Riazul Tequila Anejo http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/82/a7/41/1065_riazul-tequila-anejo-1_1334698100.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     December 02, 2008    
 
94
 
94 (16)
74550   0   1   0   65
16 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
83
Aroma-Nose 
 
70
Initial Taste 
 
82
Body 
 
88
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
80
Price 
 
70
Presentation 
 
80
Reviewed by AgaveLover January 16, 2017
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

A Blatant Cover Up of Sub Par Juice

Picked this up from Wine World after reading the reviews here. For $50 this is a HUGE disappointment. From the moment I took my first smell I picked up a very familiar "cheap" smell that I swore I had encountered before. When I looked up the NOM I almost fell over. EL CHARRO!!! About two years ago a company in south FL went belly up and left an entire warehouse of booze sitting to be auctioned off. One of my local liquor stores took advantage of this and purchased tons of El Charro and were selling them off at $8 a bottle. At that price I bought a few bottles. It was not bad, but not good either but a bargain at $8. NOTHING I would ever pay more than about $15 for. So essentially what we have with Riazul is El Charro put into USED COGNAC barrels so sub par juice can be sold at a premium price. It tastes way too much like cognac. I don't like my agave juice to taste like other alcohols. I have this same feeling about almost all of the tequilas who age in used whiskey barrels, just don't do it. If I wanted to taste whiskey or cognac I would buy whiskey or cognac. This tequila is OK. I can deal with it, but that is as far as it goes.

I also must disagree with other peoples feelings about the presentation. I actually think the bottle looks quite classy.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
91
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
94
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by ciudadanox July 27, 2015
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (3)

Appearance: copper, golden hues - thick body and slow tears
Aroma: caramel, agave, mild clove and almond
Initial Taste: light floral and sweet agave
Spirit Body: mild agave and wood with butter, vanilla and cinnamon
Finish / Aftertaste: warm mouthfeel, short butter and cinnamon aftertaste

A pleasant surprise in this Anejo, full of excellent aromas and flavors, and not over-oaked

Different presentation would be nice, sometimes it looks like a SHAMPOO (top plastic)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
94
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
92
Reviewed by neilkjos April 02, 2015
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (3)

My experience with this tequila has been nothing but exceptional. This is the most enjoyable tequila I have experienced to this date. It has a sweet, caramel taste that lingers in your mouth. I would look forward to having this at night while I sat down in my cozy chair with a book or just silence. I had friends over one night and I presented a blind taste test of several tequilas and they ALL chose this one as their favorite. When I look at other reviews of this tequila I see that most rated the price as just average, however I believe it is a bargain. Every tequila lover should have this bottle in their collection (as well as the blanco).

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
96
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
98
Body 
 
97
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
91
Reviewed by bdespommier August 30, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Raizul Anejo..A Dessert Tequila

This is one of the sweetest tasting tequilas I've ever had. On initial taste, vanilla, cinnamon, and honey stand out. The aroma of tootsie rolls is feint but definitely familiar, making this an easy everyday drinking anejo. I do not recommend this with any food except cheesecake and/or flan...making both of those taste fantastic! The finish of this tequila is easy and mild with a hint of burn. Vanilla and almonds can be detected when sipping at room temperature. If you like it cold, it has a marshmallow finish. Overall, I like this tequila very much as an aperitif or dessert sipping drink. This tequila is for sure a winner!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
90
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
91
Price 
 
85
Presentation 
 
60
Reviewed by jagghb May 02, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

Interesting Bottle

You do not buy this tequila for the bottle, what a bad decision in presentation but the good news the actual tequila is good. It has a nice complexity with agave notes, spices, some flower notes and fruits typical of tequila from los Altos. The barrel is precent with caramel some almond and butter. Nice body and color, the aftertaste is long and full of aromas from the tequila and the barrel.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
94
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
94
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by neilkjos November 06, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (3)

The immediate aroma is a sweet caramel with a taste to match. I was delighted with how the flavor lasted from start to finish end then some. This is my favorite anejo as of yet. The bottle looks very art deco and modern, which I like. The price was acceptable, though it makes me want to drink it slower. All my friends that have tried this "blind folded" compared to others in my collection, agreed that this was the best. Not surprisingly, their blanco is also excellent. By all means, purchase this tequila, you will be quite happy.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
96
Body 
 
96
Finish 
 
96
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by wb September 26, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (3)

Riazul is totally different than other high/medium end Tequilas I have tried The nose is very nice without the strong aroma .The taste is a different mix than others I have tried -- spicy and peppery is what I taste .The wood taste lingers on long after the tasting and is very smooth from start to finish Price is about right not cheep but not crazy I think the presentation is a attempt to break away from the usual round bottle and show a fresh logo that stands out from the crowd

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
96
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
92
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by tmou August 16, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (36)

Riazul anejo gets a definite A-plus for originality. Noticeably thick and rich on the pour. The nose is quite striking and something that really grows on you - cognac, maybe port, a whiff of spicy bubble gum and fruit punch, a breeze of cough syrup, with some cooked agave peeking out from the background. Taste is spicy and sweet, with a nice cinnamony component, some woodiness, soft agave, and, again, a very subtle note of cough syrup, with a good lingering finish of mulled spice, wood, agave, and that cough syrup again. This is a very complex, very difficult to define, and in the end oddly tasty anejo. It's perfect to bring out at a party, but I wonder how often I'll reach for it over my stable of favourites. Then again, the more I drink it, the more I like it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
88
Aroma-Nose 
 
91
Initial Taste 
 
91
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
92
Price 
 
56
Presentation 
 
52
Reviewed by skoro June 06, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (14)

Different is good

This is a unique anejo. Like no other I've tasted. And I have to admit that I was disappointed the first time. But after a few days I was curious enough to go back for seconds. Then thirds. Lather, rinse, repeat. In short, I "learned" to like it. Now, I truly enjoy it. This has a rich, complex flavor with (strangely enough) a hint of cinnamon, which is what I objected to, initially. After adjusting my attitude, I realize that's just one component to this anejo's multifaceted character.

But what's with the bottle? That postmodern rectangular shape with the industrial, focus-group approved graphics looks like an oversize perfume jug.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
89
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
88
Enjoyability 
 
88
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
82
Reviewed by Acquaman77 November 13, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

First off talk about a bottle scaring you away. It looks like a large bottle of cologne. I usually buy my liquor online, but needed a last minute gift for a dinner party. Found it locally (NYC) for $59. I don't pay that much for favorites like Corrido or Don Pilar. I tasted it in a shot glass which was not my choice. I was expecting quite a lot with such a high rating from members and editors, but I was quite disappointed. While I did find the nose interesting with scents of wood and vanilla, I found the taste very un-tequilalike. I think the spices were a bit much. They were too overpowering and, for me, seemed to mask the earthiness I come to expect from the agave. My rating is generous.

Was this review helpful to you? 
16 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2  
Ordering