Thread: General Question About Mixing Cocktails?

Default General Question About Mixing Cocktails?

Not only am I tequila newbie, I am new to mixing cocktails. All my life, mixing a drink meant putting some ice and water in my Scotch.

Recently, reading about mixing drinks, several times I have seen the instruction to "shake and strain into glass on fresh ice" or something similar. With my Margaritas, I have been shaking the tequila, fresh lime juice, agave nectar, and ice and then dumping ice and all into the glass.

Why would I want to strain just the licquid onto fresh ice?
    Last edited by kudzu; January 8th, 2012 at 03:29 PM. Reason: typo

Quote Originally Posted by kudzu View Post
    Not only am I tequila newbie, I am new to mixing cocktails. All my life, mixing a drink meant putting some ice and water in my Scotch.

Recently, reading about mixing drinks, several times I have seen the instruction to "shake and strain into glass on fresh ice" or something similar. With my Margaritas, I have been shaking the tequila, fresh lime juice, agave nectar, and ice and then dumping ice and all into the glass.

Why would I want to strain just the licquid onto fresh ice?
    Personally, when mixing a margarita, I never strain my drink into another glass with ice. I know that a lot of recipes call for that method. I think that it just tends to unessesarily dilute the drink even further. I like to freeze my margarita glasses so that they are already nice and chilled. When I do pour the drink from shaker to chilled glass, I usually pour in Just a few cubes and then strain in the rest. The only reason I even add a little bit of ice is because it keeps the drink colder longer during these hot Florida days and nights!
    Sip & Savor... please don't shoot!

Salud, Jim

Quote Originally Posted by totallytequila View Post