Herradura Tequila Anejo http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/6c/2a/df/441_herradura_anejo_tequila_1179121703.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     May 13, 2007    
 
0
 
88 (9)
101275   0   1   0   35
9 results - showing 1 - 9
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
91
Initial Taste 
 
91
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
91
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
84
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist August 07, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

Herradura is a strange brand for me. It's been inconsistent in all of its ages. This review is on a new bottling of the anejo, which has, for me, consistently been the best of the bunch.

Aroma: A nice complex aroma of woody agave, fruits, oak and a hint of dark chocolate.
Initial Taste: Fruity agave with really nice spice notes.
Body: A nice thick and oily body that coats the mouth really well. There's only a light oak flavor that mixes with the other ones very well. The sweetness is more fruity than the caramel and vanilla that you get from most anejos. It's a pleasant change of pace. The spice notes of pepper and baking spices are there too.
Finish: A really nice cinnamon punch at the end to go with the fruity sweetness. The agave character is still there. The finish has a bit more of a bite than some might like, but I've found that to be common with Herradura that they all tend to finish a little hot. A pretty good finish that could be a bit better.

This is a pretty darn good all around tequila. Given that it has great distribution, it may very well be the best on the shelf of your local liquor store. As mentioned in the finish, it's got some good character, but it loses a bit because of the alcohol heat. Oh well, Herradura Anejo may not be perfect, but it's a pretty darn good tequila.



Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
88
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
88
Body 
 
87
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
89
Price 
 
80
Presentation 
 
80
Reviewed by Nacho May 06, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

This one has been one of my staple tequilas for years. Not quite what it used to be but I can still get into it. Nice combination of wood, agave & pineapple.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
90
Aroma-Nose 
 
91
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
89
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
84
Reviewed by cdnteqlovr March 24, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (24)

I am surprised with the broad availability on this that it had taken me so long to taste. The color is quite goldy and on the nose I pulled our lots of cinnamon and some dried fruits (blueberry, cherry). The Palate had that same fruit with some added caramel and the body is really quite full. The finish was pleasant overall a pretty good effort. Presentation -enhhh, nothing special

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
90
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
88
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by JohnnyBoots February 14, 2011
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

Ahh Herradura, I kind of have a love/hate with this distillery. It seems like their bottling is inconsistent. Sometimes I have it and love it, others not so much. I bought this bottle based on a tasting I did a few months ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. Granted it was chilled and I've since only had it neat in Reidel's or brandy snifters.

Aroma- You can def. tell its been steeped in bourbon/whiskey barrels as its got that oakiness and de facto vanilla/agave. I think I also got a bit of caramel and heavy notes of banana. The longer this sits in the glass the better it is.

Taste- Everything in the nose comes out in the taste with the addition of some vegetal/herbal notes. They've done a great job at keeping the mellow oak with the bite of the agave. Again if I pour then sip I dont enjoy it as much as if I pour and let it sit for 20 minutes and periodically swirl it in the glass. On one hand theres a lot going on here but not so much that my semi-virgin pallet cant pick out.

Price/Presentation- Its a nice bottle with lots of glass, minimal label. Mines dif than the pic above where only the horseshoe is on the bottle. I'd like a cork at this price/quality but its not a turn-off. I paid mid $40's for the bottle and I think thats fair, a lil bit cheaper wouldn't hurt as always.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
87
Aroma-Nose 
 
86
Initial Taste 
 
89
Body 
 
88
Finish 
 
86
Enjoyability 
 
85
Price 
 
85
Presentation 
 
85
Reviewed by drawnad February 06, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (52)

I hadn't looked at the reviews before trying this and as I was sitting down to write this thought it deserved mid- to high-eighties, and am glad to see the other reviewers agreed pretty much. I paid the Michigan state minimum price of $51.98 for the bottle and feel like for that price there are much better anejo's - still good, just not great. Other reviews would probably hate me for saying this, but I'd take Patron's anejo over this any day for around the same price. And I can get Don Julio's anejo for about the same price too, which is a clear winner in that range.

Anyway, clear agave presence in the nose along with earthy scents and slight vanilla. Initial taste is carmel, vanilla, sweet agave, overall a touch sweet for my taste, but still nice. Clear agave and wood presence in the body. I experienced a pretty long finish with a mild to medium burn on the way down.

I should note, I'm not prone to headaches or hangovers (usually don't drink nearly enough for that), but after I drank this for the first time I had a wicked headache the next day (ALL day). I did drink a bit more than usual - probably five or six ounces, but it seemed odd. I sampled about 2 ounces for this review earlier tonight and feel a hint of a headache again. Not sure if anyone else has experienced, but thought I'd mention it... after all, I view these reviews as a reflection of the total experience and to help other people choose their tequilas with as much info as possible!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
85
Aroma-Nose 
 
85
Initial Taste 
 
84
Body 
 
87
Finish 
 
84
Enjoyability 
 
85
Price 
 
82
Presentation 
 
80
Reviewed by Piña December 16, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (260)

Tasted on 12/16/08 out of a snifter. I always find it a bit odd when I like an anejo of a brand yet I dislike the same lines blanco. Could is be due to inconsistency? I don't know. But I will say this anejo is definitely a step up from their blanco. A decent sipper that leaves me confused about Herradura's consistency in their line.

Aroma: A strong nose of agave and vanilla.
Initial Taste: A semi oily mouth feel, upon entry it's smooth and sweet with a slight bitterness. First taste is caramel.
Body: a nice body full of agave, vanilla, wood, earth and spices. Complex, yet very detectable.
Finish: A heated finish of short duration with a lingering vanilla aftertaste.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
88
Aroma-Nose 
 
88
Initial Taste 
 
87
Body 
 
89
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
89
Price 
 
85
Presentation 
 
86
Reviewed by GatoMax February 27, 2008
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

Initial taste is a bit rough, then earth, agave and vanilla, topped by a smooth finish. An above-average tequila, but a bit pricey for what you get. I understand that Herradura can vary a little in taste and quality from bottle to bottle. I was a little disappointed, especially since a trusted liquor proprietor in Matamores recommended it to me. Perhaps the bottle I sampled was not one of the best examples of this reputed classic.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
87
Aroma-Nose 
 
87
Initial Taste 
 
87
Body 
 
89
Finish 
 
86
Enjoyability 
 
87
Price 
 
89
Presentation 
 
87
Reviewed by Tequila Joe May 27, 2007
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (148)

Herradura Anejo NOM 1119 Tasted 2/14/07. This tequila is a yellowish golden brown color and has intense aromas of floral and earth. There are also mild fruit, spicy, and vanilla scents. A mellow taste on the tip of the tongue leads to a low sweetness and low-to-no bitter tequila taste. The Herradura Anejo flavor contains intense agave and earth followed by moderate vanilla and caramel accents. Herradura Anejo finishes with a short-to-medium duration of flavor and a tingly alcohol feeling. This tequila has been awarded the overall rating of a B+.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
89
Aroma-Nose 
 
89
Initial Taste 
 
89
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
89
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
86
Presentation 
 
85
Reviewed by Don Ricardo de Hawaii May 25, 2007
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (15)

A classic that always delivers, but one of the more boring bottles on the market.

Was this review helpful to you? 
9 results - showing 1 - 9
 
Ordering