Milagro Tequila Select Barrel Reserve Reposado http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/42/a2/e6/152_leyendadelmilagrotequilaselectbarrelreservereposado_1203460824.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     February 10, 2007    
 
0
 
89 (9)
74240   0   3   0   22
9 results - showing 1 - 9
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
86
Aroma-Nose 
 
88
Initial Taste 
 
86
Body 
 
85
Finish 
 
84
Enjoyability 
 
86
Price 
 
75
Presentation 
 
96
Reviewed by jdjohn84 December 12, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (68)

A nose of agave, grass, earth...and French oak. I'm afraid triple distillation has taken away some character. The taste is sweet cooked agave and French oak with some bitterness, and there is a bit of caramel and light spice. Fairly thin and dry body without a lot to offer. A quick and somewhat non-existent finish. There is not much of a lingering at all, except for maybe a tinge of vegetal flavor.

Nothing really offensive here, but just not a lot going on, and not consistent throughout. There's a big hurt on price; this sells at a serious premium that simply can't be substantiated except for the bottle itself. Speaking of the bottle, it is beautiful to be sure - exquisite heavy glass with an intricate interior agave form. It also comes in a nice box. Too bad the juice inside doesn't match the presentation outside.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
87
Aroma-Nose 
 
88
Initial Taste 
 
87
Body 
 
89
Finish 
 
85
Enjoyability 
 
87
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by bbteague May 14, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (6)

Refreshing

I bought this one on a whim and I heard it went down smoothly. The initial aroma was pleasant with vanilla standing out but a little light. There was a little pepper in the first sip, but not near as strong as most Don Julio selections. The finish was good but a little on the thin side. For a reposado, it was a good price at $45 but I usually prefer a extra anejo with no bite during the finish. Would I recommend this one ? Yes, to expand your experiences and the bottle will make a cool display.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
92
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
98
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist January 22, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

This was one of the first "premium" tequilas that I ever had and it's still a go-to tequila for me as a gift (because you can get it for $42 at Hi Time) and as a consistent sipper.

Aroma: The smell out of the bottle isn't as good as if you let it breathe a bit. I suppose the long, thin neck design may contribute to that.
Initial taste: Very basic. A bit of sweetness with a good strong agave flavor and wood.
Body: A little thinner than most reposados, but pleasant.
Finish: A bit of burn at the end, but a nice finish.

Milagro SBR bottles are some of the best on the market. The Hi Time price of $42 makes it worth it, but the fact that I know it is $60ish most other places makes it not a great value in comparison.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
89
Aroma-Nose 
 
89
Initial Taste 
 
89
Body 
 
89
Finish 
 
89
Enjoyability 
 
89
Price 
 
89
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by sdnerf April 11, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (53)

Bought 1/15/10 paid ~$70 at costco, came in a gift pack of the three (anejo, Repo, blanco) barrel select tequilas in .375 ml. The bottle and overall display group is impressive and would be a great gift. Tasted the Anejo and Reposado back to back in a 6 oz. shot glass. The repo's color is light straw, no legs or tears just instant gathering on the glass. The repo has a smooth nose light agave/alcohol, very clean. Initial taste is smooth agave with a bit of a alcohol tinge the body is typical of an Repo, thiner than what I'm accustomed too but overall presence is good. Has a nice heated finish that lingers a bit, overall smooth and balanced, but without the more complex personality of it's older anejo brother. Awarded 89 for the tequila

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
79
Aroma-Nose 
 
70
Initial Taste 
 
75
Body 
 
78
Finish 
 
79
Enjoyability 
 
86
Price 
 
75
Presentation 
 
97
Reviewed by AdamMathew February 28, 2010
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (12)

I sipped this out of a tall crystal shot glass, at an over crowded birthday party. The initial nose was slightly gross. It burnt my nose and created extreme heat that wet all the way down my wind pipe. The taste was peppery with an extra dose of more pepper. After resting it in my mouth, I noticed the flavor did not change, it remained peppery. The body was sloppy and did not hold my interest.
The glass bottle was nice, but I am not into saving and displaying empty liquor bottles. The bottle presentation does not make up for what is lacking inside, the pretty container.
This is a novelty tequila; one that does not taste very good.
It might be great for people who like margaritas...

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
88
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
91
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
100
Reviewed by drawnad June 17, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (52)

Picked this up for $68 in NY. I was bummed they didn't have the anejo as I prefer those over reposado's, but I couldn't pass up the beauty of the bottle for what I thought was a good price.

Very smooth rep, and more complex than most. Don't love the smell, pretty astringent, but I don't drink tequila for the smell (even though I appreciate a good aroma) and fortunately it didn't taste nearly as strong as it smelled. Still in the nose, hidden under the pungent alcohol smell, were sweet hints of honey, caramel, and smoke.

Really nice flavor with a very nice blend of wood and agave, on the sweet side. Very smooth - not the smoothest I've had, but more than many rep's. Kind of a smokey and peppery finish, at least more than the sweet flavors upon entry would have clued me off to.

If you love reposado's this is worth checking out I think. I wouldn't recommend if you're ordering out and have a wide selection as there are better selections, but if you're picking up a bottle of something and you'll display it this is a beauty.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
90
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
91
Body 
 
88
Finish 
 
89
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
93
Presentation 
 
100
Reviewed by senor pescados May 08, 2008
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (43)

Tasted in a rocks glass on May 8, 2008 sticking to the side of the glass with fat lasting legs.

Milagro Reposado Select

Color: light golden hue
Aroma: spice, smoke
Taste: wood & honey with a light/medium mouthfeel and hot finish

I did not feel this is as smooth as advertised. For a reposado I would of like to have a little heavier body and a smoother less hot finish. Even with the amazing bottle, my three favorite reposado at the time of this writing have to be Sol Azul, Casa Noble & Corralejo.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
96
Body 
 
97
Finish 
 
97
Enjoyability 
 
92
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
100
Reviewed by ReverendDeuce April 21, 2007
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

This is an excellent reposado! The bottle is hand-blown crystal and looks absolutely gorgeous. The aroma hints of caramel. The initial taste is medium bodied and smooth. The body is full and surprisingly complex to my palate! The finish is clean and lingers just the right amount of time. Excellent mouth feel! The price can be steep if you don't know where to look or have not greased the right wheels, but again, the bottle is art and looks very prestigious sitting on my shelf. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
20
Initial Taste 
 
100
Body 
 
100
Finish 
 
99
Enjoyability 
 
100
Price 
 
100
Presentation 
 
100
Reviewed by brvunicorn April 20, 2007
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

I had never tasted tequilla because I had always heard tequilla had a bitter taste and burned when swallowed. While aboard the Splendour of the Sea cruise ship I was given a sample by the gentleman working in the liquor store, Ciprian, and it was wonderful. Didn't burn going down, wasn't bitter, tasted great! I don't know what the price of this tequilla is, as I didn't purchase it, I was given a shot.

Was this review helpful to you? 
9 results - showing 1 - 9
 
Ordering