Fortaleza Tequila Blanco http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/99/e0/59/1258_fortaleza_tequila_blanco_1255289784.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     October 11, 2009    
 
0
 
94 (7)
40995   0   3   0   26
7 results - showing 1 - 7
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
94
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
92
Reviewed by skoro September 19, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (14)

Delightful!

Having heard so many reports on Fortaleza, I just had to try it and I'm glad I did. Although I normally prefer reposados, this is one blanco that will always be on my favorites list. The bottle and label are nicely understated and I like the pina stopper. To me, some blancos have a raw, unfinished flavor that many like, but I find a bit crude. Not so with Fortaleza. Nice agave character without the alcohol burn that sometimes accompanies it. And it has a unique taste that I have trouble defining, but can only express as very pleasant.

Enthusiastically recommended.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
96
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
98
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
96
Reviewed by NathanDetroit September 14, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (22)

Makes me feel good

Hand blown bottle is cool. Stone tehona is cool. 5th generation is cool. Very traditional tequila. I just bought it last night for $51.99 in Lexington, KY. I feel it will be worth it. I drank neat then in a margarita. The quality and flavor is pretty ideal to just continue drinking it neat.

I want to take a tour and blow my own bottle.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
97
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
96
Body 
 
96
Finish 
 
98
Enjoyability 
 
99
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
96
Reviewed by ggudino June 09, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Awesome

Tried it for the first time last night. I was surprised to how smooth it was, no burning feeling sensation. I would recommend this to anyone who doesn't normally drink tequila. It would change their views on how it good tequila can be.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
96
Enjoyability 
 
97
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
96
Reviewed by charliecupp March 31, 2013
Last updated: April 04, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Diagnosis Delicious

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
97
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
100
Reviewed by bighappy March 21, 2013
Last updated: April 06, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

Hello my tequila peoples. Im gonna be really blunt and straight forward about this tequila. Im a fan. Being only a blanco sipper. This stoned crushed,old school tequila blanco is one of the best. Mr G Sauza who i had the oppertunity to talk to is a really nice man. He likes his aniejo, but me personally i like the blanco. Straight from the town of tequila mexico. This blanco to me if you can get your hands on it is great. I dont mind spending 60 dollars on it, because its stoned crushed and its smooth like silk. Im not gonna sit back and tell you i smell grassy notes or nutty flavors. When i sip this awsome stoned crushed 100% blanco tequila i taste agave and class. This is a classy tequila and the presentaion and bottle is up there with the best. Buy this blanco if you can. salud y vida puro tequila!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
94
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
97
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist July 09, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (405)

Tequila Fortaleza (Los Abuelos in Mexico) is widely considered to be one of the great brands available out there. Distilled by a 5th generation Sauza, this tequila is still made the old style way with a Tahona and old school methods. The bottles are hand blown and the real cork piña stopper symbolizes this brand.

Aroma: A fairly light nose of agave and a hint of extra sweetness from fruit. Really pleasant.
Initial Taste: Superb creamy agave entry.
Body: Wonderful amounts of agave and the pepper spice that goes along with it. The sweetness from the agave and the fruit is still there as well. Complex...while still being light and pleasant with no burn or bitterness.
Finish: Ultra smooth. A hint of pepper and fruit remain while a nice agave flavor lingers nicely for a medium duration.

This is just a superb tequila from top to bottom. From the bottle, to how it was crafted to every aspect of the flavor in your mouth this is a winner. The fact that it can pretty easily be found for under $50 makes this probably my favorite blanco. Go out and get bottle. I'm pretty darn sure that you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
90
Aroma-Nose 
 
88
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
88
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
92
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by tdrudge June 27, 2010
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Tasty stuff. First tried it at Cantina Mayahuel in San Diego where it's the house tequila.
Strongly recommend especially for anybody that is just getting into tequila.

Was this review helpful to you? 
7 results - showing 1 - 7
 
Ordering