Blancos Familia Camarena Tequila Silver

Familia Camarena Tequila Silver http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/c0/f7/92/1416_familia-camarena-tequila-silver-2_1315172108.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     May 08, 2010    
 
0
 
88 (4)
38394   0   2   0   9
 

Tequila Review

Brand
Familia Camarena
NOM
Oven Type
Extraction Method
Distillation Method
Distillation
Alcohol Volume
Price Category
Tasting Awards
2012 TEQUILA.net Awards - "Best of the Best" Best Highland Blanco Tequila
2012 TEQUILA.net Awards - Best of the Best

Familia Camarena Tequila Silver

Familia Camarena Tequila Silver is 100% Blue Agave sourced from the Los Altos Highlands region of Jalisco, and distilled at Casa Camarena.

Fine Tequila doesn't happen by chance. For the Camarena Family, Tequila is a legend more than a century in the making.

In 1860, the Camarenas began cultivating fine altos Blue Agave for Tequila, soon becoming one of Mexico's top producers. Today, the family grows more than 3 million Agave plants, some at an altitude of 7,700 feet in the world's highest Agave fields. The fortuitous combination of elevation, a temperate growing cycle and indigenous red earth in Jalisco's highland region translates to delicate flavor and character in each bottle of Familia Camarena Tequila.

By 1938, Don Agustin Camarena founded the family's first Tequila distillery, Casa Tequilera Casco Viejo (soon to be renamed Casa Camarena), in the town of Arandas. Decades later, Don Agustin's daughter-in-law, Doña Elena Herrera Orendain - the great, great granddaughter of the legendary Don Jose Cuervo - became Managing Director of Casa Tequilera Casco Viejo in 1970. Today, Doña Elena is the Camarena Family matriarch and Casa Tequilera Casco Viejo is among the world's top four Tequila distilleries by volume.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 4 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
88
Aroma-Nose 
 
88  (4)
Initial Taste 
 
87  (4)
Body 
 
88  (4)
Finish 
 
87  (4)
Enjoyability 
 
88  (4)
Price 
 
94  (4)
Presentation 
 
86  (4)
Tasted 01/10/15 from a Riedel Tequila Glass.
Appearance: Crystal clear.
Aroma: Light fragrance of agave with grassy and citrus notes.
Initial Taste: Mild peppery agave with a trace of citrus flavor.
Body: Light body, thin legs and watery mouth feel. It is smooth but doesn’t have much character.
Finish: A weak and slightly heated medium-short finish of peppery agave.
Price: Range of $15.99 to $26.99 with a RRP of $20.

This is a nice “value” tequila that is widely available for under $20. I found the flavors too muted to enjoy it as a sipper. However, it would make an excellent mixer, much better than most mixto brands on the market.
Overall rating 
 
85
Aroma-Nose 
 
86
Initial Taste 
 
85
Body 
 
84
Finish 
 
85
Enjoyability 
 
85
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
75
Reviewed by SD Sipper January 11, 2015
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (30)

Tasted 01/10/15 from a Riedel Tequila Glass.
Appearance: Crystal clear.
Aroma: Light fragrance of agave with grassy and citrus notes.
Initial Taste: Mild peppery agave with a trace of citrus flavor.
Body: Light body, thin legs and watery mouth feel. It is smooth but doesn’t have much character.
Finish: A weak and slightly heated medium-short finish of peppery agave.
Price: Range of $15.99 to $26.99 with a RRP of $20.

This is a nice “value” tequila that is widely available for under $20. I found the flavors too muted to enjoy it as a sipper. However, it would make an excellent mixer, much better than most mixto brands on the market.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Anyone looking for an easy to find value mixing tequila needs to get Camarena on their radar. It's not the best tequila that you'll ever taste, but it's easy to find and is cheaper than most mixtos.

Aroma: Grassy agave and a hint of alcohol.
Initial Taste: Not a BIG flavor, but a nice representation of agave with light earthy/grassy notes.
Body: Thin body. Almost a bit watery. Slightly earthy bitterness and a touch of alcohol burn.
Finish: Decent finish. Fairly short, but good agave flavors on the finish with a little burn.

It's OK as a sipper and quite good as a mixer. For the $15 range, it's a very good deal. It's better than the more popular Sauza and JC mixto brands so if you are having a party, but don't want to break the bank, give Camarena a shot...or a mix.
Overall rating 
 
85
Aroma-Nose 
 
85
Initial Taste 
 
84
Body 
 
84
Finish 
 
84
Enjoyability 
 
85
Price 
 
94
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist June 17, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (411)

Anyone looking for an easy to find value mixing tequila needs to get Camarena on their radar. It's not the best tequila that you'll ever taste, but it's easy to find and is cheaper than most mixtos.

Aroma: Grassy agave and a hint of alcohol.
Initial Taste: Not a BIG flavor, but a nice representation of agave with light earthy/grassy notes.
Body: Thin body. Almost a bit watery. Slightly earthy bitterness and a touch of alcohol burn.
Finish: Decent finish. Fairly short, but good agave flavors on the finish with a little burn.

It's OK as a sipper and quite good as a mixer. For the $15 range, it's a very good deal. It's better than the more popular Sauza and JC mixto brands so if you are having a party, but don't want to break the bank, give Camarena a shot...or a mix.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Got persuaded by a stocking manager at Albertson's to buy this stuff after he gave me a coupon for it(which brought the price down to a VERY respectable $14). I was there to buy a tequila strictly for mixing. I was reaching for the Milagro silver when he got me.

Bought this, took it home, and before it went into a drink, I had to taste it by itself. Had it neat in a snifter. The nose is probably the most impressive aspect of this tequila, aside from its price. When compared to other tequilas in its price range, it is superior. It beats out tequilas that are even slightly more expensive (1800, namely). However, it doesn't stand as a great bargain because I don't consider it a great tequila. It surrenders its mild, clean nose by introducing an alcohol flavor that wells up as it sits in your mouth. Not a sipper.

As a mixer, it's perfect for those people who are looking for a 100% agave tequila under $20 for a party or get-together of sorts.

I can't say I will be buying it again, though, but it is an excellent budget-oriented alternative to more tequilas in its price/quality range.
Overall rating 
 
89
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
86
Body 
 
91
Finish 
 
88
Enjoyability 
 
89
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
87
Reviewed by JungleLarry September 24, 2010
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (39)

Got persuaded by a stocking manager at Albertson's to buy this stuff after he gave me a coupon for it(which brought the price down to a VERY respectable $14). I was there to buy a tequila strictly for mixing. I was reaching for the Milagro silver when he got me.

Bought this, took it home, and before it went into a drink, I had to taste it by itself. Had it neat in a snifter. The nose is probably the most impressive aspect of this tequila, aside from its price. When compared to other tequilas in its price range, it is superior. It beats out tequilas that are even slightly more expensive (1800, namely). However, it doesn't stand as a great bargain because I don't consider it a great tequila. It surrenders its mild, clean nose by introducing an alcohol flavor that wells up as it sits in your mouth. Not a sipper.

As a mixer, it's perfect for those people who are looking for a 100% agave tequila under $20 for a party or get-together of sorts.

I can't say I will be buying it again, though, but it is an excellent budget-oriented alternative to more tequilas in its price/quality range.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is the bargain of the century... Purchased a bottle for $16.99 at Albertson's..This distillery has always put out tequilas I love at an affordable price. This blanco is no exception. Well done! HIghly recommended.

Aroma: A lightly vegetal nose with clear hints of grass.
Initial taste: A thin mouth feel tequila, very sweet on entry with no burn. Floral was the fist taste I detected.
Body: A great Arandas agave body with lighter hints of fruit (berry) and ever so slight earth.
Finish: A nicely heated finish of medium duration with a nice agave lingering.

!Excellente!
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
96
Presentation 
 
93
Reviewed by Piña May 31, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (257)

This is the bargain of the century... Purchased a bottle for $16.99 at Albertson's..This distillery has always put out tequilas I love at an affordable price. This blanco is no exception. Well done! HIghly recommended.

Aroma: A lightly vegetal nose with clear hints of grass.
Initial taste: A thin mouth feel tequila, very sweet on entry with no burn. Floral was the fist taste I detected.
Body: A great Arandas agave body with lighter hints of fruit (berry) and ever so slight earth.
Finish: A nicely heated finish of medium duration with a nice agave lingering.

!Excellente!

Was this review helpful to you?