Cazadores Tequila Reposado http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/ec/72/81/919_cazadores_tequila_reposado_1211387292.jpg Hot

Submitted by El Jefe     May 20, 2008    
 
0
 
85 (14)
130382   0   1   0   23
14 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
79
Aroma-Nose 
 
65
Initial Taste 
 
80
Body 
 
80
Finish 
 
77
Enjoyability 
 
86
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
65
Reviewed by melangel August 30, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Still a contender for middle-shelf Repo champion

Simply, this is a good middle ground reposado (price-wise). It's a good reposado for introducing shot drinkers into the sipping clan, although surprisingly cloying and heavy on the vanilla for old hands. It's got just enough burn to kick a spur into your side. Not much aroma beyond a powerful agave sweetness. Initial hit will be a sweet surprise for people used to snappy blancos or cheap tequilas, but the finish is harsh and lacking in complexity. At its usual price point, it's a decent choice for mixing or sipping. As for the packaging, I don't care a bit... but for what it's worth, the bottle is boring and the label is mediocre, if you're into displaying these things as works of art.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
84
Aroma-Nose 
 
82
Initial Taste 
 
85
Body 
 
85
Finish 
 
84
Enjoyability 
 
84
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
80
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist February 27, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

A very basic and easy to find tequila. For people who drink mixtos, this will be a nice revelation. For people who drink a lot of tequilas, this will likely just be a ho hum juice.

Aroma: Not a great agave nose, but the faint agave smell and alcohol is pretty much the only aroma.
Initial Taste: Sweet taste. Agave, not much else. The mellowing of aging makes it more pleasant than the blanco.
Body: A bit of agave and wood. Sits well on the tongue, but not a lot of complexity or strength in the flavors.
Finish: Short finish, a slight alcohol burn. Nothing spectacular, but relatively smooth.

This is a tequila that I wouldn't seek out, but I also would turn down. It's good enough for any tequila aficionado, but with so many quality brands out there, it's not one that I would look for as a top choice either.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
90
Aroma-Nose 
 
88
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
87
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
83
Reviewed by lutzpsbc June 11, 2011
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

After a long weekend of enjoying beer in London with a friend, my doctor informed me of a food allergy I had developed that forced me to eliminate Gluten from my diet. When I asked him what my alcohol of choice should be he emailed me with his favorite Tequila, Cazadores Reposado.

Five years later Cazadores has become my staple alcoholic beverage. Its smooth, light flavor can be enjoyed in moderation and excess. This versatile Tequila is great neat, on ice or mixed with your favorite complement.

Priced less than inferior Tequila's such as Patron there is no better Tequila for the money available in the US.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
88
Aroma-Nose 
 
89
Initial Taste 
 
88
Body 
 
87
Finish 
 
87
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
80
Reviewed by DaMax85 April 27, 2011
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

Hate the bottle, but love this tequila. Cazadores Reposado, for me, is the staple reposado. It's a great value, it's a smooth tequila, and can be enjoyed as a shot, on the rocks, or in a margarita/paloma. When it's $30 in the store, I might be more likely to want to get a bottle of Herradura or Correlejo, but for the $25 it is typically priced at, it is an exceptional value. If you are used to drinking Hornitos Reposado, El Jimador, or 1800 Reposado, you'll definitely notice a difference with Cazadores. It's a more "thoughtful" tequila. it has more nuance. You'll taste more vanilla, there will be more lingering undertones, and it will have a "thicker" tecture than it's competitors. It's a connoisseur's tequila at a price anyone can appreciate. One of my personal favorites.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
75
Aroma-Nose 
 
85
Initial Taste 
 
75
Body 
 
75
Finish 
 
75
Enjoyability 
 
75
Price 
 
50
Presentation 
 
75
Reviewed by A Reliable Source September 20, 2010
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

I had high hopes for this one, but it kinda let me down. It isn't bad, but it isn't great either. There are lower-priced reposados that are better, notably, Hornitos and El Jimador. Cazadores should be smoother than it is, in my opinion, and the taste is pretty one-dimensional--no special flavor(s), no complexity. I doubt that I'll buy it again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
80
Aroma-Nose 
 
85
Initial Taste 
 
70
Body 
 
86
Finish 
 
86
Enjoyability 
 
80
Price 
 
93
Presentation 
 
50
Reviewed by shovel August 09, 2010
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (8)

It's a pretty passable tequila, I'm never ashamed of it, never turn it down, and it's a good buy when you don't have much money to spend. Certainly better than nearly anything else for the same $$.

The flavor could be better, but it's a clean taste, not overly sweet and not overly harsh.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
86
Aroma-Nose 
 
87
Initial Taste 
 
88
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
85
Enjoyability 
 
80
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
85
Reviewed by DonMarco February 10, 2010
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

Cazadores is best described as Cowboy tequila. Unlike most of the wonderful tequilas we review this, actually has a big alcohol kick. Seems like it would be great after a rough day.
This is the premium tequila of choice in Mexico, and probably because it's no frills good tequila.
Cazadores has a nice yellow color a bit lighter than honey, and it's moderately clear, slightly dull if you will. Not a very complex aroma, slightly vanilla and nutty smelling.
The initial taste reminds you that you are drinking a heavy spirit, Blue agave dominates the flavor and as you swallow back a big alcohol burn that warms you up as it goes down.
I like when a drink reminds you that you are drinking alcohol, but if you prefer not to taste the harshness of the alcohol I would suggest you use this mixed rather than straight up.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
85
Aroma-Nose 
 
85
Initial Taste 
 
85
Body 
 
82
Finish 
 
86
Enjoyability 
 
83
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
92
Reviewed by TequilaGuy January 08, 2010
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (19)

This is really good for the price,it seems that alot of people don't like Reposado's ,but I do and the only way to really find what you like is to try as many as you can find and make up your own mind, they all have a different taste,so I say buy a bottle and you decide. i've tried only about 25 different brands of all that they offer. from silvers ,Reposado's and Anejos ,some good,some bad.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
81
Aroma-Nose 
 
80
Initial Taste 
 
85
Body 
 
75
Finish 
 
78
Enjoyability 
 
88
Price 
 
75
Presentation 
 
80
Reviewed by drawnad January 20, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (52)

I could see how some people would enjoy this, but it is not for me. Admittedly, I don't love reposado's to begin with, but this one in particular just didn't work for me.

The flavor of the wood in particular was just off to me - a very pronounced oak and very overpowering to the agave. I would have given the bottle away, but it tastes okay after I've had a few glasses of something else so I am slowly finishing it off that way.

Aside from that there was a nice presence of the agave, a slightly oily body, and a moderate burn on the aftertaste.

(I would have rated it lower based on just my tastes, but I could see how some people would like the distinct wood flavor.) I wouldn't purchase again, nor will I drink it again after my current bottle is gone.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
91
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
92
Reviewed by Don Vato Loco September 30, 2008
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

This tequila is like an old friend, it is my go to tequila, low cost and always reliable. I found out about this tequila from the Mexicans, and there is a reason why this is the largest selling tequila with the Mexican consumer, because they know something most Americans have yet to learn. This tequila is as comfortable as your favorite pair of shoes.

It lacks the buttery body of a tequila like Oro Azul, and the warmth of something like Corazon Blanco, but it has incredible distribution, and a reasonable price for such dependable quality, and I enjoy knowing I always have have a reliable friend near by (I travel a lot)

As far as presentation, no, it doesn't have a cool looking bottle, but it has something even better, it has a bottle design that doesn't waste tequila by dribbling it down the side, which is a fairly rare attribute and much appreciated. (Corazon also has a great tequila pouring design) The pour design is important if you pour as many as I do in a row - lol - and this should actually even be a separate ratings category, given what good tequila costs. Therefore, I am giving it a good presentation score for the cool restrictor plate that keeps you from spilling any.

When you are at the beach, or on a business trip, and don't have 150 choices of what to buy, pick up this great reliable reposado, you will thank me!

Was this review helpful to you? 
14 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2  
Ordering