Anejos 5150 Tequila Anejo

5150 Tequila Anejo http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/25/ed/5f/733_tequila_5150_anejo_1192593758.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     October 16, 2007    
 
91
 
93 (3)
17257   0   2   0   7
 

Tequila Review

Brand
5150
NOM
Tasting Awards
2008 Agave Spirits Challenge
Gold Medal
2008 Agave Spirits Challenge Gold Medal

Tequila 5150 Anejo

Tequila 5150 Anejo, 100% Blue Agave Tequila, aged for 13 months in re-toasted American oak wine barrels from Demptos Napa Cooperage.

Frank Léal approached this new adventure with an open mind and decided to make the Tequila using what seemed like a logical method, not just adhering to the way it’s always been done. Starting with the harvest, mashing the pinas with one molino instead of the traditional practice of 3 or 4 molinos at a time, helped reduce the astringent flavors. Then, he insisted on a slow and steady fermentation before distillation. He threw away most of the heads and tails of the distillation, keeping the desirable center cuts. Using the center cut diminishes the amount of impurities which, for the consumer, means almost no hangovers! The result, a clean-cooked and clean-tasting tequila.

The toasted oak makes a huge difference, imparting smooth, toasty, vanilla flavors on the Tequila. Léal says, "my goal is to appeal to both Tequila connoisseurs and the american palate in general, by offering a style of spirit (and wine) that has a great nose, a sexy and soft mouthfeel, followed by a rounded finish. I rest easily knowing I have accomplished that goal with this release of my first Tequila, Tequila 5150."

Editor review

5150 Anejo - Deep golden brown and medium body. Sweetened oak nose with hints of vanilla and agave. A citrus and oak initial taste, followed by a spicy oak body, mild agave, and bourbon undertone. Smooth finish and aftertaste, which contains both oak and slight mint.
91
Excellent
Highly Recommended
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
92
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
93
Reviewed by Tequila.net November 25, 2007
Last updated: November 25, 2007
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (186)

5150 Anejo - Deep golden brown and medium body. Sweetened oak nose with hints of vanilla and agave. A citrus and oak initial taste, followed by a spicy oak body, mild agave, and bourbon undertone. Smooth finish and aftertaste, which contains both oak and slight mint.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
92  (3)
Initial Taste 
 
92  (3)
Body 
 
93  (3)
Finish 
 
93  (3)
Enjoyability 
 
93  (3)
Price 
 
92  (3)
Presentation 
 
88  (3)
Aroma: A light scent with nice notes of agave, vanilla and oak.
Initial Taste: A pleasant sweetness of agave and ripe fruits.
Body: The latter part of the drink is where this shines. Flavorss of oak, vanilla, fruit, agave and spice all mix in a wonderful, complex flavor.
Finish: A great spicy finish that last a long time with no burn at all. Extremely smooth.

The nose doesn't give you the slightest clue of how good this tequila ends up being. A great complex tequila. The bottle is modern, but not horrible. It fits well on a shelf, so that's nice. The price of $40 is fair for a tequila of this quality. Nice job 5150.
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
91
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
96
Enjoyability 
 
94
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist April 12, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (399)

Aroma: A light scent with nice notes of agave, vanilla and oak.
Initial Taste: A pleasant sweetness of agave and ripe fruits.
Body: The latter part of the drink is where this shines. Flavorss of oak, vanilla, fruit, agave and spice all mix in a wonderful, complex flavor.
Finish: A great spicy finish that last a long time with no burn at all. Extremely smooth.

The nose doesn't give you the slightest clue of how good this tequila ends up being. A great complex tequila. The bottle is modern, but not horrible. It fits well on a shelf, so that's nice. The price of $40 is fair for a tequila of this quality. Nice job 5150.

Was this review helpful to you? 
MMM... Bought 3/1/10, sampled from a tall shot glass, neat. I must admit, tequila reminds me of the opposite sex. If it looks good and smells even better, you find yourself getting closer. I hope my wife doesn't read this! As I read the intro for this anejo, I was skeptical that it would live up to all the hype. Well boy'z and girl'z it does. It has a wonderful color, beautiful inviting nose and well balanced smooth body and clean finish. I'm moving it to the front part of the shelve for sure. Is it my favorite? ... no, top 5 for sure. Its a "modern" Tequila. Very refined, complex, aged and crafted. Is it what I want in a tequila? ... sometimes, but not always. Its an M5, sometimes I want a 69' Cuda', the M5 is nice everyday, but it wont kick you in the pants like a big block. The more I drink good tequila's, I find myself drawn to the older NOM's from time to time. Do't get me wrong this is an excellent at a fair price. The bottle is a bit too modern and the only let down. I'll serve this to friends, thats as good as it gets!
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
96
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by sdnerf March 10, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (53)

MMM... Bought 3/1/10, sampled from a tall shot glass, neat. I must admit, tequila reminds me of the opposite sex. If it looks good and smells even better, you find yourself getting closer. I hope my wife doesn't read this! As I read the intro for this anejo, I was skeptical that it would live up to all the hype. Well boy'z and girl'z it does. It has a wonderful color, beautiful inviting nose and well balanced smooth body and clean finish. I'm moving it to the front part of the shelve for sure. Is it my favorite? ... no, top 5 for sure. Its a "modern" Tequila. Very refined, complex, aged and crafted. Is it what I want in a tequila? ... sometimes, but not always. Its an M5, sometimes I want a 69' Cuda', the M5 is nice everyday, but it wont kick you in the pants like a big block. The more I drink good tequila's, I find myself drawn to the older NOM's from time to time. Do't get me wrong this is an excellent at a fair price. The bottle is a bit too modern and the only let down. I'll serve this to friends, thats as good as it gets!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Tasted out of a double ball glass. Pretty good anejo. Slightly harsh, but still a decent sipper.

Aroma: Caramel, and agave.
Initial Taste: On tip of tongue, slight bitterness. Thin mouth feel.
Body: Nice cooked agave, with cinnamon and peppery notes.
Finish: A short heated finish.
Overall rating 
 
89
Aroma-Nose 
 
89
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
91
Finish 
 
88
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
85
Reviewed by Piña September 15, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (257)

Tasted out of a double ball glass. Pretty good anejo. Slightly harsh, but still a decent sipper.

Aroma: Caramel, and agave.
Initial Taste: On tip of tongue, slight bitterness. Thin mouth feel.
Body: Nice cooked agave, with cinnamon and peppery notes.
Finish: A short heated finish.

Was this review helpful to you?