Don Julio 1942 Tequila Anejo http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/6b/31/67/14_don-julio-1942-anejo-2_1303965747.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     December 11, 2006    
 
0
 
94 (29)
219205   0   4   0   130
29 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2 3  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
98
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
96
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
100
Reviewed by Bigasabull March 24, 2015
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

This is my Favourites, it's extremely smooth and amazing taste. I just with they could make a bigger bottle.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
95
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
85
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by badhack February 07, 2015
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (3)

Strong character of roasted agave, wood, nutty and smoke. Very smooth. I detect a savory, woody smoke finish. Hints of fruit. Absolutely fantastic drink. Complex, warm, smooth.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
94
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
96
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
96
Enjoyability 
 
95
Price 
 
91
Presentation 
 
94
Reviewed by JLH3 February 06, 2015
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

The nose is all butterscotch and vanilla. With just a hint of oak and some agave. The initial taste is more of the same with some caramel, maybe toffee and agave at the end. The body is a little thin, but the amazing taste more than makes up for it. The finish carries on and on. Which drives the enjoyability. The price is high, but I'm not sure this one isn't worth it.

I've seen this called the king of anejo's and I can't argue.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
97
Aroma-Nose 
 
97
Initial Taste 
 
97
Body 
 
97
Finish 
 
97
Enjoyability 
 
97
Price 
 
100
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by cmessmann October 17, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Don Julio 1942 - Value

Honestly I feel it's a crime the average user rating for this tequila isn't in the 95-100 range. I suspect it's due to the fact that other (inexperienced) reviewers we're eval the price of this nectar below 90, thus driving the overall ave down. Here's the bottom line, for tequila of this quality you should be expecting to pay a much higher price. High quality, fair price. That's called value. I've had my fair share of extra anejo's and this stuff blows many of them out of the water...and remember, this is just a plain old anejo we're talking about here. Let me be specific. I can smell vanilla and butterscotch from about 10" from the glass. The taste and finish echo the scent. When this stuff goes in my mouth, I just let it sit there. Let my tongue marinate for a while. The finish just resinates that flavor. Maybe 10...maybe 15 seconds after it's down. At this price point, A+

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
86
Initial Taste 
 
86
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
100
Price 
 
75
Presentation 
 
94
Reviewed by johndaily408 October 11, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

sweet and woody

Sampled out of the newer, sleek tapered brown bottle.

First of all, I normally don't enjoy anejos. I think woodiness and caramel and butterscotch should be only minutely present in my tequila.

Aroma: butterscotchy-vanilla-creamy-caramel, oak, hint of agave and pepper. Nicely wrapped together.

Initial: sweetness, oak, fresh yellow pepper, hint of agave. Also nicely wrapped together.

Body: The mouthfeel is really nice, but I personally don't mind a silky thin liquor anyway. This one's a tad heavier than medium, with no alcoholic burn! just enough to remind you it's alcoholic... in fact, I've had some heavy mixed drinks that had the same amount of burn. Very pleasant body overall.

Finish: much nicer than initial and body; oak and sweetness take a backseat with oak and agave coming forth. I like this finish a lot, but it's a bit faint for what I would prefer.

Enjoyability and price: Even though I wasn't overjoyed, I was happy I got to try this. I probably wouldn't buy it for myself at $100.

I was honestly disappointed with this sample. Perhaps it was an old bottle? Until the aftertaste reminded me, it didn't taste like tequila. In fact, it was initially like a sweet single malt scotch. The aroma and taste didn't impress me, but I liked the finishing notes and aftertaste duration. It's a fantastic transition for someone who normally doesn't drink tequila, or someone who drinks bourbons and whiskeys. And apparently a lot of tequila fans and tequila.net reviewers love the stuff. The more I tasted it, the more I kept hoping to find more citrus or familiar agave spiciness. I found that the flavors I tasted during and after each sip were very consistent. I like something that keeps me guessing, but doesn't go overboard. Don't get me wrong: you get plenty of pleasant flavors with such small sips, it's just lacking the flavor profile I prefer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
91
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
92
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by mjfuller53 December 26, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (22)

Don Julio 1942 Anejo

Tasted in a caballito on Christmas Eve, 2013. I bought it at Bev Mo for $100. They finally got the message and matched Costco on the price. This is my second premium anejo this month. That's a big change for me since I've been specializing in cheap ($20 or less) tequila for the last couple of years. So I'm not an expert in more expensive tequila and I've heard about the "holy" nature of this tequila for years. I tasted it once before, but was half drunk, so I certainly didn't remember it well. This time I did it right. It was smooth in the mouth and tasted heavy with vanilla and caramel with hints of wood. The after taste is very pleasant and doesn't burn of course. My ratings are a little lower than some here because I didn't think it was far and away better than the Casa Noble Anejo I reviewed last week, which is half the price. The Don Julio bottle is simple and elegant, but not outstanding. Overall, this was another very good experience and if the money doesn't bother you, I'd recommend it any time.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
93
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
94
Price 
 
75
Presentation 
 
95
Reviewed by tmou July 11, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (34)

The majestic Don Julio 1942 - to many the undisputed King of Tequilas. A very beautiful nose: agave, caramel, vanilla, a bit of toffee, some fruit, a kiss of brandy from the wood. And the nose just gets bigger and better as it rests in the glass. Pretty thin mouthfeel but taste is rich agave, caramel, vanilla, a nice nutty bitterness, some more soft brandy smoothness - it's pretty fabulous. Spicy-smooth going down, with a nice lasting finish; vanilla and light spice continue in the aftertaste. This anejo is no slouch in the complexity department. It might be the best tequila you're going to get without stepping too much out of the box. But the question is this: Do I like it enough to spend another 100-plus dollars when this bottle is finished? Hmmm...

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
95
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
95
Body 
 
93
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
97
Price 
 
85
Presentation 
 
97
Reviewed by djsuisav1 June 22, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Hands down one of the best tequilas out. Great aroma! Taste is gentle, subtle hints of vanilla, and some other fruits.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
93
Initial Taste 
 
92
Body 
 
92
Finish 
 
93
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by duffneggs March 05, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (23)

Tasted in a Riedel glass. This was my first "premium" anejo, and as I am such a fan of the reposado I was eager to try it.

The agave comes through nicely, and I got definite hints of caramel and wood. Perhaps a bit more wood than I find ideal in a drink, but I suppose that's a common characteristic of the anejos.

A nice long, smooth finish.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
98
Aroma-Nose 
 
98
Initial Taste 
 
98
Body 
 
98
Finish 
 
98
Enjoyability 
 
98
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
97
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist January 17, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

A top 5 tequila for me in all categories.

Aroma - The smell is simply wonderful. Agave, butterscotch, vanilla and fruit. Maybe the best nose of any tequila out there.

Taste - All of the flavors mix together with the sweetness, fruit and wood with a mild alcohol burn.

Finish - Wonderful taste long after it's gone and SO smooth.

Anyone who wants to sip a tequila, this is the one. It's pricey at around $100 a bottle, but if you're looking for something that is truly great, do yourself a favor and get a bottle of this.

Was this review helpful to you? 
29 results - showing 1 - 10
1 2 3  
Ordering