El Espolon Tequila Reposado http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/5a/7d/1d/333_el-espolon-tequila-reposado-n_1288242413.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     April 06, 2007    
 
0
 
90 (16)
90763   0   3   0   27
16 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by El Gnombre July 09, 2017
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (3)

Espolon Tequila Reposado

This review after the second bottle of Espolon Reposado. The fact that I bought it again tells me I must have liked it.Has a great nose with agave and hints of vanilla. Ditto for the initial taste...vanilla,agave and a hints honey smoothness. This tequila has a great body...well rounded and the finish offers a nice even glow every time. Very enjoyable on its own or in a mix whether in a perfect margarita or a Vampiro shooter at room temperature.The price?...was right @ $24 a bottle. Great buy and I don't know why the packaging only gets an 88 overall... I liked it and give it a 95. Viva Dia de los Muertos motif!... Works for me.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
90
Aroma-Nose 
 
89
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
91
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
80
Reviewed by SD Sipper January 11, 2015
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (36)

Tasted 1/3/15 from a Riedel Tequila Glass.
Appearance: Pale amber color.
Aroma: A mild aroma of agave, oak, caramel, and fruit.
Initial Taste: Very smooth agave and oak with light vanilla and pear flavors and a subtle earth note.
Body: Medium body with slow tears on the glass and light, buttery mouth feel. The flavors are not real complex but balance each other nicely.
Finish: Medium-length smooth finish of agave, oak, and vanilla notes followed by a mild agave kick, fading into a slight wood or earthy after taste.
Price: $18.99 to $29.99 (RRP: $24.99)
Presentation: A short squat bottle with a synthetic cork stopper. The artwork on the bottle label is a traditional “Dia de los Muertos” style, which I do not find appealing. (80)

This reposado is a good value in $20 price range. It is versatile in that it is a good mixer and also a decent sipping tequila. However, the flavors aren’t very robust or overly complex, which is what you would expect for a value brand.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
90
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
86
Body 
 
88
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Tequila Drinker in Calgary January 03, 2014
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

Espolon Reposado

Color - Light yellow almost a 10k gold.
Aroma - Sweet agave, Peppery, Oily, citrus.
Initial Taste - Smooth, oily, agave, slight vanilla, and very peppery.
Body - Sweet agave, nice oily mouthfeel, vanilla, citrus, loads of pepper on the mid palate.
Finish - Oily with a medium length finish.
Enjoyability Quite enjoyably, especially for the price.

Great solid Repo for the price tag. I would recommend this product to anyone, its very versatile.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
90
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
91
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
91
Price 
 
91
Presentation 
 
89
Reviewed by duffneggs October 21, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (23)

I was really pleased to see this tequila become available in Ontario. It's exactly what I had hoped it would be; a solid, tasty reposado at a good price.

Initially I smelled agave and cinnamon, some vanilla. More vanilla on the initial taste with a hint of the wood. Nice legs in the glass and a bit of spice to finish. I suspect this will become a regular in my house.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
90
Aroma-Nose 
 
91
Initial Taste 
 
89
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
91
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
89
Reviewed by coupe October 26, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (11)

Tried El Espolón Reposado at a friend's house, room temperature out of a shot glass. I've seen it in stores and the bottle is just different enough to be interesting. At the onset, I didn't get much vanilla aroma, but there was definitely a sweetness, maybe more of a light citrus or mango fruit? Has a good consistency in the glass; it is ever so slightly oily with nice adhesion, or legs. Initial agave and alcohol hit subsides nicely into a balance of flavor and mild burn going down. Aftertaste definitely shows signs of the charred wood and agave; not overpowering, but still slightly complex. El Espolón Reposado is a good all around reposado with nice natural taste that finishes clean. I could mix this stuff or sip on it no problem.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
91
Enjoyability 
 
91
Price 
 
97
Presentation 
 
92
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist January 28, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

A great value tequila...period.

Aroma: Agave, vanilla and cinnamon. Very nice.
Initial Taste: Sweet taste with a lot of vanilla. Very pleasant.
Body: A little light and oily. The agave comes forward the spices come through a bit more.
Finish: Basic, but pleasant finish. A bit of alcohol and spice tingle to round out a very nice drink.

For $20, you can't get a better tequila. I'd recommend it to anyone. Very basic, but cool bottle.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
89
Aroma-Nose 
 
88
Initial Taste 
 
89
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
85
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
85
Reviewed by victorg January 25, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (10)

Good quality for the price.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
90
Aroma-Nose 
 
91
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
88
Finish 
 
89
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Piña February 03, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (260)

Tasted at home out of a snifter. Espolon reposado is a great value. I really love the aroma on this one. THat was my favorite part. That being said, however, this is a reposado that doesnt over impress, but doesnt dissapoint. At $24, this reposado is a great value.

Aroma: A nice comlex nose of pepper, vanilla, cinnamon, and agave. Wow!
Initial Taste: A semi oily mouth feel, a sweet entry with no bitterness. Initial taste of slight vsnillsa.
Body: A simple body of agave smoke, and cinnamon.
Finish: A slightly heated finish of short duration with a woody agave lingering.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
90
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
88
Finish 
 
88
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
91
Reviewed by cdnteqlovr October 05, 2010
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (24)

As mentioned in one of the previous reviews the bottle I have is the 38% alc/vol.
Pleasant aroma of lemon, the initial taste as previously mentioned is a bit hot and does settle down extremely quickly with some honey and vanilla on the palate. The body is pleasant but not spectacular as is the finish overall quite enjoyable, the price is good for 46$ cdn and the presentation was rustic and again pretty good for the price. I will be buying this again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
85
Aroma-Nose 
 
85
Initial Taste 
 
83
Body 
 
83
Finish 
 
91
Enjoyability 
 
84
Price 
 
80
Presentation 
 
80
Reviewed by sdnerf May 05, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (53)

El Espolon NOM-1440, 80 proof (ref to the review below) purchased 4/15/10 from local store $40, sampled from a 6 oz. shot glass neat. The bottle looks old school but is not. Consists of cheap clear glass with stickers doing the rest. The cork top is good for closure. This is a darker repo, med straw in color, leaves some legs down the glass and minimal gathering. Sweet floral/agave nose with alcohol coming through. The body is medium thick with a medicinal taste. This tequila is all about the finish, nice flurry of heat and spice that lingers for a bit, then leaves an oak after taste. Overall, not too bad, but for $40 I would balk at a repurchase.

Was this review helpful to you? 
16 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2  
Ordering