El Tesoro de Don Felipe Tequila Reposado http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/17/a1/b1/158_el_tesoro_de_don_felipe_reposado_tequila_1173320588.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     February 11, 2007    
 
0
 
91 (11)
33454   0   2   0   12
11 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
85
Aroma-Nose 
 
85
Initial Taste 
 
80
Body 
 
85
Finish 
 
80
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by badhack February 08, 2015
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (3)

Lots of agave, sweet cane-like sugar. Somewhere between warm and hot. No pepper, but subtle notes of wood.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
89
Initial Taste 
 
91
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
91
Price 
 
93
Presentation 
 
91
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist August 01, 2013
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

Natural Tasting and Delicious

My last review from the El Tesoro line of tequilas. Another great brand made at La Alteña (NOM 1139). The blanco has grown on me over time and the anejo was one of the first premium tequilas that I tasted and has long been one of my favorites. With a craftsman like Carlos Camarena driving this brand and my love for a good reposado, my expectations are high.

Tasting Notes:



Price:$35-45/bottle

Aroma: A fairly faint nose on this one. The green agave from the blanco is balanced nicely with the 8-11 month barrel aging.

Initial Taste: A light sweetness from the cooked agave and it still maintains its green/natural profile. The oak from the aging is there lightly and presents as a light smoke. Complex and inviting.

Body: Medium thin body and a fairly light color. It has great balance between the agave and oak. One might say that the agave is simply "kissed" by the wood and in no way overtakes the agave essence.

Finish: A nice finish on this with the agave, oak, light pepper and vegetal and citrus notes. It has everything that you want from a good repo. A great balance and complex flavors.

El Tesoro delivers another nice product. I love a good repo and this delivers. The profile is more on the vegetal side so if you are looking for something with big vanilla, this is probably not the one for you. However, if you are looking for something with great balance and complexity, El Tesoro delivers...and it does it with a pretty good value at around $40 a bottle. I'd pretty much recommend this to anyone who would listen who likes a well crafted and natural tasting tequila.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
56
Presentation 
 
75
Reviewed by skoro May 25, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (14)

Sometimes, the old way is still the best way

I won't be bashful. This is my favorite tequila. I've enjoyed many fine anejos, reposados and blancos over the past years, but this is the one I compare all others to and it's still my top pick. A few years ago, Don Felipe chose to change the bottle to a more contemporary rectangular shape, probably as a marketing ploy. But this is tequila produced largely by manual labor and I preferred the old round bottle, which seemed more in synch with El Tesoro's traditional process.

That aside, this reposado is still the same pale golden agave goodness as always. The aroma is really nothing extraordinary to my nose. It has a good solid boquet that lets you know this will be a pleasant drink. The initial flavor is slightly smoky, with good agave character. The body is earthy and woody, most likely the result of the age-old process. The finish is slightly sweet and oaky. The overall impression is that this is distilled by masters who take pride in their product and carry on the methods of their ancestors in a time of mass-production.

Definitely old school.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
91
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by schultzi February 19, 2011
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Tasted 2/19/11 out of a Riedel tequila glass.
Distinct nose of agave with slight floral undertones and a hint of oak on the back end. The initial flavor is light, giving way to a strong sweetness in the body that lingers on the tongue. There is just enough oak to cut the sweet flavors in the finish, and very little alcohol burn is present. This is a very enjoyable, reasonably-priced tequila that stays true to characteristics I expect in a reposado.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
96
Aroma-Nose 
 
96
Initial Taste 
 
97
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
98
Price 
 
98
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by TequilaGuy March 12, 2010
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (19)

one of my first reposado's i tasted ,still one of the best out there,good flavor and very smooth

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Piña August 18, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (260)

Tasted on 8/16/08 out of high ball glass. This is a great reposado. Usually, I lean towards a blanco and second anejos. But this reposado stands out to me. A great sipper. I'm just a huge fan of the whole El Tesoro line.

Aroma: Smoke, agave, and wood.
Initial Taste: On tip of tongue, its sweet with no bitterness, a thin mouth feel.
Body: Excellent body of agave, citrus, and wood. The thing I liked about this body was that the wood was very faint and not overbearing.
Finish: A semi heated finish of medium duration.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
97
Body 
 
97
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
91
Price 
 
93
Presentation 
 
94
Reviewed by QuesoGrande June 02, 2008
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (10)

El Tesoro Reposado has an excellent blend of agave an oak flavors. On the rocks this is one of my favorites to sip on.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
86
Aroma-Nose 
 
88
Initial Taste 
 
87
Body 
 
84
Finish 
 
88
Enjoyability 
 
87
Price 
 
84
Presentation 
 
85
Reviewed by AgaveBonita November 24, 2007
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

El Tesoro De Don Felipe Reposado NOM 1139 Tasted 11/14/2007: Color reminiscent of Champagne. Legs weak but oily. Rapid breakdown and branching from top to bottom. Very spotty at the top of the swirl after time. Smells of floral from the bottom and increases steadily with the rise to the top rim. Earthy start, strong pepper middle and honey oak finish with very little residual aftertaste.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
87
Aroma-Nose 
 
86
Initial Taste 
 
87
Body 
 
85
Finish 
 
88
Enjoyability 
 
89
Price 
 
87
Presentation 
 
86
Reviewed by Tequila Joe May 27, 2007
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (148)

El Tesoro Reposado NOM 1139 Tasted 12/20/06. The tequila is a pale yellow color and has moderate floral and earth aromas. Once you get past the moderate nose, you can smell mild notes of spice, smoke, and fruit. On the tip of the tongue the tequila is mellow and soft but yet has a full intensity of taste and has a medium and oily feeling in the mouth. While the tequila has a low bitterness, it is actually fairly sweet. Now onto flavor. The flavor has mild agave, earth, fruit, spicy, and floral attributes. The tequilas finish is a medium duration of flavor followed by a tingly alcohol feeling. Overall, I rated this tequila at the B+ level.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
91
Initial Taste 
 
97
Body 
 
97
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
92
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by chekm8 April 11, 2007
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

El Tesoro repo was my 2nd big tequila I drank. I went from Herradura reposado, to El Tesoro Repo, to what I drink most now...Casa Noble Repo.

I love the story of how it's made, I love the constancy of the product, I love the taste, but I hate the new bottle.

The original bottle style was more suited to the story of how it's made in the old ways.

I haven't tasted it in some time so I won't post specific details. Next time I have a caballito I'll come back and add more!

Was this review helpful to you? 
11 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2  
Ordering