Herradura Tequila Reposado http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/c8/dc/61/442_herradura_reposado_tequila_1179122198.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     May 13, 2007    
 
0
 
84 (10)
39138   0   2   0   19
10 results - showing 1 - 10
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
84
Aroma-Nose 
 
87
Initial Taste 
 
84
Body 
 
85
Finish 
 
82
Enjoyability 
 
84
Price 
 
87
Presentation 
 
85
Reviewed by mjfuller53 March 27, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (22)

Herradura Reposado

Tasted in a Reidel glass on 3/27/14. Bought at Costco for $32. This is a very full-bodied tequila as measured by swishing it in the Reidel glass (not the taste test). I taste hints of vanilla and caramel, but those tastes are standard for me. The aftertaste is good, but doesn't unnecessarily linger too long. It's a very versatile tequila and I can use it for sipping or in margaritas. It's not an outright star, but it's very enjoyable at a reasonable price point and certainly better than the most inexpensive tequilas.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
84
Aroma-Nose 
 
83
Initial Taste 
 
85
Body 
 
85
Finish 
 
84
Enjoyability 
 
82
Price 
 
85
Presentation 
 
85
Reviewed by mjfuller53 February 28, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (22)

Herradura Tequila Reposado

Since this juice hasn't been reviewed much the past two years, I thought I'd add my two cents. I tasted it in a Reidel glass on 2/28/2014. It was purchased at Total Wine and More for $32.

It clings to the glass well, indicating a full bodied tequila by one measure although the "Body" rating of this review is an indicator of taste. It has a clear gold color, like a fine gem. It has a warm after taste but not to alcohol-ish. It's enought alcohol to warm the belly, but is quite pleasant. I could use it to sip, although it might not be my first choice. It has a good strong hint of caramel with some vanilla, but the later is not a dominate taste.

I find the bottle nothing too special, but still has a quiet elgance to it. I think it's a solid entry to a well-stocked bar and a solid competitor in its price range.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
87
Aroma-Nose 
 
85
Initial Taste 
 
88
Body 
 
86
Finish 
 
87
Enjoyability 
 
87
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist January 16, 2014
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (405)

As referenced in previous reviews, NOM 1119 and Casa Herradura are strange for me. You'd figure with a beverage giant like Brown Forman that consistency would be a hallmark, but it's been the opposite for me. Granted, I've had expressions from different years (this repo was purchased in 2011), but the swings have been large. That's not to say that I haven't liked some because I have. Let's see if I like this reposado.

Price: $35-45/bottle

Aroma: An interesting nose with some raw agave, honey, smoke and vanilla.

Initial Taste: A fairly basic entry. Some agave, vanilla and honeyed sweetness.

Body: Medium to thick body with decent oils. The raw agave flavor is still there. The sweetness is light, but still present. The wood flavors are there as well, but not too heavy. Everything is basic, but in a nice balance.

Finish: A little bit of vanilla combined with oak and smoke on the finish. Medium to short finish. Good, but not memorable.

While the rest of the brand has had some wild swings for me, this was a basic and run of mill tequila. Solid flavors, but nothing too bold. For under $40, it's a solid buy based on the fact that you can almost certainly find it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
80
Aroma-Nose 
 
80
Initial Taste 
 
82
Body 
 
78
Finish 
 
80
Enjoyability 
 
80
Price 
 
87
Presentation 
 
78
Reviewed by chris123 July 25, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

slurpmaster

Smokey vanilla on the nose with lots of alcohol. The initial taste was a mix of light caramel with vanilla and cinnamon and plenty of alcohol burn.The mouth feel was a bit too thin for my liking, lacking body. Finish was thin with lots of alcohol, at least no bitterness.
Overall i wasn't impressed with this reposado. It had a lot of alcohol burn for a 100%agave, for my liking, really lacked in body. I'm wondering if this is something to do with the 11 months resting, i would have thought the body would have been amazing, sadly not. I gave price at 87 cos i got it in the sale. If i paid the regular price i would have scored lower. Maybe their Anejo would be better.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
79
Aroma-Nose 
 
75
Initial Taste 
 
80
Body 
 
80
Finish 
 
78
Enjoyability 
 
79
Price 
 
81
Presentation 
 
75
Reviewed by duffneggs November 25, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (23)

This repo was ok, but to be fair I have been told that batches bottled prior to 2000/2001 are superior. Mine was bottled in 2010. It was a little harsher than I expected for a repo from such a respected name, and there was a hint of chemical in the nose.
Not terrible, but not great.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
88
Aroma-Nose 
 
89
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
89
Finish 
 
89
Enjoyability 
 
88
Price 
 
82
Presentation 
 
80
Reviewed by DaMax85 April 27, 2011
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

Has a very "velvety" texture. It is a tequila that stands somewhere between popular brands such as 1800, Cazadores, and Hornitos, and ultra premium tequilas. I only buy this one when it is on sale, which is rare. It has tones of vanilla and caramel on the nose and through the body and finish. I would give this tequila a B+/A-. A- when it is on sale! ;-)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
82
Aroma-Nose 
 
80
Initial Taste 
 
83
Body 
 
84
Finish 
 
82
Enjoyability 
 
84
Price 
 
75
Presentation 
 
75
Reviewed by drawnad June 08, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (52)

Not a fan of this line after having tried the blanco, this, and the anejo. Also not sure if anyone else has experienced this, but small amounts of all three of them at separate times have given me a terrible headache the next day. Nothing else does this to me (tequila or otherwise), but this line just kills me with even a small amount.

That being said, I give this about a B rating. While I'm sure some people like more detailed reviews for everything I'm a pretty bottom-line person so when I look here I basically want to know if someone who has dropped $50 on a bottle of something would recommend it or not. So I'll save you some time: if you're set on drinking a reposado try another one, otherwise get an anejo! :)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
80
Aroma-Nose 
 
73
Initial Taste 
 
80
Body 
 
83
Finish 
 
79
Enjoyability 
 
82
Price 
 
80
Presentation 
 
80
Reviewed by Piña August 29, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (257)

Tasted on 08/29/08 out of a snifter. This repo just didn't do it for me. But then again, I really didn't like their blanco. I don't know if I should try their anejo. This rating is all over the place. To me, this isn't top shelf at all. Again, this is just my opinion.

Aroma: Alcohol, chemicals, and carmel. Not a good nose for me.
Initial Taste: The initial taste was much better than the nose, an oily mouth feel, with slight bitterness upon entry.
Body: a decent body of agave, cinnamon, and earth.
Finish: A heated finish of short duration with alcohol burn.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
89
Aroma-Nose 
 
87
Initial Taste 
 
88
Body 
 
91
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
91
Price 
 
80
Presentation 
 
80
Reviewed by El Jefe May 12, 2008
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (66)

Herradura Reposado Tequila Natural, NOM 1119. The wife & I enjoyed this spirit on Mother's Day in small Cognac snifters. I haven't had it in awhile & found it quite good, much better than the blanco. The color was medium amber/honey, much like many anejo's with that unique Herradura, intense flavor of roasted, earthy, agave, caramel, oak, & a pleasant sweetness. After further sipping, the medium bodied agave softened a bit where it revealed more caramel, oak, & fruit. It finished moderately long & dissipated with a nice open sensation, slight alcohol, & a hint of spice. Herradura Reposado is surprisingly smooth but it is pricey & better reposados can be found for less dinero! B+/A-

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
89
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
91
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Tequila Joe May 27, 2007
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (148)

Herradura Reposado NOM 1119 Tasted 2/12/07. The tequila is a darker yellow golden color and has an intense earthy and floral aromas. Once you get past the intensity of the nose, you can smell moderate notes of fruit and vanilla. On the tip of the tongue the tequila is mellow and soft but yet has a moderate agave taste. While the tequila has a low bitterness, it is actually fairly sweet. The flavor has intense agave and earthy attributes which are followed by moderate floral flavors. Lastly, there are mild flavors of fruit, vanilla, and spicy accents. The tequilas finish is a long duration of flavor followed by a numbing alcohol feeling. Overall, I rated this tequila at the A- level.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10 results - showing 1 - 10
 
Ordering