Blancos Tezon Tequila Blanco

Tezon Tequila Blanco http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/f2/e0/1c/745_tezon_tequila_blanco_1193283185.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     October 24, 2007    
 
0
 
91 (6)
17948   0   3   0   3
 

Tezon Tequila Blanco

The purest expression of the agave, Tezon Tequila Blanco is clear in color and is bottled soon after distillation. Blanco is fresh and silky, with a taste of citrus fruits with hints of honey and vanilla.

The Difference

Agave - The red, mineral-rich volcanic soil and cool temperatures of Jalisco, Mexico provide the perfect environment for harvesting the blue agave that is unparalleled in size, taste, and value. We hand-harvest and prepare the ripe agave plants to ensure only the best go into Tezon. This care gives Tezon its superior aroma and taste.

Fire - Unlike most other tequila manufacturers, who quickly cook their agave for 24 hours, Tezon slowly roasts its agave in traditional brick ovens for three days, giving it a fuller organic flavor.

Tahona - The cornerstone of Tezon's production process, this traditional grinding wheel made from volcanic "tezontle" is used to crush the agave fibers and separate the pulp from the juice.

Spirit - The pulp and juice of the crushed agave is distilled twice in small copper pot stills to create tequila that is uniquely clean and smooth.

User reviews View all user reviews

Average user rating from: 6 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
90  (6)
Initial Taste 
 
91  (6)
Body 
 
90  (6)
Finish 
 
91  (6)
Enjoyability 
 
92  (6)
Price 
 
90  (6)
Presentation 
 
92  (6)
A lot of people say that you can really taste the difference in a tahona milled tequila vs. one done in a more industrial process. I'm not sure if that's true or not when specifically referencing the Tahona, I will say that you can definitely tell when the process is done more slowly, which apparently NOM 1111 is doing with this brand.

Price: $45-50/bottle

Aroma: A nice nose of cooked agave, citrus, earth and light pepper.

Initial Taste: A very nice, sweet entry. Hints of citrus and earth compliment the cooked agave well.

Body: An oily body with a very nice mouth feel. There's some moderate alcohol heat and and peppery kick. Very natural tasting.

Finish: A long finish with a great pepper linger. The hints of citrus an earth compliment it as well.

Tezón is a quality blanco. You can definitely taste the care that was put into this bottle in the slow process. The profile is sweet with nice compliments and balance. It's a pleasant sipper and would be a very good mixer too. It might not be around much longer, so if you see it on the shelves, it's definitely worth a look.
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
91
Body 
 
91
Finish 
 
91
Enjoyability 
 
91
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
93
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist September 21, 2013
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (396)

Old School Goodness

A lot of people say that you can really taste the difference in a tahona milled tequila vs. one done in a more industrial process. I'm not sure if that's true or not when specifically referencing the Tahona, I will say that you can definitely tell when the process is done more slowly, which apparently NOM 1111 is doing with this brand.

Price: $45-50/bottle

Aroma: A nice nose of cooked agave, citrus, earth and light pepper.

Initial Taste: A very nice, sweet entry. Hints of citrus and earth compliment the cooked agave well.

Body: An oily body with a very nice mouth feel. There's some moderate alcohol heat and and peppery kick. Very natural tasting.

Finish: A long finish with a great pepper linger. The hints of citrus an earth compliment it as well.

Tezón is a quality blanco. You can definitely taste the care that was put into this bottle in the slow process. The profile is sweet with nice compliments and balance. It's a pleasant sipper and would be a very good mixer too. It might not be around much longer, so if you see it on the shelves, it's definitely worth a look.

Was this review helpful to you? 
one of the better blancos we have tried. Very smooth with a slight warmth going down.
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
94
Presentation 
 
91
Reviewed by Hedocash December 06, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

one of the better blancos we have tried. Very smooth with a slight warmth going down.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Tasted 15.06.2010 in a Riedel tequila tasting glass.
A fine blanco with a nose of sitrus, vanilla and liquorice (?)
Medium length finish, very faint spirit burn.
Good sweetness in the finish, honey and lightly spiced.
Pretty bottle with a good natural cork stopper.
This blanco is fine to drink neat or if you wan`t to make a high class margarita.
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
91
Enjoyability 
 
92
Price 
 
93
Presentation 
 
93
Reviewed by kimbye June 15, 2010
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

Tasted 15.06.2010 in a Riedel tequila tasting glass.
A fine blanco with a nose of sitrus, vanilla and liquorice (?)
Medium length finish, very faint spirit burn.
Good sweetness in the finish, honey and lightly spiced.
Pretty bottle with a good natural cork stopper.
This blanco is fine to drink neat or if you wan`t to make a high class margarita.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Tasted 9/13/08 out of a snifter. A decent blanco. Very light nose. I'd say this is a good one for new blanco drinkers. Not harsh at all.

Aroma: A very light citrus nose.
Initial Taste: Upon entry, a thin mouth feel with no bitterness.
Body: A light body of agave and citrus.
Finish: A short unheated finish.
Overall rating 
 
88
Aroma-Nose 
 
85
Initial Taste 
 
87
Body 
 
89
Finish 
 
87
Enjoyability 
 
89
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Piña September 16, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (257)

Tasted 9/13/08 out of a snifter. A decent blanco. Very light nose. I'd say this is a good one for new blanco drinkers. Not harsh at all.

Aroma: A very light citrus nose.
Initial Taste: Upon entry, a thin mouth feel with no bitterness.
Body: A light body of agave and citrus.
Finish: A short unheated finish.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Tasted 10/26/07 side by side with Gran Patron in Riedels. Looking at the two tequilas in the glass, the clarity and legs were exactly the same. First smell picked up a sweet citrus, and with a deeper, slower nose I noticed a honey and a slight agave and alcohol burn. First taste had moderate heat, sweet, very smooth and mild with no bitterness. With the second taste I got more agave and a peppery sweetness. The finish was a super clean agave favor with a low to moderate heat and alcohol end. I was surprised at how close it was to The Gran Patron in smoothness and drink ability. This is very sip able tequila. Tezon went for a special presentation with this nice bottle. The dual side metal plaques, necktie hang tag and individually numbered bottles. (The genuine Tahona wheel/cork combo stopper seems a magic trick in itself!) I paid $62.00 but have since seen it online for nearly half that. I'm sure the packaging plays a part in the higher price but I feel this tequila is on par with some of the best blancos. Overall I was very impressed and think it's definitely worthy of your consideration. If you like your blancos on the stronger side you may not love it. It's going to be one of my new favorites.
Overall rating 
 
97
Aroma-Nose 
 
96
Initial Taste 
 
96
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
99
Enjoyability 
 
99
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
98
Reviewed by 1tequila2 October 26, 2007
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (36)

Tasted 10/26/07 side by side with Gran Patron in Riedels. Looking at the two tequilas in the glass, the clarity and legs were exactly the same. First smell picked up a sweet citrus, and with a deeper, slower nose I noticed a honey and a slight agave and alcohol burn. First taste had moderate heat, sweet, very smooth and mild with no bitterness. With the second taste I got more agave and a peppery sweetness. The finish was a super clean agave favor with a low to moderate heat and alcohol end. I was surprised at how close it was to The Gran Patron in smoothness and drink ability. This is very sip able tequila. Tezon went for a special presentation with this nice bottle. The dual side metal plaques, necktie hang tag and individually numbered bottles. (The genuine Tahona wheel/cork combo stopper seems a magic trick in itself!) I paid $62.00 but have since seen it online for nearly half that. I'm sure the packaging plays a part in the higher price but I feel this tequila is on par with some of the best blancos. Overall I was very impressed and think it's definitely worthy of your consideration. If you like your blancos on the stronger side you may not love it. It's going to be one of my new favorites.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
View all user reviews