Ocho Tequila Anejo http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/9b/56/52/1071_ocho_tequila_anejo_1231913328.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     January 12, 2009    
 
0
 
93 (6)
41129   0   2   0   16
6 results - showing 1 - 6
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
94
Initial Taste 
 
96
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
96
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
92
Presentation 
 
97
Reviewed by tmou July 09, 2016
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (36)

Colour is a very light straw, lighter even than many repos out there. The nose is soft, grassy and floral with just a touch of wood. Mouthfeel is perfect, not too thin nor too chewy, giving way to a big green earthy agave flavour complimented by soft notes of vanilla and oak to round it out. Finish is full and medium hot with a very looong spicy agave linger and sparkle on the tongue. This is a deliciously elegant and nuanced anejo - a beautiful crown to an exceptional line.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
90
Aroma-Nose 
 
89
Initial Taste 
 
89
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
91
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
86
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist September 18, 2013
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

Barrel Proof Añejo from The Part Source

With as many añejo versions from Ocho out there I should specify that this bottle can only be purchased from The Party Source as it was a private barrel for them from the Los Corrales ranch. While you may not be familiar with this tequila, you are probably familiar with the Master Distiller, Carlos Camarena (Tapatio & El Tesoro). However, this one is from NOM 1474. I know that he makes a fine tequila, I hope that his success continues at barrel strength.

Price: $75/bottle

Aroma: Vegetal agave with light vanilla and cinnamon

Initial Taste: Cooked agave, vegetal notes, spice and hint of butter.

Body: A nice oily body. The green and spice notes come forward a bit more. As does the alcohol sizzle. Being 109.2 proof, this is not a tame beast.

Finish: Obviously there is an alcohol presence on the finish with some heat, but the green notes mix really well with the spice, oak and pepper. It's probably the best part of the drink and it lasts a LONG time.

This añejo is packed full of flavor from start to finish. I think that Carlos and Tomas Estes picked a good ranch as I really enjoyed the blanco offering from Los Corrales as well. There's plenty of heat, but it doesn't at all take away from the flavors. The agave intensity is there throughout and the rest of them compliment it nicely. Very well crafted and it's a pretty nice value...even at $75.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
91
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
91
Price 
 
86
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist March 09, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

2010 - Rancho San Agustin

Aroma: A nice light agave, fruit and floral nose.
Initial Taste: Light agave and spice. Not a heavy wood taste that you get out of a lot of anejos. Maybe that should be expected because the color is a very light straw for an anejo.
Body: Nice strong agave presence with a light vanilla. Only semi oily and thin mouth feel.
Finish: A nice spicy linger at the end with a pleasant burn. Nothing overwhelming, but it reminds for a while that your drank it.

Even with the fruity and floral nose, those never take over or dominate the agave or spice. This is very good tequila, but for $60+, I'd expect better. The bottle is fine. I like the simplicity, but it doesn't stand out that much either.

Drink it...Enjoy it...but it won't be the best value for the money out there for sure.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
91
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
94
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
93
Reviewed by JungleLarry August 16, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (39)

After trying this whole line in straight succession, I have to say that the anejo is my favorite. That being said, this may not be the anejo you're looking for.

Nose: Very similar to their reposado, if a bit more woody. Earthy agave is still very prominent.
Initial taste: Sweet at first with hints of wood, fruit, and agave.
Body: A bit more oily than the reposado. Fills out nicely with very slight hints of vanilla and caramel.
Finish: The vanilla and spice come through a bit more but the agave still reigns supreme.

I have to say that I really enjoy this bottle design. It reminds me of a small-batch rum. It may not scream authenticity, but it does feel special in a way.

Perhaps if you're looking for an anejo that really gives you wood and vanilla flavors, this isn't what you want. But if you want a fantastic tequila that celebrates the agave while balancing it beautifully with precise aging and some complex flavors, try this. It is a bit expensive, but deservedly so I think.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
96
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by sdnerf April 06, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (53)

Had 2 oz. from a tall shot glass 4/6/10, paid $70 online. The clear bottle has a label with plenty of info, it is of simple design, cork top and not catchy at all. Ocho has a light straw color, leaves long legs and gathers after a bit. Sweet nose agave/floral/fruity, nothing too obtrusive. Settles in the mouth nicely, has a nice complex body with a medium heated finish that leaves a slight alcohol tingle, very smooth. This is an easy sipper. Pricey but refined.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
96
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
96
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
94
Presentation 
 
93
Reviewed by Piña March 02, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (260)

Tasted out of a double ball glass. Tequila Ocho is one of the lines I was really excited to see come out last year. So far, they didn't disappoint either. Their blanco is excellent, their anejo is even better. It is a bit pricey, in my opinion. But you definitely get a tasty anejo.

Aroma: A very fruity and floral aroma.
Initial Taste: A semi Oily mouth feel with no bitterness. A sweet entry with an initial taste of fruit (berry).
Body: A great agave body with hints of citrus and cinnamon. Not too woody for an anejo, but that didnt take away from it being a great anejo at all.
Finish: A nicely semi heated finish of medium duration, with a lingering full of fruit and floral.

Was this review helpful to you? 
6 results - showing 1 - 6
 
Ordering