Chinaco Tequila Reposado http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/95/29/bc/155_chinaco_reposado_tequila_1171215217.jpg Hot

Submitted by TimBuck2     February 11, 2007    
 
0
 
95 (11)
36514   0   2   0   40
11 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
97
Aroma-Nose 
 
96
Initial Taste 
 
97
Body 
 
96
Finish 
 
98
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
93
Presentation 
 
97
Reviewed by tmou August 05, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (36)

A big beautiful nose: aromas of melted butter, agave, vanilla, wood, and some fruit for sweetness. Mouthfeel is very big, immediately giving off caramel notes while resting on the tongue. Then the attack - a big attack - of roasted sweet agave and woody spice, which slowly - slowly - brings on a finish of dark spice and smoky heat, moving into a long after-finish of numbing woody sweetness. Chinaco gives you everything you want in a tequila: great big character, bold flavours, and terrific heat and spice. One of the very best repos out there. A complete original.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
94
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
96
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
93
Presentation 
 
96
Reviewed by SD Sipper July 05, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (36)

Tasted on 7/4/14 in a Riedel tequila glass.
Purchased on sale at BevMo for $39.99.

After enjoying a number of quality tequilas recommended by tequila.net reviewers I decided that it was time for me to start contributing to our collective tequila educational process. This was the first premium tequila I purchased and certainly one of the best!

Aroma - agave, vanilla, and oak.
Initial Taste - warm with rich flavors of agave, vanilla, and oak nicely balanced.
Body - a medium body that is excellent but complex with a very nice balance of flavors.
Finish - a long and exquisite finish with lingering notes of agave, vanilla, oak and peppery spice.

This is just a wonderful sipping tequila that you don't want to finish. The bottle has a simple, yet elegant design, that looks great on my bar. For my first premium tequila, I really picked a winner!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
94
Reviewed by jagghb May 02, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

Love Chinaco

This is overal a great tequila, my only complaint would be consistency sometime not the best, but the great thing about it is that it taste wonderful. It is a smooth very silky tequila, notes are elegant with sweetness and oak that are very well balanced. Body is medium to full and color will be straw with a bit of gold. The finish is nice and spicy with fruit sweetness and caramel with a bit of smoke.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
94
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
96
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist January 17, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

To me, the Chinaco line represents everything about Tequila that I enjoy. The reposado is probably my favorite.

Aroma - Agave, vanilla and oak.
Initial Taste - Sweet with a hint of heat and wood.
Body - The balance among all of the flavors is great. Agave and caramel for sweetness...wood and a pleasant heat follows.
Finish - Wonderful smoothness and burn at the end with all of the other flavors.

Just a great tequila. It's got a nice price point and a cool bottle and you have yourself the total package of what a tequila should be.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
89
Reviewed by blueridgerider November 27, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

This is what a Reposado should taste like. I cannot get enough of it, luckily they sell it in my state run liquor store. Complex but balanced, it is definitely worth picking up a bottle or two.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
96
Aroma-Nose 
 
94
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
96
Finish 
 
98
Enjoyability 
 
97
Price 
 
93
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by JungleLarry January 11, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (39)

Wow. This one's a keeper. I'll just jump straight into it.


Aroma: Very mild, yet filled with rich scents of oak and vanilla. Pleasant, but not striking.
Initial taste: Smooth, warm, and soft with hints of caramel and sweet agave. Even when it first hits your lips you're given a hint of what's to come.
Body: Caramel and agave continue, but the oak comes roaring in. A little smoky, but quite refreshing. Beautifully balanced in all aspects.
Finish: This is the best part; the finish is long and the oak just lingers over a subtle agave fade.

Really, really good. This is my favorite reposado. This is one of those tequilas that will truly stand out on your palette after trying a dozen others. Great character, complexity, and flavor.

You would be doing yourself a disservice if you don't find this and try it for yourself.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
94
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
94
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
93
Reviewed by Piña December 12, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (260)

Tasted out of a snifter on 12/12/08. This reposado is simply amazing. To me, its the quintessential reposado. Chinaco is an extremely consistent line and this reposado could quite possibly be my favorite reposado. A pure sipper, not to be mixed, in my opinion! Chinaco is just an excellent line, and it's in my top 5 favorite lines. The thing I like about Chinaco is that no matter which product of theirs I choose to sip, I'm always very satisfied.

Aroma: A soft nose of caramel, fruit and oak.
Initial Taste: A semi oily mouth feel, a semi heated (in a good way) entry, its sweet with no bitterness. First taste is caramel.
Body: An excellent body with lots of character consisting of agave, caramel, wood, fruits and spices. So complex, yet so perfect!
Finish: A heated finish of short duration with an agave and wood lingering.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
96
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
94
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by 1tequila2 October 02, 2008
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (37)

Tequila Chinaco Reposado NOM 1127 tasted 10/2/08 from a Riedel glass. I ordered this from Shopper's Vineyard and paid 44.00/750ml. A clear light pale yellow color with long quick legs and lots of pearls. Loads of earthy agave, a fruity sweetness, and mild alcohol on the nose. A med to thin mouthfeel. First taste is simple and appears mild but then develops into a one-two heated agave punch turning hotter as it lingers. The aftertaste is intense but in a satisfying way. On the stronger side, much more so at the end than upon entry. Dominant agave and heat throughout the tasting finish. Sharp and dry with some spice and wood tones and not much else. A strong pure agave reposado sure to please thoses who like their tequila on the bold side. Presentation is on the simple side with nice smooth lines, cork stopper, and silk screened labeling.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
97
Aroma-Nose 
 
96
Initial Taste 
 
97
Body 
 
98
Finish 
 
97
Enjoyability 
 
97
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
97
Reviewed by senor pescados June 18, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (43)

Tasted in a caballito on June 18, 2008 fast dropping legs sticking to the side of the glass.

Chinaco Reposado

Color: very pale golden brown
Aroma: melted butter
Taste: dark chocolate , light oil mouthfeel that has a burn numbing the entire mouth

Another great Tequila from Chinaco ! This reposado is top notch with a light oily feel in the mouth and a light aged taste with a burn of a blanco. The Chinaco makes it into my top reposado along with at the time of this writing Sol Azul, Casa Noble & Corralejo.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
96
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
93
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by wichie13 June 04, 2007
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (10)

Cork stopper with wooden top. Old bottles had a handblown look, but were not truly hand blown. New bottles are the same shape but clear glass. Old, old bottles had a screwtop metal cap and resembled a standard bottle/shape tall and round, with a paper label. Ok here it goes. This Tequila is a very light straw yellow coloured Reposado, in the wrong light you could even mistaken it for a Blanco.Very thick uniform legs as you swirl it in the glass. It is aged for 8 months On the nose right now all we can detect is a mineral earthy smell is the best way for me to describe it. Very pleasant to me and one that I usually connect with a stone ground tequila but I don't think Chinaco is. Maybe a tad bit of citrus on a deep inhalation which quickly gives way to a bit of nasal burn. With the "hand rub" test i think I detect some peppermint. The attack is warm agave intensity,but mucho suave.Dry not sweet. Not so much as a burn but as a tingle. Pepper and spice.With subtle Vanilla/Caramel hints. Long mild finish with a tad bit of anise at the very end. In all a very enjoyable Tequila IMHO as can be verified by my empty bottle.I need another bottle!

Was this review helpful to you? 
11 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2  
Ordering