Don Pilar Tequila Anejo http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/af/39/83/1149_donpilartequilaanejo_1240795598.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     April 26, 2009    
 
94
 
94 (7)
32619   0   2   0   35
7 results - showing 1 - 7
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
94
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
97
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by jdjohn84 June 21, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (63)

The blanco was quite good. I like the fact that they skipped a reposado since those are so tough to get right. However, my understanding is that a repo is in the works. Okay, now for the task at hand.

A definite apple fragrance coming through in the nose, with some alcohol as well, but not overpowering. No agave to speak of in the nose of this aged product. Once on the tongue, the apple now mixes with oak. It has a nice sweetness, but not drippy sweet. A dryness from the oak tannins is present. The body and finish may be the weak spots. It is rather thin for an anejo, and the the finish is a little disappointing, but not bad. It finishes quick, but nice.

Don Pilar anejo is really a nice tequila overall. If it had more body, and a finish to remember, it could be stellar. I see this priced under $40 in multiple places, which is a steal for this quality anejo. It is a very classy, nice-looking bottle.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
93
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
95
Presentation 
 
93
Reviewed by 1tequila2 May 02, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (36)

An absolutely amazing añejo. A full spectrum flavors on the tongue. Aftertaste is a bit lacking. Nose low to mid 90's. I am completely happy with this purchase. First time visiting this brand but it won't be my last. Hitime purchase for $35.99.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
94
Price 
 
96
Presentation 
 
93
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist January 17, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (399)

Appearance: Dark gold, darker than most anejos. Thick body.
Aroma: Almost like a cross between bourbon and tequila. Citrus and wood are prominent.
Initial Taste: Sweet agave with nice wood tastes as well. A hint of bourbon with a bit more sweetness from the agave and citrus.
Finish / Aftertaste: Very pleasant, long finish. Smooth with a pleasant alcohol heat.

Don Pilar Anejo is a great value at under $40. Great character and flavor. I'd recommend it to anyone...especially those that love whiskey as well.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
100
Presentation 
 
89
Reviewed by jasonrm72 February 28, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (25)

Sweet agave scent with a light cherry undertone. Silky initial feel with the sweet agave leading to a solid body where the cherry comes out. The finish has a nice light spice to it that pleasantly warms the tongue.
Bottle is nice and simple, cork stopper.
Cant beat the price @ $36 at Hi Time

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
91
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
94
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
93
Presentation 
 
97
Reviewed by AdamMathew May 12, 2010
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (12)

I drank this Añejo out of Snifter...
The nose is a Cognac smack down. Overwhelming nose control is commandeered by this spirits Cognac overload. The note regarding this Tequila State that is fermented with Champaign yeast. C'est la vie!
The body is thin and slightly a cheap thrill that that you may be OK with, in a completely dark room.
The Taste is mild and has hidden hints of Agave. Its finish yields France, flame and fortune.
Over all, this Añejo reminds me of a smooth Cognac, but not really of Tequila. This is the most important aspect of this spirit. Choose to purchase this accordingly.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
91
Body 
 
89
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
90
Price 
 
97
Presentation 
 
92
Reviewed by sdnerf March 10, 2010
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (53)

bought 3/1/10, paid $40. had 2 oz from big 6 oz shot glass neat. Medium amber color, medium oil, leaves thick tears and will clump together after a time. Nice sweet agave nose, hints of caramel and wood that remained the same over the duration of the sampling. An alcohol tinge on the tongue at first, then a small bite at the end that takes a bit of time to develop, minimal heat. Has a nice wood/nut agave finish that clings for awhile. A very nice tequila to be sure, not as complex as some, but better than most. Presentation is very good but not great, when you factor in cost, this is a steal.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
99
Aroma-Nose 
 
99
Initial Taste 
 
98
Body 
 
98
Finish 
 
100
Enjoyability 
 
100
Price 
 
100
Presentation 
 
96
Reviewed by azguy June 15, 2009
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

This is one of the best new tequilas out there. This tequila that it's price point is unbeatable. It has a great finish with notes of maple syrup and toasted nuts. I won't buy another anejo again, I can't wait for them to come out with a blanco and reposado.

Was this review helpful to you? 
7 results - showing 1 - 7
 
Ordering