Chinaco Negro Tequila Extra Anejo http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/a3/1c/93/74_chinaco_negro_extra_anejo_tequila_1174237124.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     January 07, 2007    
 
0
 
95 (6)
45687   0   3   0   17
6 results - showing 1 - 6
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
91
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
92
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
89
Reviewed by jagghb April 09, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

Hard to find

This was one of the hard tequilas to find, very exited on a trip to CA when I saw a bottle, had to buy it. Intense aroma at first, raw agave, vanilla, caramel. Once it has a chance to air out it has an enjoyable array of notes but not to complex. Gold and copper tones with a nice body. Taste, again initially intense with agave, vegetable notes, vanilla, caramel, oak and then it mellows out. Long finish with nice oak in the pallet.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
94
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
97
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by JungleLarry August 23, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (39)

Aroma: Whacks you in the face with wood, caramel, grapefruit, and agave.
Initial taste: Sweet and inviting.
Body: Wood, vanilla, fruit, and agave.
Finish: Long finish with wonderful complexity. Wood gives way to agave that gives way to vanilla, then fruit, then spice, and so on. You can sit there for five minutes just reflecting on all the flavors before you remind yourself that there's more in the glass (if you're lucky!).

Hefty price tag, but fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
97
Aroma-Nose 
 
97
Initial Taste 
 
97
Body 
 
97
Finish 
 
97
Enjoyability 
 
97
Price 
 
93
Presentation 
 
93
Reviewed by Piña July 13, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (260)

Tasted out of a shot glass. Not my favorite way to taste, but it was a very pleasant experience nonetheless. This extra anejo is simply amazing. Very complex yet not overbearing. If I could afford this one on a regular basis, I would definitely stock this one all the time. It's that simple!

Aroma: A bold nose of vanilla, fruit, and agave.
Initial Taste: A sweet entry, a thin mouth feel , with no bitterness.
Body: A bold body that retained plenty of agave through the aging. With strong compliments of vanilla, fruit, and smoke.
Finish: A smooth finish if not on of the smoothest I've experienced. With a great 'Chinaco' lingering.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
96
Aroma-Nose 
 
97
Initial Taste 
 
97
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
97
Enjoyability 
 
97
Price 
 
93
Presentation 
 
93
Reviewed by tvJefe August 20, 2007
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (37)

After searching for this tequila for some time, I finally came across it at the Pink Taco restaurant in Los Angeles. They charged $50, and I still think it was worth it. This tequila is amazing! Bold, strong, and intense flavors; yet still light and sweet with a smooth finish. If you are lucky enough to find a bottle of this, snatch it up. It's sure to be the gem of your collection.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
96
Aroma-Nose 
 
97
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
97
Finish 
 
99
Enjoyability 
 
94
Price 
 
98
Presentation 
 
96
Reviewed by Tequila Joe May 27, 2007
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (148)

Chinaco Negro Extra Aged Anejo Lot #15 NOM 1127 Tasted 1/12/07. This tequila was probably the hardest to rate of any tequila and had the strongest nose that I have ever encountered in a tequila. The tequila is a yellow golden color and has an intense floral aroma. Once you get past the intensity of the nose, you can smell moderate notes of vanilla, caramel, and fruit. On the tip of the tongue the tequila is mellow and soft but yet has a strong intensity of taste and feels heavy and oily in the mouth. While the tequila has a medium to low bitterness, it is actually fairly sweet. Now onto flavor. The flavor has intense to moderate agave, earth, and floral attributes which are followed by moderate spice and mild vanilla and caramel. The tequilas finish is an extremely long duration of flavor followed by a very numbing alcohol feeling. Overall, I rated this tequila at the A/A+ level and would definitely recommend that everyone try this masterpiece.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by flacosuave March 23, 2007
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

Wow! This is a fantastic tequila. It is on my top 5 mabye even top 3 of all time. It has everything it should with nothing it shouldn't. No "overoak syndrome" like its competitors, mellow, balanced flavors, even new flavors I havn't tasted before. Price is high, but considering the quality and the fact it is cheaper than its direct competitors, it is well worth it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
6 results - showing 1 - 6
 
Ordering