numbing finish. 1921 Reposado has received the rating of 89/90 points out of 100.

Was this review helpful to you? 
In my top of reposados I've tryed to date now. Very smooth and beautiful golden light honey color. The only drawback was a bit of spice in the aftertaste...I'm not a fan of that too much but overall I give 2 thumbs up and reccomend everyone that is a reposado fan to try this. I got way too drunk after my initial "tastings" for me to get in depth on my review. No hangover though! You gotta love that about quality tequila.
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
97
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
98
Reviewed by bn087 February 01, 2008
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (11)

In my top of reposados I've tryed to date now. Very smooth and beautiful golden light honey color. The only drawback was a bit of spice in the aftertaste...I'm not a fan of that too much but overall I give 2 thumbs up and reccomend everyone that is a reposado fan to try this. I got way too drunk after my initial "tastings" for me to get in depth on my review. No hangover though! You gotta love that about quality tequila.

Was this review helpful to you? 
As usual I'm never steered in the wrong direction when following the recommendations of those on this and other tequila forums.

I had not heard about this tequila much before becoming an "online" aficionado of tequila.

This is the first of the line I've tasted and so far I'm very impressed.

The color is a very pale yellow from the rather short aging (4months). The smoothness of this tequila is reminiscent of Clase Azul and it drinks almost like an anejo.

Very reluctant nose (maybe i'm just stuffed up, that last 4 or 5 tequilas have been this way)

Beautiful agave taste that slides like butter down your throat. Honey and caramel overtones that no doubt come from the bourbon barrels don't distract from the balanced and complex body and finish. Ends with some medium length spiciness.

They use adobe and stone ovens and copper stills. I believe they still use a tahona (milling stone) but I haven't been able to verify.

This is double distilled reposado.

Excellent tequila. May even replace Casa Noble as my "go to" Reposado.

Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
85
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
96
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
98
Reviewed by chekm8 April 11, 2007
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

As usual I'm never steered in the wrong direction when following the recommendations of those on this and other tequila forums.

I had not heard about this tequila much before becoming an "online" aficionado of tequila.

This is the first of the line I've tasted and so far I'm very impressed.

The color is a very pale yellow from the rather short aging (4months). The smoothness of this tequila is reminiscent of Clase Azul and it drinks almost like an anejo.

Very reluctant nose (maybe i'm just stuffed up, that last 4 or 5 tequilas have been this way)

Beautiful agave taste that slides like butter down your throat. Honey and caramel overtones that no doubt come from the bourbon barrels don't distract from the balanced and complex body and finish. Ends with some medium length spiciness.

They use adobe and stone ovens and copper stills. I believe they still use a tahona (milling stone) but I haven't been able to verify.

This is double distilled reposado.

Excellent tequila. May even replace Casa Noble as my "go to" Reposado.

Was this review helpful to you?