Blancos 1921 Tequila Blanco

1921 Tequila Blanco http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/47/41/c0/84_tequila-1921-blanco_1319914203.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     January 10, 2007    
 
91
 
92 (14)
31466   0   3   0   14
 

Tequila Review

Brand
1921
NOM
Oven Type
Extraction Method
Distillation Method
Distillation
Alcohol Volume
Price Category
Facebook Page
Twitter Page
Tasting Awards
2008 Agave Spirits Challenge Silver Medal
2008 Agave Spirits Challenge Silver Medal

1921 Tequila Blanco

1921 Tequila Blanco is produced with 100% Blue Weber estate grown Agave, double distilled in stainless steel pot stills containing copper coils.

1921 Tequila undergoes a careful production process in a state-of-the-art facility using premium quality 100% Blue Weber Agave.  Cultivated in the red soils of the highlands region of Jalisco, estate grown agave is given great care and nourishment, encouraging optimal growth and ideal sugar concentration levels that are confirmed via routine independent lab tests.  Mature harvested piñas endure a 72 hour slow-cooking process consisting of a 24 hour continuous cooking period, 24 hour resting period and finally a 24 hour cooling period with the oven doors open.  Fermentation and distillation occur under carefully supervised and temperature controlled conditions.  Each bottle is wax sealed manually, to prevent leakage and premature oxidation.  An elegant label and bottle presentation adorned with a hand-painted clay medallion is symbolic of Mexico’s rich history and most valued traditions.  The number "1921" represents the concluding year of the Mexican Revolution.  1921 products are available in Mexico, the USA,  Canada, China, and several European markets.

Photos by TEQUILA.net

Editor review

Herbal and grassy nose, with a subtle alcohol taste. Herbal body with mild cinnamon and spice, balanced and hot/short finish.
91
Excellent
Highly Recommended
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
89
Body 
 
91
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
89
Price 
 
96
Presentation 
 
94
Reviewed by Tequila.net January 19, 2007
Last updated: December 27, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (186)

Herbal and grassy nose, with a subtle alcohol taste. Herbal body with mild cinnamon and spice, balanced and hot/short finish.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews View all user reviews

Average user rating from: 14 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
92  (14)
Initial Taste 
 
92  (14)
Body 
 
92  (14)
Finish 
 
93  (14)
Enjoyability 
 
91  (14)
Price 
 
92  (14)
Presentation 
 
95  (14)
I was excited when my local liquor store began carrying 1921 Tequila products as it was one that I had heard about from this website and really wanted to try. I picked it up for $40.99 on March 1, 2013. The bottle is great. The cap has a cool melted wax covering it. Although it was often difficult to open because of how wide the cap was and that it was rather flat.

Once opened, the tequila inside was great. Nothing really remarkable about the tequila comes to mind compared to others that I have had. I greatly enjoyed it neat and in margaritas.

I would recommend it to anyone but I would not buy another bottle. I have given it a high rating because I really enjoyed it. I just do not remember any flavor from the tequila distinguishing it from others that I have had.
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
94
Reviewed by NathanDetroit February 20, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20)

Pretty good

I was excited when my local liquor store began carrying 1921 Tequila products as it was one that I had heard about from this website and really wanted to try. I picked it up for $40.99 on March 1, 2013. The bottle is great. The cap has a cool melted wax covering it. Although it was often difficult to open because of how wide the cap was and that it was rather flat.

Once opened, the tequila inside was great. Nothing really remarkable about the tequila comes to mind compared to others that I have had. I greatly enjoyed it neat and in margaritas.

I would recommend it to anyone but I would not buy another bottle. I have given it a high rating because I really enjoyed it. I just do not remember any flavor from the tequila distinguishing it from others that I have had.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I like cold tequila and kept this bottle like many other in my freezer. The problem with 1921 is that the rubber cork expanded or the cap was just too slim to open. It was very aggravating and left my hands red. But once the bottle was open I forgot all about the troubles of popping the top as this tequila was very good. Nothing about the tequila itself stuck out to me but overall a great tequila.
Overall rating 
 
88
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
80
Price 
 
85
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by NathanDetroit September 14, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20)

Tough to open

I like cold tequila and kept this bottle like many other in my freezer. The problem with 1921 is that the rubber cork expanded or the cap was just too slim to open. It was very aggravating and left my hands red. But once the bottle was open I forgot all about the troubles of popping the top as this tequila was very good. Nothing about the tequila itself stuck out to me but overall a great tequila.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Wow it is an honor to be part of the tequila.net club. First off i must say im only a tequila blanco sipper with all do respect to my repo and aniejo fans. O.k lets get down to the nitty gritty. 1921 blanco 100% agave for me is the best bang for my buck. Not only because i purchase it for (21 dollars half price compared to the states) in Los algodones mexico, but the tequila itself is smooth and the overall a great sipping spirit. Im really picky and this tequila is a great blanco. If i run out i dont mind spending 50 dollars for this tequila. Every sip is well worth it. The buzz is great and no hangover. I really support this tequila for all you new blanco rookies or veterans. The burn is almost none. I get a pure agave, not to strong presence. The intial taste is pure agave. The enjoyability is second to none being a blanco fan. The price like i said is well worth it. The presentaion is classy. Really nice bottle with the whole revolution theme and the wax seal is outstanding. Like i said you want the real deal try this. You wont be let down!
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
100
Presentation 
 
96
Reviewed by bighappy March 21, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

Wow it is an honor to be part of the tequila.net club. First off i must say im only a tequila blanco sipper with all do respect to my repo and aniejo fans. O.k lets get down to the nitty gritty. 1921 blanco 100% agave for me is the best bang for my buck. Not only because i purchase it for (21 dollars half price compared to the states) in Los algodones mexico, but the tequila itself is smooth and the overall a great sipping spirit. Im really picky and this tequila is a great blanco. If i run out i dont mind spending 50 dollars for this tequila. Every sip is well worth it. The buzz is great and no hangover. I really support this tequila for all you new blanco rookies or veterans. The burn is almost none. I get a pure agave, not to strong presence. The intial taste is pure agave. The enjoyability is second to none being a blanco fan. The price like i said is well worth it. The presentaion is classy. Really nice bottle with the whole revolution theme and the wax seal is outstanding. Like i said you want the real deal try this. You wont be let down!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Sallam!

Snag all of the 1079's you can get. The tequila tracker was right on this one. Thank you BOB. this was delicious

The first time I had it I was getting alot of dill and fresh herbs. tonight I tasted it along 7LB, Milagro select blanco, ocho 2009 plata, and boy did I smell things differently.

I was smelling a blueberry candy and the taste confirmed the smell. I still got the fresh herb taste but this night in particular I was detecting a spicy blueberry agave thing going on. It is absolutely declious.


A game changer in the blanco department. I havenot tried the new offerings but I will continue to snatch up in 1079 noms. I live in the bay area, so if you live in the bay area, please keep these on the shelves for me to find. THANK YOU

Hodafez!

PErsian Prince
Overall rating 
 
96
Aroma-Nose 
 
97
Initial Taste 
 
96
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
98
Enjoyability 
 
99
Price 
 
83
Presentation 
 
93
Reviewed by Chitoori November 15, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

Sallam!

Snag all of the 1079's you can get. The tequila tracker was right on this one. Thank you BOB. this was delicious

The first time I had it I was getting alot of dill and fresh herbs. tonight I tasted it along 7LB, Milagro select blanco, ocho 2009 plata, and boy did I smell things differently.

I was smelling a blueberry candy and the taste confirmed the smell. I still got the fresh herb taste but this night in particular I was detecting a spicy blueberry agave thing going on. It is absolutely declious.


A game changer in the blanco department. I havenot tried the new offerings but I will continue to snatch up in 1079 noms. I live in the bay area, so if you live in the bay area, please keep these on the shelves for me to find. THANK YOU

Hodafez!

PErsian Prince

Was this review helpful to you? 
I'll admit that I'm a reposado or anejo guy in most instances. I generally like the smoothness of aged tequilas a bit more, but this tequila seemed even a bit more harsh in the initial taste with a alcohol than most blancos.

The flavor is not a sweet agave flavor. It's an earthy and spicy tequila. The finish is nice and the overall taste is good, but it's not at the very top of my list. However, it is a good value for blanco lovers at the price of $35-40 a bottle.

Overall rating 
 
90
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
86
Body 
 
91
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
93
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist January 12, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (396)

I'll admit that I'm a reposado or anejo guy in most instances. I generally like the smoothness of aged tequilas a bit more, but this tequila seemed even a bit more harsh in the initial taste with a alcohol than most blancos.

The flavor is not a sweet agave flavor. It's an earthy and spicy tequila. The finish is nice and the overall taste is good, but it's not at the very top of my list. However, it is a good value for blanco lovers at the price of $35-40 a bottle.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
View all user reviews