El Espolon Tequila Silver http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/f6/81/67/332_el-espolon-tequila-blanco-n_1288242793.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     April 06, 2007    
 
0
 
87 (16)
88559   0   3   0   21
16 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
76
Aroma-Nose 
 
75
Initial Taste 
 
75
Body 
 
73
Finish 
 
75
Enjoyability 
 
78
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
83
Reviewed by jwall3513 September 24, 2015
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Not bad, mid level

It's a solid tequila for the price. The smell starts out with a hint of light agave and a little spice and some floral hints. You certainly taste a lot of grass and earth-like meld in your mouth. Couldn't really taste a ton of the agave, I'd say a little roasted agave. It's got a little burn at the end, and it lingers a on your tongue. Probably best for mixing and enjoying with some herb ;) since it's got a grass-like taste to it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
94
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
91
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
100
Presentation 
 
100
Reviewed by RichFlower May 04, 2015
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

At $14.98 a bottle when it's on sale, $17.98 otherwise, it's usually all that I buy. It's the best bang for the buck that I've found out there to date. It mixes well and it's quite passable for sipping.

Some reviewers complain about the simple bottle. Does it really affect the flavor any? I rather like the bottle. Easy to hold, easy to store (not some awkward bottle that looks like a US state or too tall and narrow to fit into the liquor cabinet), and after drinking the empties make great Molotov's.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
90
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
89
Finish 
 
91
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
80
Reviewed by SD Sipper February 22, 2015
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (36)

Tasted 02/11/15 from a Riedel Tequila Glass.
Aroma: Light and crisp, roasted agave with fruit, citrus, and spice notes.
Initial Taste: Peppery agave with vegetal notes. Not real complex but a nice full agave body that is smooth with no alcohol burn.
Body: Light slow tears on glass and a medium-light mouth feel. Agave and spicy flavors are well balanced.
Finish: Medium-long sweet agave with a spicy finish that lingers on the tongue.
Price: $18.99 to $29.99 (RRP: $24.99)
Presentation: A short squat bottle with a synthetic cork stopper. The artwork on the bottle label is a traditional “Dia de los Muertos” style, which I do not find appealing.

El Espolon is a very affordable blanco that I enjoyed sipping and it would also be a good mixer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
77
Aroma-Nose 
 
82
Initial Taste 
 
79
Body 
 
75
Finish 
 
70
Enjoyability 
 
79
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
75
Reviewed by loucaruso August 28, 2014
Last updated: October 09, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

Cheap and Decent- Barely a Sipper-But Good for Mix

El Espolon is an inexpensive tequila, good for mixing. The nose has slight floral, with a fruity, slightly spicy and peppery aroma. The initial taste is light oil, and has an alcohol burn to a pepper and spice taste. NOTHING FANCY going on here. The finish is HOT, maybe bitter. To me this is about the bottom of what I would try to sip.- Long Island Lou Tequila

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
83
Aroma-Nose 
 
84
Initial Taste 
 
85
Body 
 
85
Finish 
 
82
Enjoyability 
 
78
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
81
Reviewed by NathanDetroit December 14, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (22)

Great for the price

I bought Espolon because I was getting into tequila and it was very affordable ($23.99). It mixed well but lacks character. The bottle isn't very fancy similar to its contents.

I always sample my tequila neat before mixing and it was very pleasant - just didn't really wow me.

I have grown a lot in the way I treat and drink my tequila and I think that it is entirely possible that I could enjoy this tequila more than previously.

I toured the Wild Turkey Bourbon distillery and saw a bottle of El Espolon in their sampling lab. Apparently, the two beverages are owned by the same conglomerate.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
84
Aroma-Nose 
 
82
Initial Taste 
 
83
Body 
 
84
Finish 
 
84
Enjoyability 
 
82
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
86
Reviewed by mjfuller53 July 04, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (22)

El Espolon Blanco

This is a reliable tequila for margaritas or sipping when in the right mood. I tasted this on 7/4/13 in a Reidel glass. Then I tried it over the rocks. It's initial burn is average, but it feels good on ice. My nose and taste buds suck, but I think it has a hint of vanilla, and almost all tequila tastes a little caramelly to me. I'm envious of reviewers that can pick out flavors. Although this is a very enjoyable tequila I'm not sure why it gets such high marks from others, but to each his own. I really do like it, but rated against others, I tried to be fair. It's not great, but has a good after taste and isn't too alcoholy. Like I said, it's reliable. I paid $20 at Bev Mo for this and I'd pay that any time for a reliable juice. Salud.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
90
Aroma-Nose 
 
91
Initial Taste 
 
89
Body 
 
89
Finish 
 
91
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
96
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist October 15, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

Being the type of guy who's always on the lookout for a good value, I found it nearly impossible to pass up Espolon when I saw it for under $20. It's a good brand from a good distillery. Let's see how it tastes...

Aroma: Nice cooked agave nose with some citrus.
Initial Taste: Very simple. Agave, citrus and a hint of spice.
Body: Medium-thin, but oily enough to coat the mouth well. Very agave forward. Lots of pepper to round out the sweetness.
Finish: A very nice finish for such an inexpensive brand. Generally cheap tequilas are a bit more bland or seem watered down. This one has a nice, spicy finish that lingers around nicely.

For around $20, this is nearly a must have. It's a great mixer and very good value blanco sipper. Very smooth with a lot of spiciness and character. If you see this one on the shelf, it's a no brainer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
82
Aroma-Nose 
 
88
Initial Taste 
 
80
Body 
 
80
Finish 
 
80
Enjoyability 
 
85
Price 
 
82
Presentation 
 
88
Reviewed by shovel May 30, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (8)

I'm not a huge fan of drinking blancos neat, but Espolon was half off and at $16 I had to try it.

Good, not magical. I like the aroma, and it's not bad overall.

It does get better when very cold, I blended a bit up just with an ice cube and it was delicious, and then made a cocktail with Tequila Rosa and OJ (and El Espolon Silver) which I completely enjoyed.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
91
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by os1kne September 23, 2011
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

I'll be the first to admit that I'm not the tequila connoisseur that many on this forum are, but I must say that Espolon is a surprisingly good tequila - especially considering the cost. I've enjoyed a few bottles of the blanco. It's an 100% agave that sells for about the same price as many popular mixtos, but it's much better than any mixtos tequila that I've ever had. This is a true bargain - I hesitate to post this review for fear that more people will discover Espolon and cause the price to increase.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
77
Aroma-Nose 
 
80
Initial Taste 
 
80
Body 
 
73
Finish 
 
73
Enjoyability 
 
76
Price 
 
94
Presentation 
 
82
Reviewed by agaveafficianado123 July 18, 2011
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

I am skeptical about silver (blanco) Tequilas for sipping but I wanted to try one to calibrate my taste buds. A true fan of whisk(e)y and especially single malt scotch, I like a strong natural flavor to appear in my glass. I love true Oaxacan blanco Mezcal for its unrelenting earthy, smoky character but I also appreciate subtlety and elegance in distillates, like flowery lowland scotches. That being said, I found very little character in the nose, pallate and finish of Espolon Blanco. There was nothing at all offensive or aggressive, but that was perhaps the problem...

The nose certainly showed agave and mild smoke. The initial taste was dry, clean and mild, showing some slight vegetal hints of cactus and aloe. The finish was dry and clean, with a light trailing waft of the agave. Unfortunately, the overall impression was that of an agave-flavored vodka, with clean alcohol and a light burn being the dominant characteristics. This is surely well-made stuff, but uninteresting on its own and something that disappears in a cocktail. Un-aged and under-aged stuff should reek of its natural components; this did not.

Overall, a very un-offensive, mildly tasty tequila, and great for the price as there are NO off-notes whatsoever, but if you're looking for gutsy, risk-taking flavor in your strait glass or mixed drink, go for something else!

Buy and by, I'll throw this bottle into many margaritas and have a nice clean buzz with no hangover to worry about!

Was this review helpful to you? 
16 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2  
Ordering