Riazul Tequila Anejo http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/82/a7/41/1065_riazul-tequila-anejo-1_1334698100.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     December 02, 2008    
 
94
 
94 (16)
85147   0   1   0   65
16 results - showing 11 - 16
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
98
Aroma-Nose 
 
97
Initial Taste 
 
98
Body 
 
99
Finish 
 
97
Enjoyability 
 
98
Price 
 
99
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by Cachanilla July 20, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Out in CA it's not easy to find Riazul but I was pleasantly surprised to find it on a trip to Arizona in a bar at the JW Marriot hotel. Had been wanting to try this for a while and was not disappointed. Both myself and the person I drank this with looked up immediately after the first sip - we where sold.

Aroma: complex to the nose, scents of a fruity cognac come through the agave.
Initial Taste: mild spice and citrus.
Body: It's body is probably this tequila's highest attribute. Taste follows the aroma but it introduces another level of flavors. Vanilla, Cinnamon and some fruit complexities I couldn't make out. The oak didn't really hit till the finish.
Finish: smoooooze almost no burn but you could still pick out the agave and this was where the woody oak came through for me. Pleasant buttery taste lingered.

Pleasantly complex from start to finish.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
96
Aroma-Nose 
 
94
Initial Taste 
 
96
Body 
 
97
Finish 
 
97
Enjoyability 
 
97
Price 
 
94
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist January 19, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

After seeing the reviews, I was anxiously awaiting trying this tequila. It didn't fail to deliver what I was expecting at all.

Aroma: The nose doesn't do the complexity of this tequila justice. It does smell a bit like a cognac, but with agave presence.
Initial Taste: Sweet agave and mild spice with some citrus.
Body: This is where the tequila shines. As it sits on your palate, you really get the spices and citrus along with the cooked agave. Cinnamon really stands out.
Finish: Pleasant tingle, very light burn and a nice long finish.

This is an outstanding tequila from top to bottom. It's a bit pricey at about $60 a bottle, but it's worth it. I'd recommend it to anyone. The presentation is good. The bottle is heavy duty and looks good on a shelf. The cap is poorly thought out, cheap and more difficult to get off than it should be.

Overall this is an A tequila.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
98
Aroma-Nose 
 
98
Initial Taste 
 
98
Body 
 
98
Finish 
 
98
Enjoyability 
 
99
Price 
 
96
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by CaptKenn June 20, 2011
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

A wonderful surprise ! You could enjoy this tequila the way you would a fine single malt scotch. A beautiful aroma, smooth taste, but I think the finish is the biggest surprise. A smooth, slightly sweet, almost cognac taste. Not the usual peppery taste of most tequilas.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
98
Aroma-Nose 
 
99
Initial Taste 
 
98
Body 
 
97
Finish 
 
98
Enjoyability 
 
99
Price 
 
97
Presentation 
 
98
Reviewed by dasypus January 29, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (41)

Feeling a little down during the winter so I decided to treat myself to a new tequila. Read the two reviews for Riazul Añejo and since I had never heard of it I decided to take a chance. WOW! My girlfriend and I have a new love and it beats Don Julio 1942 as far as we are concerned. The smell of this tequila is totally unique and I almost enjoy smelling it as much as drinking it. Normally, our first tastes of a new brand are limited to 1/2 a single Ridel glass. We could not stop there with this one. Glad I bought two bottles because we have to travel out of state to buy this. This is the first tequila I have ever had that would tempt me to buy a case. Sweet - smooth - silky; personally I believe this comes from aging in Cognac/Brandy barrels rather than whiskey. I hesitate to tell everyone how much I like this tequila in fear that it may become too popular and become hard to get or more expensive. Regardless - everyone needs to try this tequila.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
97
Aroma-Nose 
 
96
Initial Taste 
 
96
Body 
 
98
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
98
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by jasonrm72 August 15, 2010
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (25)

An extremely unique experience.
The nose is of light agave and I could swear a bit of bubblegum, though it's quick.
The mouthfeel is very soft and silky. The inital taste is of light agave then transitions to a cinnamon spice flavored body. The finish doesn't linger and leaves with zero burn.
This is completely different than any other Tequila I have had and it's made it's way into a permanent spot onto my Tequila shelf.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
98
Aroma-Nose 
 
98
Initial Taste 
 
98
Body 
 
98
Finish 
 
98
Enjoyability 
 
98
Price 
 
97
Presentation 
 
97
Reviewed by truzito December 29, 2008
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

I recently had the opportunity to taste Riazul Anejo tequila and I must say it is one of the tastiest and smoothest tequilas. Some popular Anejos have appealing intital tastes but lack a good finish. It also has great aroma and body. I had Riazul before dinner neat and after dinner on the rocks...it is a great before and afterdinner/lunch drink. An original presentation with beautiful balance, Riazul Anejo tequila is a superb find!

Was this review helpful to you? 
16 results - showing 11 - 16
1 2  
Ordering