Muchote Tequila Reposado http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/b4/0b/54/783_muchote-tequila-reposado-1_1315166846.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     December 24, 2007    
 
94
 
94 (13)
43080   0   4   0   40
13 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
91
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
100
Presentation 
 
89
Reviewed by tmou May 26, 2016
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (34)

Looking past Muchote's old-timey elixir bottle design, I will concur with the previous reviews: this is an amazing tequila. There's a fruity undertone throughout - fruity nose, fruity entry - with a spicy bite as it sits on the tongue. Flavour is full agave, oak, more fruit, and spice, with a sustained heated spicy-fruity finish. Muchote is a big bold tasty reposado - it reminds me of Chinaco, but with less of Chinaco's signature frontal woodiness. Again, this is an amazing tequila - and at an amazing price!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
91
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
100
Presentation 
 
85
Reviewed by Ssimon February 10, 2014
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (11)

A Great Product

While tequila continues to be one of the most overpriced spirits there is, this is premium stuff for a third of the price.

Nose: Sweet smelling, almost a vanilla scent
Initial Taste: smokey, earthy but very delicate
Finish: essentially a continuation of the initial taste but this has a slightly long finish.

While the presentation makes Muchote mistakable for cheap rum or triple-sec, the juice inside of it is on the same level as Chinaco or Casa Noble's wonderful Reposados. For $25 this is a hard tequila to beat in terms of value. This for sure lives up to all the tequila.net hype it has received.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
99
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by skoro September 19, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (14)

Rich and smooth

After so many comments in the preceding reviews about the plain bottle, let me say that the bottle is certainly the least important aspect. I'm not a guy who is taken in by artfully crafted blown glass and sparkly labels. I'm concerned with the quality of the contents.

Muchote doesn't disappoint. In fact, it should be marked down as a top value, with its very reasonable price. I like it more than some bottles in my cabinet that cost twice as much. It has a complex flavor that nicely combines oak and smoke with agave sweetness. Very minimal alcohol burn.

Next time, I'll purchase two bottles.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
94
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
99
Presentation 
 
85
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist January 17, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

Style vs. Substance. This tequila is all about substance.

Aroma - The smell is awesome. Vanilla, Carmel, Agave and a pleasant wood and alcohol smell along with it.
Initial Taste - A nice heat to go along with the sweet and wood flavors.
Body - Flavors keep mixing well and a spicy note is mixed in.
Finish - It last for a while with a pleasant burn and the oak really kicks in.

This is a wonderful full bodied tequila with all of the flavors that a good tequila can have. For $25 a bottle, you won't find a better value. The price says mix it...everything else says to drink it straight. Seek this one out and you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
96
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
97
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
97
Enjoyability 
 
98
Price 
 
100
Presentation 
 
80
Reviewed by JungleLarry September 24, 2010
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (39)

Tasted on 9/24/2010 out of a snifter, neat
NOM 1414

Let me say this: the bottle will try to scare you away, but if you're brave you will be rewarded! For $20-25, you can't expect a tequila this good to be cased in crystal.

Aroma: Thick caramel, vanilla, and butterscotch. Inviting, to say the least.
Initial Taste: Clean and warm with a delicious oak that brings hints of sweet bourbon. Coats the mouth and crisps on the tip of the tongue.
Body: Rich in smokey agave, pepper, and sweet oak.
Finish: Medium-to-long duration with little to no heat or bitterness. Presence of oils and oak remain the longest, with agave fading shortly before.

For a lover of both tequila and whiskey, this reposado is outstanding. Forget it's price: this is a reposado that can stand alone in any price category. Truly a great sipper and a wonderful mixer in fine cocktails that highlight tequila (the tequila old fashioned being one of my favorites with this particular reposado).

It is currently listed as one of my favorite reposados, along with Chinaco, 1921, Gran Centenario, and Corralejo.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
94
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
97
Presentation 
 
88
Reviewed by Piña August 18, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (257)

Tasted out of a snifter. With a light straw in color, this reposado screams reposado. And for under $30 bux, it's a bargain that can't be beat.

Aroma: Slight butterscotch and dried fruit aroma.
Initial Taste: A semi oily mouth feel. Upon entry there's no bitterness and an initial taste of wood.
Body: A great body filled with cooked agave, wood, slight spices, slight caramel, and slight dried fruit.
Finish: A smooth/slightly citrus finish with very slight heat of short duration. A woody fruit lingering.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
99
Aroma-Nose 
 
98
Initial Taste 
 
99
Body 
 
99
Finish 
 
99
Enjoyability 
 
99
Price 
 
100
Presentation 
 
91
Reviewed by DonJuanOC November 25, 2008
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

A couple of months ago I went to the Las Vegas Tequila Festival. It was a small get together but nice. I think I went around each booth about 3 times... including the cigar makers both.
I was truly suprise with Muchote. Its taste, smoothness and finish was sensational. It was the best of the bunch.
I have been raving to my friends about Muchote since the Festival. The bottle needs work but if that means its going to cost more then keep it as it is.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
100
Presentation 
 
65
Reviewed by El Jefe November 15, 2008
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (66)

You can't judge a tequila by it's bottle & MuchoTE certainly proves that! I thought it was hype until I experienced this spirit. This tequila has a wonderful oak nose, with sweet, full agave, butterscotch/caramel flavors. It is very smooth with a medium, long finish. Weird name, cheesy bottle, but for $24 each, I completed some early Christmas shopping. I can't wait to try a three year old anejo from this destileria. All tequila should taste this good!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
92
Price 
 
94
Presentation 
 
85
Reviewed by Tequilapro October 22, 2008
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (8)

I really like the tequila it has a sweet smoky flavor, lingers on the tongue. Thought the packaging was a bit contrived.

Oh well, you don't drink the package, a good tequila worthy of recommendation.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
94
Price 
 
93
Presentation 
 
84
Reviewed by Tommy Bartend October 10, 2008
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (24)

Great Tequila value.

Not sure what the MuchoTe stands for...but the tequila is good.

Was this review helpful to you? 
13 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2  
Ordering