Herradura Tequila Blanco http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/99/61/6e/443_herradura_tequila_blanco_1211739791.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     May 13, 2007    
 
0
 
80 (9)
23352   0   1   0   7
9 results - showing 1 - 9
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
91
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
92
Price 
 
96
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist April 24, 2014
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (405)

92 Proof Blanco Review (2001 bottling)

Another treasure bottle tequila review today. This one is the 2001 bottled Herradura Tequila Blanco (92 proof). People always talk about how "good things used to be." To an extent with drinks, I think that's often because people want to believe it's true because they can no longer get it...and that makes it special. But sometimes, it does hold true. With the old Herradura, I'll be interested to find out. This is my first experience and I'm definitely intrigued by the 92 proof.

Price: $35-40/bottle

Aroma: A crisp cooked agave scent with hints of citrus, pine and pepper.

Initial Taste: A sweet and somewhat piney/minty entry. Really interesting. Lots of agave.

Body: Nice oils in the body. Still lots of plant flavors in the body and a really strong and peppery agave kick. Very natural tasting and very potent.

Finish: A long and peppery finish. There's obviously a bit more sizzle from the high proof, but it works well with the tequila profile.

If this is what tequila was like in the good old days, that was a golden age of drinking. This is crisp and clean...and it packs a punch. The natural plant flavors are there and there's just enough sweetness from the agave sugars to round it all out. If I could sip and mix with something this good all the time, I'd be in tequila heaven. This is a flavor packed blanco that's great in all respects. Now if I could just find a bunch of it for its original MSRP....

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
88
Aroma-Nose 
 
89
Initial Taste 
 
87
Body 
 
89
Finish 
 
85
Enjoyability 
 
87
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist July 19, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (405)

Over 200 reviews and I've never review a tequila from the Herradura line. That doesn't seem possible. It's about time I got around to doing it.

Aroma: An interesting mix of fruity agave, honey and straw/light wood. You can certainly tell that it has been slightly rested.
Initial Taste: A nice entry with light fruit and grassy notes.
Body: Fairly thin body. Agave is prominent with a touch of wood and honey or vanilla.
Finish: A unique finish for a blanco because of the presence of wood. There's a decent agave kick as well. The only negative that it ends a bit harsh/hot with a bit too much of an alcohol tingle.

This is a pretty unique blanco. Lots of ancillary flavors make it fun to taste and try to pick them out. Those flavors and the hot finish make me think this would be a really good mixer. It's probably more of a sipper for tequila vets than for rookies, but it's a solid around juice.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
87
Aroma-Nose 
 
87
Initial Taste 
 
86
Body 
 
86
Finish 
 
85
Enjoyability 
 
88
Price 
 
87
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Piña December 28, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (257)

Purchased a bottled and tasted out of a snifter. I previously left a c grade review for this blanco about two years ago. However, I decided to give it a shot again after their master distiller said improvements had been made. While I dont consider it my favorite, it definitely is a bottle id buy again. The 45 days in wood isnt my favorite way to go with a blanco, but it seems to work for Herradura.

Aroma: A very nice agave arome with an EVER so slight nose of slight wood.
Initial Taste: A soft entry with no bitterness. A think mouth feel, and an initial taste of grass.
Body: A nice agave body with a healthy compliment of earth (what I usually detect in tequila from Amatitan), slight fruit, and smoke.
Finish: A nicely semi heated finish with a decent agave lingering.

So... Not my favorite, but I would get a bottle again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
74
Aroma-Nose 
 
70
Initial Taste 
 
70
Body 
 
73
Finish 
 
75
Enjoyability 
 
80
Price 
 
70
Presentation 
 
75
Reviewed by ElJim September 24, 2009
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

The aroma is organic chem lab: isoamyl acetate (banana oil) and acetone perhaps. Sickly sweet, really unusual for a tequila. The initial taste is just more organic solvents. What's in this stuff? Then it reveals a watery mouthfeel. The taste changes into a dry, bitter, not unpleasant taste typical of agave. This would have made a great beginning. Little aftertaste or burn.

This is especially disappointing for Herradura as they make the most highly regarded tequila here for just a few hundred dollars more. I will not buy this again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
78
Aroma-Nose 
 
80
Initial Taste 
 
85
Body 
 
75
Finish 
 
70
Enjoyability 
 
85
Price 
 
70
Presentation 
 
75
Reviewed by drawnad June 08, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (52)

It's official: even a small amount of any of the Herradura line gives me a wicked headache the entire next day. Nothing else does this to me - no other tequila, and no other alcoholic beverage ever - weird. Anyway, very odd tequila for me. Not worth spending a ton of time reviewing to me, but the one noteworthy thing is that I felt like this was pretty smooth tasting. It would be a great mixing tequila as a result of that if it weren't for the price and the headache factor for me. If neither of those are a factor for you it might be worth checking out. Regardless, I wouldn't recommend this. Try something else for the money.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
81
Aroma-Nose 
 
78
Initial Taste 
 
81
Body 
 
82
Finish 
 
80
Enjoyability 
 
81
Price 
 
80
Presentation 
 
80
Reviewed by El Jefe May 06, 2008
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (66)

Herradura Silver Tequila Natural, NOM 1119. Tasted in a Cognac snifter @ a Fiesta de Cinco de Mayo. Slightly off crystal clear color with a faint yellow hue. Typically unique Herradura earthy smell & alcohol. The initial taste was strong agave, cloves, earth, & spice, the same as every Herradura Silver I've previously tasted. This transitioned into an almost neutral, medium light bodied spirit, with minimal sweetness, finishing very short with an open, alcohol sensation. I've experienced many smoother blancos/silvers in my day that were far less expensive. With all the recent changes @ Casa Herradura, I'm hoping this product will once again return to prominence. C+/B-

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
70
Aroma-Nose 
 
69
Initial Taste 
 
70
Body 
 
70
Finish 
 
70
Enjoyability 
 
73
Price 
 
60
Presentation 
 
65
Reviewed by senor pescados February 16, 2008
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (43)

Tasted in a caballito on February 16, 2008 coating the side of the glass with a few short lasting legs.

Herradura Silver

Color: slight yellowish tint
Aroma: orange peels and rubbing alcohol
Taste: A thick coating feel on the tongue with not much taste until you finish releasing a earthy flavor.

I expected so much more from the name Herradura. The Herradura Silver is poorly done for the price. In this price range I would recommend Cabo Wabo, Cielo Diamante or Corralejo - to name a few.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
72
Aroma-Nose 
 
71
Initial Taste 
 
72
Body 
 
71
Finish 
 
71
Enjoyability 
 
75
Price 
 
77
Presentation 
 
73
Reviewed by 1tequila2 October 11, 2007
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (36)

Tequila Herradura Silver Blanco Suave, NOM 1119. Tasted 10/11/07 The label says it had been aged 40 days and the slightly off clear color shows it. I don't think the short aging did much to help it though. There was an aroma that I coudn't quite put my finger on, just different than what I would call bright or clean. It was almost an earthy chemical scent. Initial taste was bitter agave and peppery. Finished without much burn, fairly mild going down barely taking my breath. It had very little if any noticeable sweetness or fruit that might have made it more enjoyable. A very consistant raw note that left me wanting. Overall a fairly unremarkable silver tequila.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
77
Aroma-Nose 
 
76
Initial Taste 
 
74
Body 
 
78
Finish 
 
77
Enjoyability 
 
77
Price 
 
77
Presentation 
 
80
Reviewed by Tequila Joe May 26, 2007
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (148)

Herradura Silver ? NOM 1119 ? Tasted 12/20/06. Herradura Silver is clear in color. Aromas consist of moderate earth and smoke followed by mild fruit, floral, pepper, and spice scents. The first sip of the tequila is bitter and has a low amount of sweetness. The types of flavors Herradura Silver has include moderate agave, earth, pepper, and spice. On the mild side, there are fruity, floral, and smokey flavors. Unfortunately, the tequila finished with a short duration of flavor and a hot alcohol intensity. I awarded Herradura Silver the rating of ?C+? overall.

Was this review helpful to you? 
9 results - showing 1 - 9
 
Ordering