Corralejo Tequila Reposado http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/d3/d0/52/177_Corralejo_reposado_tequila_1171430024.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     February 13, 2007    
 
0
 
90 (18)
126265   0   2   0   33
18 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
83
Aroma-Nose 
 
85
Initial Taste 
 
70
Body 
 
80
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
85
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Robq March 26, 2017
Top 1000 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (0)

Nose and (especially) initial taste are almost obnoxiously vanilla. Body has more complexity and pepperiness. Finish is balanced and refreshing, with hints of cantaloupe.

Not a bad reposado, but overhyped and overrated in my view.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
91
Presentation 
 
97
Reviewed by sangrita December 31, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (3)

Not triple distilled, but still excellent

I generally distinguish 100% tequilas in one of two ways: As mixers and as sippers. This one plays to both. Of the dozens of lines I've tried over the years, Corralejo is very consistent brand across the different ages and distillations. My favorite is the repo triple distilled. This repo is not quite at that level in terms of smoothness and mouthfeel. This comes off with a heavier feel and more burn. A great mixer and a good sipper. I have served this to newbies as a sipper and they're hooked. Then they try the triple distilled and appreciate it even more. This repo is an excellent value, middle ground tequila. Unfortunately at about $35 it is a bit overpriced compared to similar value or bargain reposados. Many equally good repos can be found at about $20-25/750ml in Pennsylvania.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
96
Aroma-Nose 
 
97
Initial Taste 
 
96
Body 
 
96
Finish 
 
97
Enjoyability 
 
97
Price 
 
100
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Ssimon December 11, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (11)

The Best Bargain There Is

This is one of the oldest and most authentic tequilas around. What sets it apart are the strikingly floral nose, the strong initial agave taste, the extremely thick body and lastly the quick transition from brief pepper to a smooth finish. This Reposado blows others three times it price out of the water. This tequila is excellent for both shots (because it goes down smooth) and as a sipper because it is fairly complex but not overwhelming. If your end game is to make Margaritas you should go with the blanco from this line, as it is less complex. In my opinion this and Chinaco are the two best reposado values on the market. You should never pay over $25.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
89
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
89
Body 
 
89
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
89
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
91
Reviewed by mjfuller53 December 23, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (22)

Tasted on 12/23/12 from a Reidel glass. I'm pleased to give this tequila a pretty good review because I'm trying it again after almost 2 years ago getting a corked bottle. That's a nasty taste I never want to remember, but Corralejo was one of my "first loves" after wasting my youth on Gold crap from a distillery whose initials are JC. I am happy to renew my love affair with Corralejo because it's a fine all-purpose juice at a good price point. I purchased the 750ml bottle from Total Wine and More for $24.95 (reg. price).

I can sip it or make margaritas; it's fine with me. It has a strong vanilla smell and taste, but with pepper also. Some others say it's fruity, but I can't say that. That's fine with me because I never liked fruity wines either. It has a fine aftertaste; not too harsh, but with just enough kick. I don't want to burp it up two hours later and I don't do that with this brand. Overall, it's very enjoyable and I like the bottle very much although because it's tall I can't put it with my other liquor. So I told my wife it's time to move. Salud.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
91
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by djsuisav1 June 22, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

This bottle is awesome for the price. its my go to bottle. In my opinion its far better then Patron hands down! Great heavy taste!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
97
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
94
Presentation 
 
85
Reviewed by tequilajedi March 19, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Very Thick and sweet. Heavy initial agave taste. Very easy to go down which is why i rated the finish so well. Great for sipping. Not an overwhelming aroma. Presentation is average. Highly recommeded for larger social events as I could see many people liking this tequila.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
89
Aroma-Nose 
 
91
Initial Taste 
 
89
Body 
 
89
Finish 
 
88
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
93
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist February 23, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

I really like this tequila and always try to keep it around. It's generally very easily found. The price is right when it's on sale ($25-29 a bottle). And it makes some of the best margaritas around.

Aroma: Sweet agave nose for sure. A bit of grass and spice in there, but not at all overpowering.
Initial Taste: Not as sweet as the nose would suggest. A decent agave flavor with light aging notes of wood.
Body: Medium body. Some other notes start complimenting the agave like butter and oak. Nice complex taste on the tongue for a cheaper tequila.
Finish: Fairly short with a bit of extra burn.

The bottle looks nice, but is nothing special. The reposado is the best effort from the Corralejo line. For a well priced, all purpose tequila, this one is a winner.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
90
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
89
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
94
Presentation 
 
92
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist January 30, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

A great value brand of tequila for all purposes.

Aroma: Good basic tequila nose. Agave, earth, spice.
Initial Taste: Agave forward with good sweetness. Light accent tastes of spice along with it.
Body: Semi-oily. A little buttery almost. Not as sweet as a lot of tequilas. this one is right in the middle.
Finish: A little too earthy for my tastes, but a pleasant burn and it's pretty smooth.

In all honesty, this is not a go to tequila for me for sipping, but it is certainly good enough to do so. However, this tequila is one of my very favorites for mixing because it has a nice sweet an complex flavor at a good price. It's easily available too which makes it easy to recommend to anyone. At $25, it's definitely a bottle worth keeping around the house for multiple purposes.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
88
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
85
Body 
 
85
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
80
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by victorg January 26, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (10)

Good quality Tequila. Can't go wrong for the price!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
91
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
94
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
100
Reviewed by jmsmusic December 29, 2010
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (6)

Okay, here are the rules of shopping for alcohol as a foreign tourist:

1. If the bottle looks too fancy, the quality inside will not live up.
2. If every tourist shop has a massive display right up front, avoid it.
3. If those same shops display a giant inflatable bottle in their entrance, that product will be overpriced and probably crap... so avoid it.

There are exceptions to every rule (or three rules).

Corralejo's reposado is very hyped and marketed. It is also available in the US (at least in the southern states) which tends to lessen a foreign product's mystique (I'm looking at you, Stella Artios). However, despite every red flag, Corralejo Reposado is a great choice if you are looking for a quality tequila in the $20 US price range. It is smooth from start to finish, easy on the nose and has a full flavour that lingers without ever being harsh. There is an alcohol aftertaste but it is a pleasant one, much like a good Islay scotch or Kentucky bourbon would have. It is also a very versatile tequila as it works well as a mixer (in a margarita or simply mixed with fresh juices) as well as it does neat... which is rare. Corralejo Reposado is one of the few tequilas that I will sip as its own back, while drinking a mango margarita made with it as well. It has a natural sweetness to its finish that allows it to stand on its own, even after drinking a sweetened cocktail. My advise is to ignore those that might question it as "too commercial to be authentic" and pick up a bottle with confidence. Finally, yes the bottle itself is the best looking in the business... purchase the 700 ml or larger for full grand effect on your bar as the bottles get taller by volume.

Was this review helpful to you? 
18 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2  
Ordering