El Espolon Tequila Reposado http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/5a/7d/1d/333_el-espolon-tequila-reposado-n_1288242413.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     April 06, 2007    
 
0
 
90 (16)
98441   0   3   0   27
16 results - showing 11 - 16
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
91
Initial Taste 
 
91
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
94
Reviewed by ChavoCheque September 23, 2009
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

I should mention this is a 38% alcohol (produced for and purchased in Mexico) version.

Nose is dry, oaky, almost pleasantly dusty. Nothing special about the mouthfeel. The taste is mildly oaky, very floral, slightly fruity and yet still somehow a bit dry. Well-balanced. Finish is smooth but unremarkable.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
90
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
88
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
92
Reviewed by deedub October 19, 2008
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (47)

I have not been a great fancier of reposados, but this one, coupled with its price point makes me rethink things.

Packaging with its metal export label is simple but elegant. Nose is rich and full of agave, earth and spice. Sweet attack caresses the tongue as it rolls to a pleasantly bitter body which offers more agave and spice. Aroma deepens with more bright agave and wood notes. Finishes moderately with a very agreeable tingle.

This is a well crafted and well priced reposado.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
86
Aroma-Nose 
 
88
Initial Taste 
 
85
Body 
 
87
Finish 
 
85
Enjoyability 
 
86
Price 
 
89
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Piña July 23, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (260)

Tasted 07/23/08 out of double ball glass. Espolon reposado, for what it is, is a good reposado. Just not the kind of reposado I prefer.

Aroma: Mild agave nose, with a bolder nose of smoke and caramel.
Initial Taste: A thin mouth feel. On the tip of the tongue, with heated intensity, its fairly sweet with slight bitterness.
Body: Mellows out to agave, floral, oak and intense spice.
Finish: Of medium duration with a slight alcohol burn.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
91
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
89
Price 
 
91
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by bridgje1966 December 31, 2007
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

Interesting bottle with a beautiful color. The nose is wonderful and the type of Agave, wood, floral & spice nose that I like. It comes across the palate a little hot but smooths out quickly and finishes lingering and positive. On the Rocks Sipping Tequila.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
87
Aroma-Nose 
 
88
Initial Taste 
 
85
Body 
 
87
Finish 
 
89
Enjoyability 
 
86
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
87
Reviewed by Tequila Joe May 27, 2007
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (148)

Espolon Reposado NOM 1440 Tasted 12/31/06. Espolon Reposado is a yellow golden color. Aromas consist of intense fruit, floral, and spice followed by moderate earth and smoke scents. The first sip of the tequila has a low bitterness and is sweet. The types of flavors Espolon Reposado has include intense agave, earth, floral, and spice. On the mild side, there are fruity and smokey flavors. The tequila finished with a medium-to-long duration of flavor and numbing alcohol intensity. I awarded Espolon Reposado the rating of B/B+ overall.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
100
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
97
Enjoyability 
 
88
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
85
Reviewed by juan anejo May 02, 2007
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (6)

I really like this tequila there is a strong carmel nose with a medium burn at the end. one of my favorite sipping reposados

Was this review helpful to you? 
16 results - showing 11 - 16
1 2  
Ordering