1921 Tequila Reserva Especial Reposado http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/59/14/d9/311_1921_tequila_reserva_especial_1182580378.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     March 29, 2007    
 
0
 
93 (7)
46079   0   1   0   23
7 results - showing 1 - 7
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
91
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
91
Price 
 
89
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by schultzi February 19, 2011
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Tasted 2/18/11 out of a Riedel glass.
The nose is earthy with a strong caramel character that is immediately evident in the initial taste. The body has an outstanding mouthfeel and begins to blend oak and pepper with the upfront sweetness. The finish is smooth, and my only gripe is that the oak never quite finds equal footing with the buttery-caramel flavors that dominate in the mouth. I like my reposados with a bit more oak structure, but this tequila is very enjoyable if you are looking for a slightly sweeter experience. I need to try the anejo! I'm not thrilled with the price, but I love the traditional presentation and wax seal.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
96
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
92
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by drawnad January 04, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (52)

I was pretty impressed with this. This is one of the more complex tequila's I know of, and I think the better nose and palate someone has the more they would appreciate and enjoy this. I don't claim to be an expert by any means, but I definitely could identify lots of different notes all throughout.

The nose was very fruity, strong hints of lemon and other citrus fruits, along with a very nice presence of smoke, oak, and almost a pepper/spiciness. Entry was sweet, mostly with fruit and agave flavors, again the citrus notes being pretty evident. In the body all of the elements in the aroma come to life and you really can taste each of those flavors, along with a smokey oak flavor, but not overly stated, and a hint of buttery caramel. The finish was nice as some other flavors and some of the sweeter agave and other notes came back. I kind of liked how I experienced a sweet flavor/smell and entry, then a rich full-bodied smokey buttery flavor, and then the sweetness again at the end. Very nice.

Very smooth for a rep, but I'm an anejo lover so that was the one piece that might have been a touch better for me. But excellent for a rep.

This reminded me of El Tesoro's anejo quite a bit. It was almost like a more flavor-packed version of it actually. I am a big fan of ET, so that was a great thing for me. For the $45-ish I paid for the bottle it was well worth it and I highly recommend giving it a try if you have the chance.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
94
Price 
 
91
Presentation 
 
93
Reviewed by Piña October 01, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (260)

Tasted on 10/01/08 out of a snifter glass. I gotta say, I was very impressed with this reposado. VERY impressed. A very smooth and complex experience from start to finish. Quite possibly my favorite reposado. You'd have to be a fool to mix this gem. The best part was that this bottle was a birthday gift! What a great friend!

Aroma: A very pleasant nose of agave, caramel, and fruit.
Initial Taste: A semi oily mouth feel. Upon entry, a nice sweet with no bitterness.
Body: A wonderful agave body, complimented by caramel, fruit and spices.
Finish: A semi heated finish of medium duration, with a nice agave aftertaste.

I'm gonna have another sip...

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
94
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
94
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by 1tequila2 September 30, 2008
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (37)

Tequila 1921 Reserva Especial 100% Agave Single Barrel Reposado. NOM 1079 Lote # 198. Tasted 9/30/08 in a Riedel glass. I ordered this from Total Beverage and paid 45.00/750ml. A slightly dull golden yellow color. First nose is brandy, wood, sweet butter, and a cherry fruit essence. An amazing nose full on agave and mild on alcohol. A medium to heavy oily body with long slow legs. Intial taste is bold and intense, not too sweet with the right amount of heat and a sustained finish. It goes down extra smooth with no bitterness in the aftertaste leaving a very pleasant agave taste on the tongue. The alcohol is balanced and complements the overall taste and nose. Presentation involves one of the more unusual bottles and a clay label. The wax and cork are a bit tricky but otherwise very nice. This tequila well deserves the label Especial. I definitely agree with the many accolades this tequila has received as it is one of my favorites when I'm in the mood for something other than a blanco.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
92
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
92
Reviewed by Tequila Joe March 23, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (148)

1921 Reserva Reposado NOM 1079 Tasted on 10/19/07 at 8:00pm. I tried this tequila, which cost me $4, at the Davis Graduate Tequila Bar and tasted it in a snifter. With a yellow golden color, this tequila has intense floral and fruit aromas. Other aromas include mild spice and earth with hints of caramel, vanilla, and smoke. The tequila has a medium mouth feel and on the first sip is sweet and syrupy with no bitterness. 1921 Reserva Reposado has numerous arrays of flavors due to its 9 months of aging. Intense flavors of floral and fruit are followed by moderate notes of caramel and agave. With a long duration of flavor, tastes of mild spice and wood with a hint of vanilla and earth bring this tequila to a numbing finish. 1921 Reserva Reposado has received the rating of 92 points out of 100.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
96
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
97
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
98
Enjoyability 
 
99
Price 
 
93
Presentation 
 
94
Reviewed by Superskunk January 09, 2008
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

I have purchased at least a dozen of the finest "premium tequila" brands over the past year or so: Corzo, Partida, Patron, Cabo, Chinaco, Don Julio, you get the point and 1921 Res. Esp. is by far the best Rpsdo/Anejo tequila I have had so far to date. It had the smoothest taste and left no oily residue as others have. Not too oaky or smokey tasting yet somewhat sweet. TRY this tequila if you haven't yet, very reasonably priced around $60 here in Sin City.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
92
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by chekm8 May 25, 2007
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

This (like clase azul repo) drinks more like an añejo than a repo. It's aged from 8-12 months in charred American oak. It was refreshing to hear that although they could age longer to receive the añejo stamp, the tequila achieved the required taste after only 8 months during the first use of the barrels. The barrels are used only 5 times and each use increases the necessary age. Some were being aged for longer than 12 months by the 5th use. Since Tequila can be elected to be called a Reposado regardless of aging (min of 2 months) 1921 kept the name of Reposado Reserva to be consistent. Each bottle would be the same in taste but the range of aging was anywhere from 8 months to 13 months.

According to Juan Collado, the CRT suggested that this non-añejo was confusing to the market so he came up with a process to steam wash the barrels to that the first use would take longer than 12 months. This would achieve the taste he was looking for while allowing him to label them añejo. Going forward, all Reserva will be called añejo.

The taste of the Reserva was fantastic. Incredibly smooth without too much wood or oakiness. If you are an añejo drinker, it would be hard to pass up the value of 1921 Reserva.

Was this review helpful to you? 
7 results - showing 1 - 7
 
Ordering