AsomBroso Tequila El Platino Silver http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/41/be/29/487_asombroso_silver_tequila_1180671804.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     May 31, 2007    
 
0
 
86 (10)
31388   0   1   0   5
10 results - showing 1 - 10
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
86
Aroma-Nose 
 
89
Initial Taste 
 
85
Body 
 
85
Finish 
 
85
Enjoyability 
 
86
Price 
 
83
Presentation 
 
100
Reviewed by loucaruso July 16, 2014
Last updated: October 09, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

SWEET,Vanilla,light pepper and spice taste.

A little too sweet, and vanilla tasting but easily a sipper.The nose gave sweet, floral, anise and vanilla with very mild pepper/spice.The initial taste was thin/med oil, slight brine,and oak with a slight burn. It went on to be slightly peppery and spicy with the vanilla taste and some brine.The spicy finish lingers for a bit. The bottle is a keeper, the juice was good but not great.- Long Island Lou Tequila

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
97
Price 
 
99
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by NathanDetroit September 14, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (22)

The shape

We all know what the bottle looks like. But the tequila inside of it is nothing to laugh at. This is one of the best tequilas I have had. On top of the amazing flavor and presentation the price was a STEAL: $29.78 in metro Detroit. I highly recommend and hope that you can find it for a similar price. Even if you have to pay $50.00 get it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
77
Aroma-Nose 
 
80
Initial Taste 
 
80
Body 
 
70
Finish 
 
75
Enjoyability 
 
75
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
85
Reviewed by Jabber009 August 10, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (3)

Average tequila.

Tasted neat in a snifter. Crisp, spicy, fresh agave initial taste. Warm, vanilla body that was over-powering. Slow, sweet finish. I was not impresses with the tequila. I was dissapointed, even though the price was 27.97

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
88
Aroma-Nose 
 
88
Initial Taste 
 
88
Body 
 
88
Finish 
 
87
Enjoyability 
 
88
Price 
 
91
Presentation 
 
94
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist May 22, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

The AsomBroso bottle...everyone's already said it or thought it.

Aroma: Earthy agave with hints of vanilla and spice.
Initial Taste: Very sweet. Agave and vanilla.
Body: Semi-oily. A custard-like flavor. Very strange for a blanco. Some agave, vanilla and spice. Clearly this is rested for some time.
Finish: Short finish. Sweet, not at all peppery. For blanco purists, this will be disappointing, but it's not a bad finish.

This is a strange blanco because it drinks like it's rested and has taken barrel properties. It's sweet and pleasant, but without a ton of complexity. If you can get a deal, this is worth it. It's been discounted a lot of places, so do your homework and find it for a good price.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
70
Aroma-Nose 
 
70
Initial Taste 
 
70
Body 
 
70
Finish 
 
70
Enjoyability 
 
70
Price 
 
70
Presentation 
 
70
Reviewed by rdub September 09, 2011
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

The phallic bottle made me a little leery. The taste didn't help me get past the bottle. Hints of cheap potpourri, which is not a good thing.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
88
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
85
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
85
Enjoyability 
 
85
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by CS February 17, 2011
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Aroma: Definitely a unique and enjoyable aroma - hard to describe
Initial Taste: Oily and sweet
Body: Licorice, then vanilla and agave, then cinnamon
Finish: Smooth and short

Bought 1/15/2010, $40 for bottle.
Drank neat from a caballito many nights since :)

Fairly sweet and also very smooth, but a little light on agave for a blanco. This is a unique tequila of obvious quality, unlike any others I have tasted. I think it's worth trying at least once simply for that reason. That said, I have never liked the flavor of licorice or fennel seeds and this tequila has a noticeable licorice flavor. I still enjoy drinking it which may say something about it's quality, although I doubt I would purchase again because there are many other brands in the price range I enjoy more. Very cool bottle - I replaced the clear plastic cork with a wooden one and it is much less phallic looking now :)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
91
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
93
Presentation 
 
98
Reviewed by drawnad December 16, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (52)

I enjoyed this blanco.

The nose has citrus, what I've come to describe as a unique "AsomBroso bubble gum" scent that is similar in the nose in all their line that I've tried so far, and a hint of citrus.

The flavor on entry was sweet, semi-oily, had citrus and earth notes, and a really nice long agave-flavored finish for me with very little burn making for a very nice experience which I'd recommend.

Whether you love or hate their bottles they are very unique and instantly recognizable which I appreciate. And it does happen to be a line that I think matches it's unique bottles by a great product inside consistently.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
82
Aroma-Nose 
 
80
Initial Taste 
 
79
Body 
 
79
Finish 
 
80
Enjoyability 
 
89
Price 
 
83
Presentation 
 
88
Reviewed by Piña July 16, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (260)

Tasted out of Snifter 07/16/08. While Asombroso definitely has a very unique taste all unto itself, my taste buds did not agree with this blanco. The smoothness was there, yes. But too much creaminess, so the taste of this tequila did not agree with me, thats what I based my review on. So, as usual, this is my own personal opinion.

Aroma: Hints of floral and vanilla.
Initial Taste: An oily mouth feel, very sweet on the top of tongue.
Body: Very creamy vanilla and floral body with hints of black licorice. I barely detected any agave presence.
Finish: Of short duration with no alcohol burn.

Like I said, just to sweet for me to enjoy.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
94
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
94
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
100
Reviewed by senor pescados June 05, 2008
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (43)

Tasted in cocktail on June 3 and then neat in a caballito on Jun 5, 2008.

AsomBroso El Platino Silver

Color: clear & silver
Aroma: agave & burnt sugar
Taste: light & creamy on the tongue with the taste of agave & black licorice

This is a very interesting blanco that tastes like a cross between Tequila & Ouzo. AsomBroso El Platino Silver is a great blanco neat, though with its licorice hints it adds a little strangeness to cocktails. AsomBroso jumps into my favorite blancos when it is enjoyed neat or on the rocks. Other favorites include at the time of this writing Chinaco, Siete Leguas, Corralejo and Milagro.

Any bottle shaped this phallic deserves 100 !

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
91
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
91
Enjoyability 
 
91
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
92
Reviewed by Tequila Joe May 31, 2007
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (148)

Asombroso El Platino (Silver) NOM 1494 Tasted 3/12/07. This tequila is clear in color and surprisingly has an intense aroma of chocolate. There are also moderate aromas of earth and caramel followed by mild floral, fruit, spicy, and vanilla. A mellow taste on the tip of the tongue leads to a sweet and low bitter tequila taste. The Asombroso El Platino flavor contains moderate intensities of agave, caramel, and milk chocolate followed by mild earth and floral accents. Asombroso El Platino finishes with a medium-to-long duration of flavor and a numbing alcohol feeling. This tequila is truly one of a kind and has been awarded the overall rating of an A-.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10 results - showing 1 - 10
 
Ordering