Jose Cuervo Tradicional Reposado http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/e7/79/30/343_jose_cuervo_tradicional_reposado_tequila_1182580460.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     April 09, 2007    
 
0
 
79 (12)
70471   0   1   0   19
12 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
85
Aroma-Nose 
 
87
Initial Taste 
 
85
Body 
 
86
Finish 
 
85
Enjoyability 
 
85
Price 
 
75
Presentation 
 
88
Reviewed by SD Sipper May 18, 2015
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (36)

An Expensive Value Tequila

Tasted 05/02/15 from a Riedel Tequila Glass.
Appearance: Pale amber color
Aroma: Light aromas of agave, oak, honey, citrus and ginseng (earthy wood).
Initial Taste: Agave, oak, black pepper and subtle notes of vanilla and honey.
Body: Medium slow tears on glass and a light buttery mouth feel. Smooth with agave and vanilla flavors dominant.
Finish: Medium-length finish of mild agave and vanilla up front followed by a heated peppery finish.
Price: $17.99 to $41.99 (Average $28)
Presentation: Tall and attractive yet heavy duty bottle of a basic design with traditional paper label.

This is a straight forward value or budget tequila that has the agave, oak and other light characteristic reposado flavors with a relatively short heated finish. It may be the best selling tequila in Mexico but I wonder at what price? The retail price at the two stores I shop at was $28.99 and $39.99. The average price in the U. S. is $28, which is based on a survey of 395 liquor stores, according to the Wine-Searcher.com website. You can buy many other reposados in the $20 to $30 price range, which offer better value for the money spent. Some which I’ve tasted recently include Olmeca Altos Reposado, Grillos Reposado Reserva Especial, El Espolon Reposado, Hacienda Viejo Reposado, and El Charro Reposado. Above $30 you can buy many premium reposados which have a much nice flavor profile than Jose Cuervo Tradicional.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
81
Aroma-Nose 
 
83
Initial Taste 
 
84
Body 
 
84
Finish 
 
84
Enjoyability 
 
83
Price 
 
56
Presentation 
 
66
Reviewed by skoro May 25, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (14)

Solid but unexceptional

This is not a bad choice. A reasonably priced 100% agave reposado in an attractive but unassuming bottle.

BTW, what's up with all these whacky "designer" tequila bottles lately? Jeez.

Anyway, Cuervo's Tradcional is a direct competitor to Sauza's Hornitos. Both are value-priced reposados that are decent but undistinguished. I have a slight preference for Hornitos, but if I'm going to be entertaining with Margaritas, either makes an excellent Maggie.

For sipping, it's smooth but rather bland. Certainly not bad, but it won't make you sit up and take notice like a top shelf reposado will.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
84
Aroma-Nose 
 
82
Initial Taste 
 
84
Body 
 
85
Finish 
 
84
Enjoyability 
 
84
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
82
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist September 19, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

If I'm not mistaken, this is the best selling tequila in Mexico. First, Mexicans aren't subjected to the mixto garbage that we have to have cluttering the shelves. Second, this tequila is everywhere and a very inexpensive. Third, 80% of tequila consumed in Mexico is reposado tequilas. I'm not sure why that is, but I'm sure there's a good reason for it. Anyway, it's a Casa Cuervo product that is the top dog of the brand in Mexico so I figured it was one that I had to try.

Aroma: Basic agave with hints of earth and vanilla.
Initial Taste: Earthy agave with a hint of sweetness and pepper. Very basic, but decent.
Body: Medium body. Agave, oak, earth and light spice. Nothing about it stands out. The agave is present throughout, but you can really tell that it's flash cooked instead of slow oven cooked.
Finish: Light oak and pepper are the most prominent flavors with the agave. Pleasant, but unspectacular.

This tequila is very basic and kind of bland in a non-threatening way. It makes sense that it would sell as well as it does because of those facts in kind of the same way that we know that there's an Applebee's everywhere despite the fact that we all know that the food isn't that good. Perhaps predictably mediocre and inexpensive is just something that you always need on your shelf. This tequila is solidly in the category of "OK." If you're looking for something that you will always get what you expect at a cheap price, this tequila might be a solid choice for you.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
78
Aroma-Nose 
 
71
Initial Taste 
 
76
Body 
 
88
Finish 
 
78
Enjoyability 
 
74
Price 
 
75
Presentation 
 
82
Reviewed by guaranified June 12, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

Kind of a Cuervo house nose, that is to say it shares quite a few similarities to the classic gold Jose Cuervo. Off putting at first but it mellowed out and with a touch of water it opened up. Very mineraly agave aroma, soft alcohol, not a lot of depth yet not boring. Nice weighty mouthfeel, almost oily in the mouth, very enjoyable for sipping. Flavors similar to the aroma but with a touch of smoke. Better than expected, probably would choose most other reposados on the market however.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
80
Aroma-Nose 
 
81
Initial Taste 
 
83
Body 
 
77
Finish 
 
80
Enjoyability 
 
80
Price 
 
85
Presentation 
 
75
Reviewed by JungleLarry December 07, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (39)

This stuff really isn't bad. It's not great, but I don't mind it at all. I don't think I'd buy another bottle because I have other tequilas sitting around that I enjoy more in that particular price range (like Muchote), but I wouldn't turn my nose up at it if someone offered me a glass.

Aroma: Straight-forward, agave and alcohol.
Initial taste: A bit sweet, a little bitter, but pretty well balanced. Drier than I expected.
Body: Hardly any complexity. Just agave, some spice, and a light heat that builds.
Finish: Relatively short, semi-heated, but controlled.

Like I said, you can find better tequilas for the price (if you're lucky enough to live as close to the border as I do), but if this is all that's available to you don't hesitate to give it a shot. It's very straight-forward and I agree that it tastes like a reposado with training wheels; eventually you're going to want something with more character.

As far as presentation goes, I don't like the screw cap/pour top on this tequila.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
89
Aroma-Nose 
 
81
Initial Taste 
 
89
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
92
Price 
 
89
Presentation 
 
80
Reviewed by jmsmusic December 28, 2010
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (6)

Like many people who grew up in Canada or the US with "cheap tequila shots", I was scared of the Jose Cuervo label after spending time in Mexico and being introduced to finer tequilas. I only tried the Tradicional because, after spending some time with a bartender in Playa Del Carmen, he let me in on a secret; the tequila that he and his friends drink after work is Cuervo Traditional. But there is a catch. He puts a bottle in the freezer at the beginning of his shift and only takes it out at the end of the night to enjoy with his friends after work. The reason is that this tequila transforms when chilled to freezing. As a room-temperature sipper, this tequila is just what other reviewers have stated: a little harsh and more like a gold than a finer reposado. However, when pulled from a freezer after a few hours, it is a completely different story. Served ice cold (not on ice, which dilutes the flavour that is not overly abundant to begin with) it becomes very smooth and devoid of any harsh bite while a nice mellow flavour shows through. I realize that this can be true of many types of alcohol, including other tequilas, but it is more pronounced in the Tradicional. My numeric ratings are based on this specific serving method.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
65
Aroma-Nose 
 
65
Initial Taste 
 
67
Body 
 
64
Finish 
 
65
Enjoyability 
 
60
Price 
 
68
Presentation 
 
70
Reviewed by luckylooser September 05, 2010
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

I had high hopes for this. But once again for the price there are better ones to choose from. Wasnt very smooth like i thought it would be. I bought this Sept.3 2010.
I guess on a side note as far as Jose goes its one of the better ones. But wouldnt buy again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
55
Aroma-Nose 
 
79
Initial Taste 
 
50
Body 
 
59
Finish 
 
50
Enjoyability 
 
50
Price 
 
50
Presentation 
 
60
Reviewed by shovel August 09, 2010
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (8)

I wanted to like this. The bottle/label/presentation/price told me it would be a fair, maybe somewhat better than fair tequila, but it's just harsh and pungent. A distant whiff when you open the bottle is good, but any closer and my nose burns, it doesn't feel good drank neat, and it adds a paint thinner "quality" to mixed drinks. The finish burns, and not in a pleasant tequila warmth sort of way.

I know this sounds harsh, it's not a BAD bad tequila. It's good, for bad tequila. But bad anyway. Just because I've had worse doesn't make it good ;)

Sorry Cuervo, I won't be buying this one again... in fact I'm not entirely sure I'll drink the rest of the bottle I have now.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
82
Aroma-Nose 
 
80
Initial Taste 
 
85
Body 
 
85
Finish 
 
79
Enjoyability 
 
79
Price 
 
75
Presentation 
 
85
Reviewed by senor pescados September 17, 2008
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (43)

Tasted in a rocks glass on September 15, 2008 quick legs down the glass.

Jose Cuervo Tradicional Reposado

Color: light brown hue
Aroma: agave, rubbing alchol
Taste: a cheap blanco stirred with a stick out of a campfire with a light mouthfeel and strong burn in the finish

For the price you can find many better Reposados. My favorite reposado at the time of this writing have to be Chinaco, Sol Azul, Casa Noble & Corralejo.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
83
Aroma-Nose 
 
82
Initial Taste 
 
82
Body 
 
82
Finish 
 
82
Enjoyability 
 
85
Price 
 
85
Presentation 
 
80
Reviewed by Piña September 17, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (260)

Tasted out of a snifter. This reposadao is very basic and something I'd consider for a beginner reposado drinker. Not too harsh, not to subtle. Not breaking any new ground. Just there, a very simple tequila for me. But for $24 bux as a new tequila drinker, you can't go wrong. Yet sooner or later, you'll want to move up to the next level.

Aroma: Slight caramel notes.
Initial Taste: Slight bitterness. An oily mouth feel.
Body: A mildly balanced agave with hints of earth and caramel.
Finish: A short finish with slight alcohol burn.

Was this review helpful to you? 
12 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2  
Ordering