Herradura Seleccion Suprema Tequila Extra Anejo http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/df/5d/e6/58_Herradura_Seleccion_Suprema_1167609173.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     December 31, 2006    
 
0
 
95 (18)
104579   0   1   0   38
18 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by craig2005 December 13, 2014
Last updated: December 29, 2014
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

Very nice and smooth tequila with sweet aroma

This is a very nice tequila. It's got a sweet heavenly aroma with a very faint alcohol smell and a nice smooth taste. Its not as herby as other lowland tequilas either. I didn't find it smokey like other reviewers had mentioned. It's comes in a very nice bottle as well. My biggest issue with this tequila is the price. I've seen this sell for $400. For $400 I'd grab a Clase Azul Anejo or a Gran Patron Burdeos. However, I got mine for $275 so it wasn't too bad.

To sum it up, this is an amazing tequila. Its definitely the best all around sipping tequila I've had in the $200-$300 price range. The aroma alone will have you hooked. Whether or not it's worth the $275 to $400 price point is up to you. At $200 a bottle, this would easily be my go to sipping tequila.

I'd actually like to get another bottle of Clase Azul Anejo and compare the two at the same time. This tequila is pretty good.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
98
Aroma-Nose 
 
98
Initial Taste 
 
98
Body 
 
98
Finish 
 
98
Enjoyability 
 
98
Price 
 
98
Presentation 
 
98
Reviewed by metcalfdds September 03, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (3)

I think this is the best tequila I've ever tasted. Beautiful dark color; agave aroma and flavor not strong; very very smooth; I taste carmel and vanilla and the oak; great, long finish. Superb. I'm not sure I would pay $400-500 for a bottle of any kind of liquor, but I definitely buy this when it can be found for $200-250.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
96
Aroma-Nose 
 
100
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
98
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
97
Price 
 
75
Presentation 
 
97
Reviewed by Rrobinson April 24, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

This is a magnificent tasting tequila. Very light in body and with a wonderful aroma. It is a little on the sweet side. The price is on the high side for an extra anejo, but not out of bounds. The availability is difficult.

Over all, very enjoyable.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
91
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
80
Presentation 
 
96
Reviewed by jagghb April 09, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

Joya de Tequila

This is a fantastic spirit with great complexity, beautiful golden, red, copper tones with a nice medium to heavy body. Aromas are intense with heavy char from the barrel, fruit and flower, very little agave. Taste again very heavy with the barrel notes and then you get the fruit, some citrus (orange) and flower, with continued spices such as cinnamon. Long, long finish. For sure a treasure in the Herradura line, my question would be, are they hiding to much of the agave with some much barrel and not hiving enough importance to being a tequila?

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
90
Aroma-Nose 
 
100
Initial Taste 
 
87
Body 
 
89
Finish 
 
89
Enjoyability 
 
91
Price 
 
87
Presentation 
 
98
Reviewed by cdnteqlovr March 24, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (24)

So let me preface this by saying that if you really love lots oak and smoke then you will probably like this tequila a lot more than me. That said I have never enjoyed the nose of any tequila/ wine more than the nose on this. The nose was soooo complex with loads of cherry, strawberry and dried fruits. It was truly hard to pull this down away from my nose. The intial taste was a bit disappointing for me as I am not a huge oak/smoke fan (if I was I would probably drink a lot more Scotch than Tequila) and there seemed to be a lot of it, I actually had a hard time pulling out much else. The body was heavy and not as complex or enjoyable as the nose. The finish had good length and was not fairly smooth. The presentation is very nice on this bottle, I still like the presentation on Cabo Uno better but not by much. All in all I know there will be people out there who love this Tequila and as I said the nose is amazing, the style is just to heavy on some components for me and so the overall enjoyability came down.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
85
Presentation 
 
98
Reviewed by JungleLarry January 31, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (39)

This is a darn fine cognac...er...I mean tequila.

This juice has been aged for a little over four years in French oak, and it definitely shows. The aroma is fruity and woody like a champagne cognac, and there is little to no agave present on the nose. The initial taste is dry and satisfying, with hints (read: HINTS) of cooked agave showing through while slowly developing into rich flavors of wood, spice, and dark fruits. The finish is long and really quite fantastic with strong notes of vanilla.

All in all, this is a great drink, but I don't think I'd ever buy a bottle. First of all, this doesn't taste like tequila to me. I'm not a agave purist and I certainly don't mind extra anejos (they're some of my favorite), but this one takes the aging a bit too far in my opinion. But that's not to say you shouldn't at least try it yourself.

If I want cognac, I can find much better for less than $300.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
97
Aroma-Nose 
 
97
Initial Taste 
 
96
Body 
 
96
Finish 
 
97
Enjoyability 
 
98
Price 
 
98
Presentation 
 
98
Reviewed by 1tequila2 December 07, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (37)

CT CRYER "I hesitate to give this tequila all 100s only because of my limited experience with super-premium tequilas"! Observation well taken as noted cabo uno is your favorite. Step up. Money is the issue here. Price justification is a personal issue here. Good deal @ 199.00. "the whole experience from start to finish was sublime." Anxiously waiting your "side by side". Do pick up another one at that price point if you find one at that and let me know , I'm almost dry.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
96
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
80
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by Gerardh November 30, 2011
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

Appearance: medium gold with red highlights. Medium tears.
Aroma: caramel, vanilla, orange, brown spices (cinnamon, clove?)
Initial taste: soft, satiny, and sweet, building to a medium heat.
Finish: warm, sweet, dominated by vanilla, ending in a woody sharpness. Long.

Overall, this is a very fine super anejo. I cannot justify the price, however, when compared to top flight anejos like Riazul. But, if you want to spend the money, it's darn good, and a nice change from the usual.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
98
Aroma-Nose 
 
98
Initial Taste 
 
97
Body 
 
98
Finish 
 
98
Enjoyability 
 
99
Price 
 
89
Presentation 
 
98
Reviewed by TCayer March 22, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (10)

I hesitate to give this tequila all 100s only because of my limited experience with super-premium tequilas! I have tried Cabo Uno reserva (up until now my favorite) and Corralejo Extra Anejo, Deleon Reposado, and Asom Broso 11 month Reposado. Otherwise, my two favorite drink-all-the-time tequilas are Cabo Wabo and Partida Reposados.

I picked up a botlle of this for $199 (which is a good deal considering the next-cheapest price I'd seen it for was $300!- which is what I based my price rating on.) It arrived in a box with a printed cardboard sheath, the box seemingly made of a cork-like substance, with two swing-type latches. The gorgeous bottle rests in a red-velvet foam cutout at an angle. There was a gold thread wrapped scroll inside (written in Spanish, of course) and the only sentence I translated was "The Best tequila in the World!" I can't disagree with that at this point! The nose was not overpowering, hinting at the sweetness to come. Initial taste was very smooth. I'm not experience enought to use terms like "agave" "wood" "spice" and the like, but suffice to say the whole experience from start to finish was sublime. No alcohol burn, with a caramel-like aftertaste. I proclaimed to my friends that I may like it better than Uno (and almost didn't make it out of the room) but I haven't tasted Uno for a few months. I have a bottled coming soon, and will do a side by side taste test and see. Oh- and the foam liner can be removed from the box and you have a felt-lined keepsake box! Very nice.

I will definately pick up another one of these if I find it in the same price range again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
98
Aroma-Nose 
 
97
Initial Taste 
 
99
Body 
 
97
Finish 
 
98
Enjoyability 
 
99
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
99
Reviewed by jimador8 August 23, 2010
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Best tequila me and my friends ever tasted.Thank you "Amatitan Jalisco" for your casa Herradura and your other great tequilas out there.Tequila was made here.I have two more suprema left.Herradura is one of the most known tequila in mexico, and wanted by people around the world as well as mexico. Amatitan tequila has a good enjoyability taste.I belive and I know that tequila from "Amatitan",arenal and tequila are the BEST, Well how do I know? Well you can say I have alot of family and people out there that works,makes,manage,harvest,sells,ext.. tequila incluiding my self..And my dad from Amatitan.How can people argue,No one else can compete!!! Oh yhea los Altos are up there too..So I highly recomend people that want to taste tequila that is smooth has a good taste, and where tequila was originaly discover try herradura brand tequila and especially gran suprema.. my favorite

Was this review helpful to you? 
18 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2  
Ordering