El Tesoro Tequila Aniversario Extra Anejo http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/46/ef/41/729_el_tesoro_de_don_felipe_aniversario_tequila_1192306519.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     October 13, 2007    
 
0
 
94 (6)
32053   0   1   0   15
6 results - showing 1 - 6
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
91
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
92
Price 
 
80
Presentation 
 
94
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist July 22, 2013
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

Tasty, but expensive

Looking back at the past reviews, I noticed that it had been a really long time since I had reviewed an extra añejo. I've had a few sips of this before this review, but finally decided to take the plunge and write about one of the more complex XAs that Ive had.

Price: $125-150/bottle.

Aroma: Cooked agave with some vegetal notes and spice. Very trademark El Tesoro aromas with an extra cognac type spice.

Initial Taste: A light entry with cooked agave and spice.

Body: A lighter body than most XAs, but that's not a bad thing. This is a refreshing type of XA with a nice mix of vegetal agave and spice. There's only a light sweetness and just a kiss of oak that gives it a nice balance.

Finish: A long finish with a nice linger from the aging. The vegetal agave with pepper and spice is the predominant flavor.

This tequila is vintage El Tesoro with just a few extra notes from t aging that make it unique. While it is very good, I always have a hard time recommending tequilas over $100...so I'll find a balance. El Tesoro is a wonderful brand and unique in how is crafted and it's natural agave taste. If you have the entire ET line and like it, you will love this 70th Ann. XA. However, if you are new to El Tesoro, a better use of you money would be to buy the entire line for less than the $125-150 that this single bottle costs and see how a natually aged/fermented agave flavor tastes with well crafted aging. No matter what, you're going to get something good with El Tesoro.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
98
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
89
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by jasonrm72 March 31, 2010
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (25)

Strong cherry cough syrup scent (I find it enjoyable) leads into a much softer initial taste. The cherry is still there though much fainter than the nose would suggest. Overall the taste was a bit light, a touch of agave, no burn, just a bit of heat at the tip of the tongue in the slightly dry finish.
It is a unique tequila, though over-priced at the retail of $130.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Tommy Bartend June 13, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (24)

I just love the tequila from the Arandas area, it's always so flavorful, with lots of spiciness and character.
This tequila has a real smoky, spicy flavor that I find very good. Don't crucify me but I made a margarita with it and the flavor combination was outstanding. Don't think I can afford this as a Margarita teqila but once in a while, maybe!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
96
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
96
Body 
 
96
Finish 
 
96
Enjoyability 
 
98
Price 
 
94
Presentation 
 
92
Reviewed by dasypus April 26, 2009
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (41)

In June, 2008, my girlfriend (Linda) and I traveled to Guadalajara specifically to visit tequila distilleries. We spent two days in the Los Altos region. Our most interesting experience was visiting the El Tesoro distillery called "La Altena". We also stopped by the bottling plant and distribution facility in downtown Arandas where we purchased our first bottle of El Tesoro Aniversario Tequila. Now that we have finished that bottle and moved on to our second bottle (obtained domestically, unfortunately) I feel it is time to review this outstanding tequila. Put succinctly, Aniversario is extraordinarily distinctive in its taste. Mellow, smooth, sweet, light in color (even after being aged for 7 years), and unique. I can't imagine any other tequila will ever taste like this. Linda and I both were amazed, but to prove this to yourself I suggest a flight. Try Aniversario, Don Julio 1942, and Gran Corralejo Anejo since these 3 tequilas have similar characteristics. I love them all but the Aniversario is easily distinguised from the other two. On the down side, the bottle is average, but who needs a work of art when the tequila is the work of art.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
100
Reviewed by CaliTequilaSipperGirl January 27, 2009
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

First Tasting, April 2007, straight from the Barrel. Second Tasting, July 7, 2007, 70th Anniversary Party, Multiple Tastings After

I will review my first tasting after the initial tasting and the party. Environment can skew the results. Placing the nose higher on the reidel reveals carmel. Placement of the nose (front, back, middle) all reveal the El Tesoro trademark earthiness/mineral nose.
The tequila appears much more mellow than you might expect of a 7 year aged anejo. However upon tasting, this tequila is anything but mellow. It contains heavy agave taste. I love it! It does not contain the heavy wood taste you might expect of a 7 yr anejo, but it does contain just enough to tell you that you are drinking an anejo. The tequila is smooth, but not too sweet. The fruit and carmel found in the nose again reveal themselves on the tastebuds.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
94
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
94
Price 
 
94
Presentation 
 
94
Reviewed by Tequila Joe June 11, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (148)

El Tesoro 70th Aniversario Extra Anejo NOM 1139 Tasted on 4/4/08 at 9:30pm. I purchased 3/4 ounces of this tequila at the Grad Tequila Bar in Davis, CA for $8.33 and tasted it out of a snifter. The tequila is a golden amber color. El Tesoro 70th Extra Anejo aromas consist of intense fruit and floral aspects followed by moderate caramel, spice, and earth. On the lighter side, this Extra Anejo has mild aromas of vanilla. On the tongue, this tequila is mellow and has a heavy and sweet, syrupy mouth feel. While the tequila has moderate to heavy agave flavor, it is sweet and has no bitterness. The flavor of this tequila contains intense flavors of floral followed by moderate to intense agave and wood. Deeper flavors of El Tesoro 70th consist of moderate fruit and caramel. Upon finishing this tequila, there is a long duration of flavor and numbing alcohol intensity. I have rated this tequila at 94 out of 100 points.

Was this review helpful to you? 
6 results - showing 1 - 6
 
Ordering