Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Anyone hear of this? Miel de Maguey

Default Anyone hear of this? Miel de Maguey

I was in Juarez, Mexico a few weeks ago and bought this bottle, Miel de Maguey. It says Destilado de agave below the brand name.

The salesman gave me a sample and it tasted great. I was a little suspicious thinking he had me sample a good tequila and then sold me an inferior one. Out of curiosity I bought the bottle.

[img width=500 height=375]http://i293.photobucket.com/albums/mm50/crash_override1/DSC03789.jpg[/img]

Anyone hear of this brand? I'm thinking its a mixto.

I'm a newbie to good tequila.

MrAgave is offline Administrator

Default Re: Anyone hear of this? Miel de Maguey

Does it have that smokey flavor that most Mezcals have or is more like a tequila? I've never seen that brand, and I would imagine they would put 100% Agave on their bottle as well if it is not a mixto.

How much was it?

I paid $25 for the bottle. It smells like tequila. It has a nice citrus smell but taste kinda harsh. Sorry for the incomplete description, I'm a newb when it comes to tequila.

MrAgave is offline Administrator

Well essentially you are sampling a spirit that is produced the same way as Tequila, but is made outside of the "Tequila Region". There will be more information on the back label, distillery, possibly a web site?

I have sampled a few "Destilado de Agave" products in Mexico, the taste and quality varied quite a bit.

Quote Originally Posted by crashoverride
    I was in Juarez, Mexico a few weeks ago and bought this bottle, Miel de Maguey. It says Destilado de agave below the brand name.

The salesman gave me a sample and it tasted great. I was a little suspicious thinking he had me sample a good tequila and then sold me an inferior one. Out of curiosity I bought the bottle.

[img width=500 height=375]http://i293.photobucket.com/albums/mm50/crash_override1/DSC03789.jpg[/img]

Anyone hear of this brand? I'm thinking its a mixto.