Don Eduardo Tequila Anejo http://www.tequila.net/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/350x350s/e2/7b/67/191_don_eduardo_anejo_tequila_1172186306.jpg Hot

Submitted by Tequila.net     February 22, 2007    
 
0
 
89 (8)
30896   0   1   0   8
8 results - showing 1 - 8
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
89
Aroma-Nose 
 
88
Initial Taste 
 
89
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
89
Enjoyability 
 
89
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Tequila Tourist June 17, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

I absolutely love the blanco from this line. So much that when I saw the anejo on sale that I had to try it. Can it live up to it's lesser aged brother?

Aroma: Agave and oak, but a fairly light aroma for an anejo without the normal sweet influences from the wood.
Initial Taste: More like a reposado than an anejo. Nice agave flavors and light wood and vanilla flavors, but not a ton of aging influnce.
Body: Light body for an anejo and semi-oily. A very nice flavor with oak, spice and light caramel flavors, but not heavy at all.
Finish: A very smooth and tasty finish. No burn at all and a fairly short finish. A bit of light spice as well. Again, more like a reposado than an anejo, but a good overall flavor.

It's not quite as good as the blanco, but is a pretty good tequila. However, the fact that this is most often in the $45-50 range, it is probably slightly overpriced. If you can find it on sale, go ahead and get a bottle, but there's plenty more out there in the price range that has more complex and better overall flavors.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
88
Aroma-Nose 
 
85
Initial Taste 
 
88
Body 
 
88
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
88
Price 
 
80
Presentation 
 
85
Reviewed by sdnerf May 05, 2010
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (53)

Bought 4/28/10, paid $50 at a big "bev" store. First off the bottle, its unremarkable, the cork top is a shooter (read stupid) thing ala 1800... it works fine as a stopper. Color is light straw, very pale, leaves fast legs and gathers quickly on the sides. Nose is subtle agave, semi sweet, nothing reaches out and crawls up your nostrils. Medium thin in the mouth, no need to hold it. On the way down you get a little heat pop on the roof of the mouth that quickly fades and leaves a dull alcohol numbing that lingers. A good tequila, smooth, but no risks, no surprises. Not bad, but not a favorite. For the $ there are better out there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
90
Aroma-Nose 
 
88
Initial Taste 
 
89
Body 
 
88
Finish 
 
89
Enjoyability 
 
92
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
97
Reviewed by drawnad June 01, 2009
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (52)

This anejo is hard for me to rate - It's definitely a high quality anejo, and I could see how some people might love it, but I just am not a fan of the specific wood flavor. The positives are the presentation, smoothness, and a much nicer buzz than many. Presentation is very nice; simple and elegant, with a functional but mostly novelty shot-glass top which is filled by tipping the bottle upside-down. The other reviewers here do a nice job summarizing the subtleties of this so I won't go into detail. I'd say this is a great anejo, but just for my tastes I wouldn't buy it again. If someone loves a strong wood, bourbon barrel flavor they would love it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
91
Aroma-Nose 
 
92
Initial Taste 
 
91
Body 
 
91
Finish 
 
90
Enjoyability 
 
93
Price 
 
93
Presentation 
 
91
Reviewed by 1tequila2 October 28, 2008
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (37)

Tequila Don Eduardo Anejo, NOM 1119, tasted 10/25/08 out of a snifter. While this will not be one of my usual tequila reviews I just wanted to report about my experiences during dinner recently at Abuelo's Restaurant. While waiting to be seated I went to the bar to look over the tequila selection. The bartender showed me the "sipping menu". It included several from the Herradura line only. I was surprised to see Seleccion Suprema as the top offering at $29.00 for a neat shot. I also noticed on a bar shelf the Don Eduardo Anejo which was not on the list. I ordered the Platinum Margarita made by special request with the Don Eduardo. Since it made such a good margarita I decided to order a snifter/shot neat which was $10.00. The tequila was presented with sangrita, which I had never had before. It was a very interesting taste combination that I thought brought out more of the anejos flavor. I was surprised by the Don Eduardo as a solid and balanced anejo, not too sweet, with a mature cooked agave presence and a nice heat throughout. Mellow notes of wood, vanilla, and spice made this and enjoyable tequila that went great with my meal. I would not hesitate to buy this anejo and give it a high B.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
87
Aroma-Nose 
 
91
Initial Taste 
 
87
Body 
 
89
Finish 
 
87
Enjoyability 
 
80
Price 
 
90
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Piña September 01, 2008
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (260)

tasted on 09/01/08 out of a snifter. This anejo was just ok for me. The best part about it was the aroma. I preferred the blanco of this line alot more.

Still, all in all, an above average anejo. yet in the same breath, its not the smoothest anejo I've had.

Aroma: Floral and carmel
Initial Taste: a little bitter on entry.
Body: Nice woody agave and caramel.
A short heated finish with slight alcohol burn.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
88
Aroma-Nose 
 
88
Initial Taste 
 
88
Body 
 
88
Finish 
 
88
Enjoyability 
 
88
Price 
 
88
Presentation 
 
88
Reviewed by Tequila Joe May 31, 2007
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (148)

Don Eduardo Anejo NOM 1110 Tasted on 5/21/07 at 5:20pm. I tried this tequila in a blind tasting at Zocalo out of a snifter. The tequila is a pale yellow golden color and is aged for 2 years. Don Eduardo Anejo aromas consist of intense caramel and fruit aspects followed by mild vanilla and floral. On the lighter side, this anejo has a hint of spice. On the tip of tongue, this tequila is mellow and has a thin and oily mouth feel. While the tequila has moderate agave flavor, it has a low level of sweetness and a hint of bitterness. The flavor of this tequila was mild flavors of earth, fruit, spice, and floral followed by hints of caramel and vanilla. Upon finishing this tequila, there is a long duration of flavor and numbing alcohol intensity. I have rated this tequila at 88 out of 100 points.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
92
Aroma-Nose 
 
95
Initial Taste 
 
90
Body 
 
90
Finish 
 
95
Enjoyability 
 
85
Price 
 
100
Presentation 
 
100
Reviewed by Rosco April 10, 2007
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (7)

Don Eduardo is one of my favorites, with a very bold taste, and an awesome nose, this anejo is a must in a casual drinkers cabinet, this is the epitome of a all around drinking tequila,awesome for the avid sipper, and also good to use in food recipes the clarity was clearwith medium depth,and a nice golden brown color,Don Eduardo did a really good job in bringing out the aromas in the anejo,well rested,not too complex,yet the subtle taste of smoke,and butter were very pleasing,this anejo is a definite plus in every aficionados collection, with it's fullness and well balanced alcohol and finish,with a very memorable aftertaste,the Orendain family did well with this one.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
88
Aroma-Nose 
 
90
Initial Taste 
 
87
Body 
 
89
Finish 
 
88
Enjoyability 
 
88
Price 
 
85
Presentation 
 
90
Reviewed by Don Ricardo de Hawaii March 31, 2007
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (15)

A nice bold Anejo with strong finish.

Was this review helpful to you? 
8 results - showing 1 - 8
 
Ordering