Hacienda Vieja Tequila Reposado http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/ca/ab/a1/280_hacienda-vieja-tequila-reposado-1_1318918600.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     March 15, 2007    
 
0
 
87 (8)
34575   0   2   0   4
8 results - showing 1 - 8
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
84
Aroma-Nose 
 
85
Initial Taste 
 
83
Body 
 
85
Finish 
 
82
Enjoyability 
 
85
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
82
Reviewed by El Gnombre July 19, 2017
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (3)

Hacienda Vieja Reposado Tequila

My initial reaction to this "value" tequila is that its very similar to Corazon Reposado but cheaper. It has a nice nose and legs not usually found at the price. Nice agave and wood taste with slight hints of vanilla and white pepper. Its a bit bright but with a medium body with slight oilyness. this one came in at $16 and is a great value that mixes well but stands well as a sipper. I liked it and it deserves a place on the bar

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
89
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
89
Body 
 
89
Finish 
 
89
Enjoyability 
 
89
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
85
Reviewed by SD Sipper January 19, 2015
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (36)

Tasted 01/17/15 from a Riedel Tequila Glass.
Pale amber color.
Aroma: Medium fragrance of roasted agave, oak, and spices with caramel and citrus notes.
Initial Taste: Well-balanced flavors of agave, oak, white pepper and caramel with a subtle alcohol note.
Body: Medium body with a light buttery mouth-feel that allows the flavors to blend together on the palate.
Finish: A slightly heated medium-length finish of agave and oak with a mild peppery kick.
Price: $15.99 to $21.99

This reposado is an excellent value under $20. It is is a good mixer and also a decent sipping tequila. It is better than most value brands in this price range and certainly much better than most mixto brands on the market. This is very similar to El Espolon Reposado, which I gave slightly higher marks in a side-by-side tasting.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
86
Aroma-Nose 
 
85
Initial Taste 
 
87
Body 
 
87
Finish 
 
85
Enjoyability 
 
85
Price 
 
93
Presentation 
 
87
Reviewed by mjfuller53 June 23, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (22)

Tasted in a Reidel glass on 6/23/13. I bought it at Total Wine and More for $20. This is an okay all-purpose repos*do. It's not the best or the smoothest tasting tequila around, but okay for daily use. Since my specialty is tequila for $25 or less, this is probably near the top quartile of tequilas I like. It's not as smooth as say, Hornitos, but not as harsh as some. It's a little alchoholy, but not bad. I don't put much stock in people's tasting flavors, because we're all different, but I think there's a slight hint of vanilla, but not real strong. It's a wee bit caramel, but not strong and I would say it's not exactly sweet or flowery. It just feels like another old reliable though. I can enjoy it in any number of ways.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
88
Aroma-Nose 
 
88
Initial Taste 
 
89
Body 
 
88
Finish 
 
86
Enjoyability 
 
89
Price 
 
98
Presentation 
 
85
Reviewed by abates June 10, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

I typically enjoy tequilas from the highland region and this one is a great tequila for the price...a good drinker you wouldn't feel bad about serving to your fellow tequila lovers. The initial taste is sweet with a pleasant heat and agave flavor with a very smooth finish. I really enjoy this one and will keep a bottle handy on the bar.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
89
Aroma-Nose 
 
89
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
88
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
86
Reviewed by Vic December 26, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (19)

Good taste, good price. Is a very worth tequila, you can taste it straight or in a "paloma", marked agave flavour with a touch of oak, soft alcohol taste that brings a smoothy and soft sensation in the mouth (considering that is a reposado), well finish, good for all moment considering that this one is a reposado and comparing it with anothers of the class.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
90
Aroma-Nose 
 
87
Initial Taste 
 
89
Body 
 
88
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
92
Price 
 
98
Presentation 
 
86
Reviewed by The Thirsty Turtle January 31, 2009
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

All I can tell you is that for the price this is one of the best tequilas I have tried in quite a long time. My wife and I basically only drink tequila and we do shots. The first shot is always the strongest but it was almost sweet to the taste. The best part about Hacienda Vieja obviously was that I only paid about 17.99 for a bottle and secondly was that it did not have a bad burn at all. VERY VERY smooth for a cheaper tequila.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
89
Aroma-Nose 
 
88
Initial Taste 
 
88
Body 
 
88
Finish 
 
89
Enjoyability 
 
89
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
93
Reviewed by Piña December 08, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (260)

Purchased bottle on 12/08/08 for $15.99 at Jon's Market. Tasted at home out of a snifter. Yet another pleasant surprise for the price. It came nicely packaged with a double ball glass, and the bottle now says 100% de agave. The main thing I liked about this tequila was its consistency. Meaning the aroma matched the initial taste and body, etc, etc. A very solid 'B+' in my book.

Aroma: A nose of oak and fruit, with lighter hints of caramel.
Initial Taste: A semi oily mouth feel, upon entry its lightly sweet with no bitterness. First taste oak and fruit.
Body: A warm body of agave, fruit, spice and caramel.
FInish: A lightly (?) heated finish of medium duration with a lingering taste of peppermint.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
82
Aroma-Nose 
 
85
Initial Taste 
 
85
Body 
 
84
Finish 
 
81
Enjoyability 
 
77
Price 
 
87
Presentation 
 
74
Reviewed by flacosuave March 23, 2007
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

It is a much better product than it appears! It is 100% agave although the label doesn't say so (apparently there is a new label in the works for the U.S.) It is similar to the Cazadores reposado; True agave flavor, hot and Fiery with a little oak. Would make a great margarita!

Was this review helpful to you? 
8 results - showing 1 - 8
 
Ordering